Skip to content

Will You Please Listen?

March 4, 2015

Greetings,

You know what I hate?  I hate the first two questions people always ask you when they find out that you are a believer of some sort.  The first question is always, “Where do you go to Church?”, and the second question is always “Who is your Pastor/Leader?”  I hate the questions even though I have pretty good answers.  My answer to question one is “I don’t go to Church because it is impossible to go to what you are.  Because the Church is the people not the building or location.   You might go to the place the church gathers, but you cannot go to Church.   Read my T-shirt?  Don’t Go To Church….BE The Church!”  The answer to the second question is even easier…”I follow Jesus, because Jesus is the only true Leader in the Church!”  Most people agree with me when I spell it out that way, and the few that don’t get it just walk away.

I was in the grocery store last year and a lady who worked with me at our local Pregnancy Helpline asked me if our home fellowship was doing “The 50 day Spiritual Adventure?”  I said “No, we are all about the 365 days a year adventure”  We laughed, but I think I made my point, and yes she still talks with me and remains a friend.

I say all that to ask this one very important question…… Does a true follower of Jesus really NEED a Pastor/Teacher/Leader?  Seriously, think about that before you answer too quickly?  Because 1 John 2: 27 says this:

“As for you, the anointing you received from Him remains in you, and you do not need anyone to teach you.  But as His anointing teaches you about all things and as that anointing is real, not counterfeit – just as it has taught you, remain in Him.”

In context this passage is warning about antichrists and false teaching, but verse 27 is rock solid clear to me:  Jesus gave us His anointing and His anointing teaches us all things without the need of a human teacher.  The traditional church manages to tap dance all around this message, but there it is clear as day.  But doesn’t the Bible talk about apostles, prophets, evangelists and pastor/teachers?  Sure it does in a few places, but these giftings never replace His anointing and direct revelation.  If anything they are meant for confirmation of His anointing.  The real antichrist and false teaching is that you NEED these people OVER you and that you should trust them over and above His anointing.

“So Captain are you telling me that I can hear directly from God for myself?”  The answer is YES, absolutely!  So you better start listening to Him instead of traditional church doctrine and its teachers.  It may take awhile to develop a listening ear and heart, but I guarantee that His anointing is real.  You want to learn about Jesus?  Then just start hanging around other Christ followers who have and use His anointing.  Share what you think you are hearing from Jesus and your peers can help you determine what is of Him and what is not.  Do not be afraid of being wrong because that is how we best learn.  “My sheep hear My voice and obey.” said Jesus.  So listen, share and then listen and share some more!

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

p.s.  I am not saying that we don’t need each other in the Body of Christ.  What I am saying is that everyone in the Body is special and anointed and not just a select few.  I have been taught much by His anointing via and through other saints, both living and long dead.  I even read the occasional book other than the bible, but when I turn to others I am still really listening for Him, His voice, His message and His anointing in and through them.

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Sky permalink

    What’s weird to me is the fact that most do NOT hear Him and look at you like you’ve lost your mind if you mention that you do. “hearing voices is a benchmark of the insane” they tell you. I guess I’ve lost my mind then Oh wait, the mind of Adam needs to die anyway and be replaced by the mind of Christ – again, why is what was once normal now considered batty? smh

  2. Ramma permalink

    I’ve also experienced people kind of backing away when I explain that we are the church and where 2 or 3 gather. “There Am I”. They think we have something less than those attending a denomination, etc. When in fact we have gained sooo much more! Unless the Holy Spirit reveals it, they may not be able to see it. Blessings

  3. "BK" permalink

    The word ‘antichrist’ actuall means ‘against the anointing’. Pretty good description of those who stand in the place of God, claiming to hear from Him FOR you. 😦 “BK”

  4. I don’t like those two questions either, although they are the most commonly asked questions. Everyone expects that ‘christians’ go to church and have a pastor they are under. I believe Jesus is building his Church out of people, not brick and mortar. We are the temple of the Holy Spirit. The Spirit is our guide and teacher, and although we do need each other for fellowship and support, we do not need another human being to be over us as a leader and teacher. We can learn from each other as the Holy Spirit works through us, but to acknowledge someone who is supposedly higher up and more capable of hearing from God and then telling us, that just isn’t how God intended. Each of us are equally important and useful parts of the body, and Christ is the head.

  5. Ximena permalink

    Although I agree that I hate those questions as well, I have to say that I see listening to the Father a little differently. Just as a new born knows its Mother’s smell and can recognize its Fathers voice, so a new believer knows His spiritual Father. … ANd just like the older siblings in a family try to tell the younger what is or is not proper we in the church have taken on this same attitude. But there are times when an older sibling does help the younger by telling them ” That is something Dad would not want you to do. ” They have lived with/ talked with and observed the Father longer than the younger and can help to give direction. If done in the right attitude this can be very helpful. If done improperly it causes harm.

Leave a Reply

