Skip to content

The Walking Dead

April 29, 2015

Greetings,

“Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God–this is your spiritual act of worship. (or reasonable service)  Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.  Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–His good, pleasing and perfect will.”  Romans 12: 1-2

Everyone I know or run into wants to know what God’s will is for their life.  Who doesn’t?  In this short passage Paul lays out pretty clearly what we need to do to find out what His will is for us.  It starts with us becoming a living sacrifice.  Which is not an easy task.  Jesus tells us to “deny ourselves, take up OUR cross and follow HIM.”  Death to self is a common theme in Paul’s writings and being a living sacrifice means that we basically become living dead “men”.  We need to surrender completely all of our total being to the service of God and hold nothing at all back.  All our hopes, dreams, desires and talents need to go voluntarily to the altar of sacrifice. We need to be emptied of self and filled to the top with Jesus and His Spirit.  This is a huge task to surrender all in such a manner, but this is our Spiritual act of worship.  That’s right worship is about self denial and NOT about singing a few Spiritual songs.  We may praise Him with our lips, but self surrender is about giving ALL there is to God.  We may think this to be an impossible task, but other translations simply call it our REASONABLE service.  This surrender is not about going over and above what is simple and needed.  It is just a reasonable response to all that Jesus accomplished for us with His birth, life, crucifixion, death and resurrection.

The next part of being able to know God’s will for our lives is to not allow ourselves to be conformed to the pattern of this world.  This means we come to a place where we are able to deny ourselves of the lust of the eyes, the lust of the flesh and the pride of life.  We are not to do or to act in the manner that the world does.  This is very difficult to do, especially in this day and age when most of the modern traditional “Church” has patterned itself after the ways of the world.  Most “Churches” have professional LEADERS and operate like corporate businesses these days with Pastor CEO’s and professional boards.  Plus many “churches” pattern parts of their services according to modern advertising methods in order to draw more new members and tithers to their Sunday morning shows.

Finally, if we want to know God’s will for our lives we need to be transformed by the renewing of our minds.  That means to stop thinking like the world and start thinking like God.  Our minds are renewed by spending intimate time with Jesus and those who love Him in free and open fellowship.  One of the main ways to do this is to spend quality time reading the bible and learning about how God thinks, but even better is spending time with sisters and brothers who know Him, His Word, and His ways.  Because as always, “Iron sharpens iron.”

If we do all these things and in increasing measure, we will then be able to know, test and approve what God’s will is….His good, pleasing and perfect will.   Now who doesn’t want to know that?  If you want to know it, well then you are going to have to live it! ……..  and live it without any compromises whatsoever.  The good news in all of this is we don’t have to do all this in our own power.  The fact is, that who Jesus calls, He also equips and all we have to do is ask, seek and knock and the door will be opened for us  This is NOT at all about our skills, talents and intellects.  HIS Holy Grace will always compensate for what we lack.  The one thing we must do to gain the mind of Christ is to surrender, and after that surrender some more.  “The One who calls you is faithful and He will do it.” 1 Thessalonians 5: 24

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. "BK" permalink

    These are some of my favorite verses. I love the explanation the next few give of being a living sacrifice and proving His will….exactly what you say again and again here “[3] For I say, through the grace given unto me, to every man that is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think; but to think soberly, according as God hath dealt to every man the measure of faith.
    [4] For as we have many members in one body, and all members have not the same office:
    [5] So we, being many, are one body in Christ, and every one members one of another.

    What I hear is “acknowledge and recognize the members of the Body!” Nothing sacrifices our flesh more than realizing I’m not the biggest, wisest duck in the pond! 🙂 “BK”

  2. daryl permalink

    Another thought provoking article.You wrote “we need to surrender completely all of our total being to the service of God and hold nothing at all back”.I think often we get the wrong idea about the service of God,and certainly if we have been indoctrinated with “local church” teaching,we will have some ideas that are “slanted”. Circumstances,stages of life, play an integral part.Before I was married and had children,my serving God was far different than it is now.If I attempted to do what I used to do,I would be neglecting my wife and kids(something I feel many do under the guise of “ministry”). My dad takes care of my mom now,and to me that service to God,is as pleasing to God as any other he may have done his entire life. I’m probably not being very clear, but I guess i’m just trying to say that service to God is sometimes right in front of us and we miss it,either because we have been made to think it is something it isn’t,or we are conforming to the world,often without even realizing it.Surrendering completely to the service of God,can sound so scary and maybe impossible,but often I think it’s just doing “first things first”,and not something we should stress over.

    • "BK" permalink

      Daryl, I think you said this excellently. So many people still are permeated with the idea of ‘doing service’ when really it is simply walking with Him each day. Even the sentence “we need to surrender completely all of our total being to the service of God and hold nothing at all back” can sound so complicated and hard…maybe impossible….when it is simply as you have stated. In my own words, look for Him each day and follow Him. Sometimes that’s alot, sometimes it’s a little. I once told a brand new Christian who was worried about ‘doing God’s will’ that I could tell her how she could be GUARANTEED to be in His will all the time, even five years from now. She was an eager listener. I told her, “Simply walk with Him each day. If you do that, in five years you will still be walking with Him and in His will.” Sometimes we miss the obvious. I appreciate both you and Chris (and others who posted) bringing it back to the simplicity God intended. “BK”

  3. What you wrote is exactly how I live my life. It has taken a long time to get to this place, Where I have told God to process me-That I want to step in-My life is His, do what you will. I want His thoughts, His words, His emotions. I hunger and thirst for Him like I never have….I devour His word. I want His plan and will for my life. He has asked me to step away from things recently that I hadn’t realized were taking time away from Him. I am no where near where I want to be but God is good to me and He knows I’m striving to have all of Him in me and my flesh simply dead.

    • I appreciate your heart and willingness to share here Angie. We are all certainly works in progress. Under the loving care of our Lord and Master.

  4. Thanks for sharing daryl. First things first as Jesus guides our every step is the way to go IMHO. It is written that if we don’t take care of our families first we are “worse than an infidel”. I feel that the 12 got it wrong in Acts chapter six when they bailed on the servanthood that Jesus taught and modeled for them. Waiting on tables and caring for others in a real tangible way shows people more of Jesus than does excluding yourself from being an actual servant to turn your attention solely to the word and prayer.

  5. Dyesebel Barbecho permalink

    On sunday we just go on church lights candles and just give thanks to God for all the blessings with my three kids…we listen to the gospel and sermon of priest but i dont really do whole process of catholic church here…i had my uncle that doesnt go church since he was a kid but he loved God he really wants to make a church that defends God….

    • "BK" permalink

      Dyesebel, this is beautiful to me in that even within the walls of religion those like you look and find their Lord. I mean really beautiful. I have a friend who was a Buddhist when she met Jesus. I asked her what she did in the Buddhist temple? She sayed prayed ‘to the gods….’. I responded, “Well, the living, real God, Jesus, heard your prayer and introduced Himself.” And He did and when she met Him she just turned to follow Him from then on. Love, “BK”

Leave a Reply

