Skip to content

Keeping In Step With The Spirit

March 30, 2015

Greetings,

“So I say, live by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the sinful nature.  For the sinful nature desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the sinful nature.  They are in conflict with each other, so that you do not do what you want.  But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under law.  The acts of the sinful nature are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery, idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like.  I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.  But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self control.  Against such things there is no law.  Those who belong to Christ have crucified the sinful nature with its passions and desires.  Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit.”  Galatians 5: 16-25

This passage of the bible is packed full of excellent encouragement, but I am only going to focus on a few things here today.  Right away I want to point out that it says “LIVE BY THE SPIRIT, and you will not gratify the desires on the sinful nature.”  NOTICE: It does not say live by The BIBLE!  People have been trying to live by the bible for many centuries and it has not produced the kind of fruit that is overcoming and beneficial.  “Churches” and entire denominations have made the bible their sole foundation and rule of life, yet they still fall short of becoming what GOD has desired them to be.  “Because those who are led by The Spirit of God are the children of God.” (Romans 8:14)  I am not saying that the bible is not important in the life of a believer, but I am saying that we need The Holy Spirit to guide us in how we use the bible and find out what it really means.  Take the bible away from someone led by The Spirit and The Spirit will still find a way to teach and lead that person just like HE led the early church into all truth many years before they even had bibles.  But in turn trying to use the bible without the Spirit’s leading and all you end up with is legalism, dead letter, intellect, and Spiritual death.  No wonder that there are so many dead churches out there today.  The pews and seats may be full, but there is no real Spiritual life.

I say it is best to live by The Spirit and keep in step with The Spirit, using the bible as HE sees fits along the way in this life.  Being Spirit filled is not something I take for granted.  I try to surrender each moment to The Lord and to be in HIS flow as much as humanly possible. Having said that I also am led to read and study the bible on most days.  I live in the best case scenario:  led by The Spirit, but having free access to my bible at any time.  Take my bible away from me and I will likely miss it, but The Spirit will compensate for my loss.  However, if The Spirit is somehow taken away from me the bible could in no way compensate for that loss.  But I know by His seal and promise that The Spirit will not ever leave me.  I hope I have been clear in this matter.  This is a difficult discussion to navigate and most people judge and react harshly even before they hear each others explanation and story.  I am not anti-bible, but I am pro-Spirit.

Love and….

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. What I am seeing is this: We are eternally connected with the Spirit. Just as Jesus said He and the Father were one, so are we. The problem is the fallen nature lives in darkness, it operates ignorantly and almost independently of us (our true selves). Once we understand in our hearts who we truly are, we begin to listen to, not the brash unruly voice of the fallen nature, but the still small voice of God living inside of each one of us. The more we listen the more we learn and grow into the God children we are designed to be, free and truly alive.

  2. Cassandra permalink

    If you are going to use scripture to pick and choose which scripture to adhere to you are no better than those who know what to do but don’t bother to do it.
    All scripture is God breathed and profitable for building the body.

    • Cassandra, I just use the scriptures that the Spirit leads me to use. I don’t often cherry pick, but instead quote whole passages for context and clarity. I agree 100% that “All scripture is God breathed and profitable for building the body.” But scripture is only truly useful as the Spirit sheds Light upon it. “The Letter kills, but the Spirit gives life.”

  3. Ramma permalink

    You know, I think it is very difficult for us to believe that each other are being led and directed by the Spirit to do or teach this or that because we are looking and listening through our human ears. We are judging with our human hearts. We forget that we are on individual paths and journeys through this life. The religious systems have wanted to cookie cut us, keep us all looking and sounding alike. Teaching the same message day in and day out. But the Spirit will not have it! God bless you on your journey! See you in the new life to come beyond this……..

Leave a Reply

