Skip to content

Just Washing Clothes

February 20, 2015

Greetings,

For me Thursday was laundry day after a long fellowship vacation.  So I got my dirty clothes together and went to the laundrymat.  While I was there I ran into a former co-worker that I had not seen in many years.  During our conversation we caught each other up concerning our current employment and how our families were doing.  We were both surprised at how our children had grown and matured.  Then all of a sudden in the middle of our conversation WHAM JESUS WAS THERE and I was leading her to The Lord.  It was totally casual and nothing was forced.  We had just been talking about how I was coping with my PTSD.  She was there sixteen years ago when I had my first PTSD episode at work and I crawled under my desk, screamed, cried and assumed the fetal position.  She saw how well I was getting along now and she directly asked me what seemed to be working for me.  The answer to that question was Jesus, The Body of Christ, and a new treatment called EMDR.  She is a therapist too, so she actually knew about EMDR, but she asked for more information about how Jesus was helping me.  I spoke of His love, grace, mercy and healing and she responded by asking me how she could experience such things in her life.  We prayed together right there and she let Jesus invade her very being. Immediately she also began praying in tongues and was filled with The Spirit.  All of this happened without any coaching.  I am telling you it was just another awesome flow of His Holy Spirit there that day.

After the initial rush of The Spirit we continued to talk and she told me how she had been watching me during the seven years we had worked in the same counseling center.  She knew I was a believer and an excellent counselor, but noticed that I never tried to push Jesus on anyone at work. She had tried various “churches” over the years, but they never felt “right” to her.  I told her that was because many churches don’t have it right because their focus is on their leaders and things other than the simplicity of Christ and the relationships that flow out of experiencing Him together. Most “churches” focus on programs and the external and works.  While Jesus focuses on relationship,  our hearts and the completed work of the cross.

Our time together was cut short because she had to get her client back to his place.  However, we exchanged phone numbers and she definitely wants to talk more.  She asked what church I went to and I told her that I don’t go to church, but I do simply meet with other followers of Jesus in homes. She seemed interested so I told her we would talk about that at another time.  We hugged and off she went.  If you get a chance please remember Dianne in your prayers this week because I think she is at the beginning of a new and grand journey.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Skylla Moon permalink

    Praying for Dianne !

  2. The natural supernatural; let God be God and He will do God stuff!

  3. Chad permalink

    Very cool!

  4. skylla2013 permalink

    Let’s all not wash but remove the garments of our natural selves and reveal the fullness of Christ within us to unveil and reveal Him in glory here now 🙂

  5. Great word Skylla!

Leave a Reply

