Skip to content

Finding Jesus At McDonalds (2015 Update)

June 4, 2015

Greetings,

“I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God for the salvation of everyone who believes: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile.  For in the gospel a righteousness from God is revealed, a righteousness that is by faith from first to last, just as it is written:  “The righteous will live by faith.”  Romans 1: 16-17

After a stormy Sunday night in a tent I went to McDonalds Monday morning so I could use their Wi-Fi to check my e-mail and update my blog.  I was there typing away when I looked up and locked eyes with the man sitting at the table across from me, who was also online there.  He said I looked busy and asked what I was working on.  I told him I was working on a simple blog page.  Next he asked what my blog was about and I told him it was about Jesus, simple and true fellowship and my personal journey with Christ.  Then he surprised me by giving me his contact info and asking that I send him my blog’s address.  Jesus told me not to pursue any more conversation at that time.  So I turned my attention back to my computer after saying a quick prayer for the man seated across from me.

About 40 minutes later the man caught my attention when he told me that I write quite well. He said his name was Ralph and that he was now ready to fully accept Jesus as his Lord.  As we prayed together I could definitely feel the Spirit and anointing of Christ moving in our hearts. After praying I introduced myself and asked if he had any questions.  He then said that the ten blog posts or so that he had read pretty much answered his questions and drew him towards Jesus.

Ralph also told me that what I had shared was almost exactly the opposite of what was preached in his visits to traditional “churches” over the years.  He said that his heart and mind resonated with Grace not judgement, faith not works, forgiveness not wrath, Spirit not Law, and peers not hierarchy.  Then he told me he had to run because he was late for work, but that he was also very interested in finding face to face fellowship.  Next we embraced as brothers, said goodbye and he said he would keep in touch with me.

What a simply Divine encounter?  I probably spoke less than 15 words to the guy, but he got exactly what he needed to hear by reading these crazy blogs of mine.  Sometimes technology is a great gift from God.  I can hardly believe how Jesus is using me these days. I am a deeply flawed human being, yet HE takes these filthy rags of mine and turns them into something righteous and faithful.  Grace is the only way to explain HIS activity in my life.  The one thing I excel in is prayer.  I do pray for divine opportunities to share the simple gospel and I believe that Jesus honors that and fills my heart with enough Truth in Love to touch the lives of others. Grace and Love and Love and Grace are all I have, but it is always more than enough to see me through to the right place at the right time.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

P.s.  Several people have contacted me and said they are really getting a lot out of these evangelistic updates this week and to keep them coming.  Who am I to disagree?  Especially when those who asked Jesus to come into their lives are reaching out to contact me again. That’s right Ralph got a hold of me this morning and asked for prayer.  It is only the second time in 11 months that we have conversed.  He lurks here at my blog site, but is a little shy and hesitant to post any comments.  The best fellowship he has found is a men’s prayer breakfast that happens every Thursday morning about 20 minutes from where he lives.  Ralph longs for more consistent face to face Spiritual interaction and has tried visiting several “churches”, but none of them really allow for any real conversation or give and take dialogue.  I suggested that he continue to pray and ask Jesus for more fellowship opportunities and that perhaps he could ask a few of the men at the breakfasts to get together with him another day of the week also. He lives about 3 hours North of here, but I told him that I have business to take care of North of Grand Rapids and would love to see him again in a few weeks.  Ralph was very happy to hear that and we are both praying that our time together would be Spiritually meaningful. Ralph would really appreciate your prayers and he said that he hopes to be able to participate and post comments here someday soon.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Ramma permalink

    Ralph, first off, prayers for real authentic fellowship to happen soon for you. Even if it’s only one person. We tend to think it needs to be many to be “of God”, but that is not so. Your voice is important to encourage and strengthen many here. Many read and never speak. But we are all the loving Saviors care. Theses are very encouraging blogs brother and truly helps us think outside the box (church building) and be always ready wherever and whenever the Lord prompts. Have a blessed day.

  2. It was very good. I don’t get the fellowship I am wanting and seeking for, so reading Chris’s blog and then the comments are very encouraging to me. The postings allow me to see there are other believers truly seeking after an encounter with Jesus, the Father, and Holy Spirit everyday. Grace and Peace to all of you through our Lord Jesus Christ.

  3. Thank you Ramma and Angie, I am so glad these blogs of mine encourage you. Your comments encourage me a great deal too. I know many people are reading this blog page and I sincerely hope that many of them comment here when they are ready.

Leave a Reply

