Skip to content

A Refreshing Legacy

March 8, 2015

Greetings,

“To Philemon our dear friend and fellow worker, to Apphia our sister, to Archippus our fellow soldier and to the church that meets in your home:  Grace to you and peace from God our Father and The Lord Jesus Christ.  I always thank my God as I remember you in my prayers, because I hear about your faith in The Lord Jesus and your love for all the saints.  I pray that you may be active in sharing your faith, so that you will have a full understanding of every good thing we have in Christ.  Your love has given me great joy and encouragement, because you brother, have refreshed the hearts of the saints.”  Philemon 1-7

Paul, an apostle, wrote those glowing words many years ago to a brother in Christ named Philemon.  In his letter Paul praises his brother for many things.  Things that I believe that we all would be wise to aspire to.  It is a brief mention, but I love how Paul mentioned the church that met in Philemon’s home.  As most of you know relational house church is one of my passions and I love the places in scripture that validate and affirm home churches.  So consider this a shameless plug for totally free & open, Spirit led fellowship in homes.

Philemon is also praised for his faith in Jesus and his love for ALL the saints.  It would do us all well to have a growing and authentic faith and to also love as Philemon did towards all without showing favoritism.  Because what good is faith if we are not active and open in sharing it with others?  But it is interesting that Paul connects having an active, vibrant faith with gaining a full understanding of every good thing we have in Christ.  If that does not motivate us to share more outwardly and actively I do not know what will.  Me?  I would love to have more understanding of all we have in Christ.  I only have a small understanding as it is and more would certainly be a tremendous blessing both to me and also to those I am in fellowship with on a regular basis.

Finally Paul says that Philemon’s love gave him great joy and encouragement because he had refreshed the hearts of others.   When I die I hope that someone can say something similar about me and my life, for that is the type of legacy I want to leave behind me and those are the type of things I aspire to in my life.  Faith, love, relationships, open sharing, open heart, open home, these are truly the things that really do matter most of all in this life.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Nice post. Yes let them think of us and and let those thoughts bring them closer to Christ.

  2. Ramma permalink

    Well said brother! We really saw just how unproductive we were in sharing our faith, once we stepped away from the religious cult that we were attached to. It was us four and no more syndrome, etc that prevented us from fully experiencing the fullness in Christ. …Faith, love, relationships, open sharing, open heart, open home, these are truly the things that really do matter most of all in this life. Amen, Amen!

  3. Janet Fowler permalink

    Very encouraging post. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

