Skip to content

Unbelievable,….. A New Update

June 2, 2015

Greetings,

“Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through Me.”  John 14: 6

I can’t hardly believe it myself, but it happened again for the second time in eight days.  This time I was in Seattle waiting at my gate for my flight home to board.  This time an older lady sitting next to me struck up a conversation.

Wanda and her traveling companion Wilma were heading home to Harrisburg Pennsylvania after a wonderful ten day cruise to Alaska.  She asked me what brought me to Washington.  I told her I was visiting some dear friends and several home fellowships there.  She then asked if I was a minister and I laughed saying yes, but not in the conventional or traditional sense.  I said that in the fellowships I relate to that everyone is a minister.  Then I told her that on my flight out there I had shared Jesus with a follower of Buddha and a follower of Islam.  Wanda then replied that she would “Love” to hear more about this Jesus of which I speak.

Right then they started boarding our plane.  It took several conversations with the crew and several other passengers, but I finally arranged it so I could sit next to Wanda and Wilma during our flight to Chicago.

We shared an excellent conversation on our 3.5 hour flight.  I had given my bible away on last weeks flight, so I just shared whatever the Spirit put on my heart.  Wilma was raised Catholic, but had not practiced her faith in over 30 years.  She said she was taught a lot about Mary, the fear of hell and the ten commandments; but very little about Jesus or the love of God.  Wanda had basically been unchurched her entire life and said that the few times she had attended “church” the focus had been on money and the offering.  This had left a very bad taste in her mouth.

When I shared I focused on the love of God and how relationships with Jesus and one another were the most important things in life.  They loved the idea of simple relational fellowship instead of traditional religion.  I told them that in the true church everyone gets to share and contribute and that the Spirit has gifted everyone; and not just a select few in the Body of Christ.

When we got near to Chicago they asked me to pray for them and that they wanted a relationship with the Lord Jesus I spoke of.  I said we could all pray together and ask Jesus to take the lead in our lives from this day forward.  By the time we were finished none of the three of us had a dry eye.  Once off the plane we exchanged some powerful hugs before we needed to find the gates for our next flights.

I am just a very simple guy with a very simple message, but in the last ten days the Holy Spirit has been bursting forth from my heart like almost never before.  I feel the total freedom that Christ gives all that seriously seek Him.  In the last 8 days He has used simple me to make a eternal impression on four very different lives.  I was simply available to have life changing conversations with others yet to know Christ in His fullness.  Jesus still wants to set the captives free.  Next time it could be you who has the key.  Step up and allow Him to use you.  When you do AMAZING things can happen!

Love and……

Kirk Out !

P.S.  It is hard to believe that my conversation with Wanda and Wilma took place almost 2 years ago.  It seems like yesterday.  Wanda has stayed in touch several times each of the last 2 years and she has reported that all the women in her canasta club are now following Jesus too. Plus several others from the bingo hall have found Christ via more simple conversations with Wanda and Wilma.  Wanda calls me when they don’t fully understand the bible passage they are studying and I pray and add my understanding to the text as led by the Spirit.  The Holy Spirit has gotten ahold of these senior citizens and none of them seem to be looking back.  I am happy to help, but they don’t really NEED me or any other “man” at all.  They are more proof that simple, organic, relational, Spirit led fellowship really works.  They have no need of professional Clergy or a “church” building or a set liturgy.  They are simply allowing The Spirit to lead and teach them.  It just so happens that Wanda called me today and once again invited me to come along with her and her friends on another winter Caribbean cruise.  She told me I was like family to her.  I can’t go on the cruise, but being called family was confirmation of my call to help others become an active part of God’s family instead of becoming pew sitting, passive members of a dying, “man” led institution that calls itself the “Church”.

P.s.s.  This must be the week for updates.

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Your testimony strike a cord in me. God is still at work in whosoever avails himself. I am also challenged by your words to be more sensitive to know when to step up and say “here am I Lord, use me”. Thank you for sharing brother…agape 😁 Mangna (Hosea Fwangmun)

  2. Ramma permalink

    Very cool! More evidence of His children, His body in every nook and cranny around this planet. Our God is truly the Amazing, Awesome God! Your testimonies certainly makes us aware of how much our lives are connected and how much we are being seen by those who need the loving touch of the Masters hand. God bless your day.

  3. That’s wonderful how God has used you to share the love of Jesus with so many different types of people. I know you will keep availing yourself to His Spirit when He nudges you to speak to those who are open and ready to receive the truth. U r a true blessing and minister of God.

  4. Judy baker permalink

    Loved every bit of your chance meeting. We call it “informal witnessing” ….. Jesus is there with us recalling scriptures to our minds. There is nothing more faith strengthening..is it a coincidence they were in the right place at the right time or were the Angels and Jesus arranging it!!! You can feel his presence by the joy and love you receive by His Holy Spirit.
    Let us all take every opportunity to share the Good News of Jesus ….wherever we are ……blessings from above are richly received . ❤️

Leave a Reply

