Skip to content

Ship’s Counselor

January 26, 2015

Greetings,

Do you ever get the feeling that you are all alone and even God has left you?  I sure struggle with that sometimes, but it is not the truth.  The truth is that Jesus sent us a Counselor to be with us forever…the Spirit of Truth. (John 14:16,17)  I don’t know about you, but I really need a good counselor to guide me through my life.  I need to be taught and instructed concerning the things of both God and “man”.

Jesus put it this way, “If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching.  My Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him.  He who does not love me will not obey my teaching.  These words you hear are not my own; they belong to the Father who sent me.  All this I have spoken while still with you.  But the Counselor, The Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.  Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you.  I do not give to you as the world gives.  Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”  (John 14:23-27)

To put it simply we are NEVER alone.  This is good news to me because I hate being alone.  Jesus said if we love Him we will obey His teaching.  That sounds like a very difficult task and it would be impossible without the help of The Holy Spirit.  We need to always remember that who He calls He also equips.  He said The Spirit would teach us “all things” and remind us of everything Jesus has said.  We are empowered with The Spirit to know all the things we need to know to function with victory in this life and the next.

The Holy Spirit is the most vital component to our life in Christ.  He is our Teacher, our Instructor and our Comforter.  Apart from The Spirit of Jesus we can do nothing. (John 15:5)  The reason I emphasize the role of The Holy Spirit over and above the bible is that Jesus did too.  However, if The Spirit is our great Teacher then the main text book He uses to train us is indeed the bible.  It is good to know that we don’t need to carry the book around wherever we go though, because The Spirit will always remind us of EVERYTHING that  Jesus said.  It is not about having the manual dexterity or physical skill to be able to flip through the pages and chapters faster than the enemy.  No the external book of ink and paper via The Holy Spirit becomes instead written upon our hearts and minds.  As it is often said it is not about what we know; it  really is about WHO we know.

Jesus is the Prince of Peace and when we choose to be in Him and allow Him to be in us…. Peace just happens and we get to fully bask in it.  It is then that the troubles of this world melt away into nothing but Christ.  Me?  I have my moments of turmoil and trouble.  But when I turn it all over to Him I no longer have to live in that state of mind.  Freedom is much, much more than just a concept.  It is an ever present reality if we choose to walk in it.  It is HE in me and me in Him; and HE in us and us in HIM.  Now that is the kind of awesome and free life we could all live with great purpose and gusto.  It is time to let go of whatever may be holding us back from being supremely and totally free in Christ, and this includes our present understanding of what the “Church” truly is and the roles of the Spirit and the bible in our lives.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. "BK" permalink

    “Freedom is much, much more than just a concept. It is an ever present reality if we choose to walk in it.” Amen, “BK”

  2. Janet Fowler permalink

    Wonderful, life affirming word Christopher. Thank you for sharing it.

  3. Skylla Moon permalink

    Amen brother! My husband and I were just talking about the concept of what you called “our present understanding” which would include not only our ideas about church but about everything. Our own ideas about spiritual things is the cells and tissues of the body called RELIGION. “We are destroying speculations and every lofty thing raised up against the knowledge of God, and we are taking every thought captive to the obedience of Christ” 2Cor. 10:5 other versions call it imaginations, reasonings, arguments, obstacles – whatever it’s called we humans continue to think that we can reach God our own way. 1Cor 2 is loaded with spiritual truth on this topic which in the presence of the Holy Spirit may light the way. Thanks for all your insights Chris.

  4. Mercy Fulgencio permalink

    Great amen., we go truly organic. Jesus is the great Shepherd, our only pastor.

  5. Don’t know why this one won’t post here, but here it is:

    Wongani mvula
    6 hours ago
    With the words sent by GOD through you ,it is realy changing my life i now knew that GOD loves us no matter hard condition we are in,GOD test us by letting us passing hard times just to know how strong faith we have

Leave a Reply

