Skip to content

“Revenge is a dish best served cold”

January 8, 2015
Greetings,
Over the years many people have just done me wrong.  From my childhood abusers to “church” leaders and about everywhere in between.  My exposure to the traditional/institutional “Church” and its so called leaders was very short and limited though…  THANK GOD!  I can only imagine what it would be like to have to endure more than a very short season  sitting “under” the ministry, authority and teaching of a human Pastor.  I find the thought offensive to Christ and it makes my stomach turn.  However, I can honestly say that I have never wanted to get even with any of these people.  In fact I feel sympathy for them.  Sure a fleeting thought of some type of revenge has crossed my mind a time or two, but I have never allowed those type of thoughts to hold me captive for any length of time or find fertile ground in my heart.  This, I think, makes me a better person.  I have known people who have held onto dark and revengeful thoughts and they were usually kept captive in their very own personal and private hells of their own doing.  The actual wrongdoings that they endured, and the associated memories and thoughts themselves were bad enough in the first place.  Why compound and intensify the pain, misery and suffering by holding onto some type of spiteful grudge?
Paul said it best in Romans chapter 12, “Do not repay anyone evil for evil.  Be careful to do what is right in the eyes of everybody.  If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.  Do not take revenge, my friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written:  ‘It is mine to avenge; I will repay,’ says the Lord.  On the contrary:  ‘If your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink.  In doing this, you will heap burning coals on his head.’  Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.”
Pretty heavy words!  If possible???  As far as it depends on me???  Wow!  Seems extremely difficult and important to be able to let our offenses go and give them all to Jesus so that HE can sort them all out and handle the troublesome situations and people for us.  If we dig in our heels and refuse to let go of such offenses they can eat us alive and really hinder our walk with Jesus and relationship with others.  And heaping burning coals on their head is NOT about payback in any sense of the word.  No, it means we will help them in their purification, repentance and return to The Lord.
When you are wronged which way will it go for you?  Revenge or restoration?  Seriously think about it?  One choice puts us in bondage, the other sets us and others free!
Love and……
Kirk Out !
From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. I apologize again for the formatting of this post. It scrunched everything together so there are no paragraph breaks. The dang thing won’t allow me to edit it either.

  2. Suzy Crees permalink

    That’s OK, the message is still the same. It is so important to let go of any injustices done to us. When we trust the Lord to take care of everything we are free indeed.

  3. I see true healing from God to you and through you while here, this is great

  4. "BK" permalink

    I like those verses. I believe when it says ‘overcome evil with good’ it means for us to overcome the ‘evil in us’ (revenge) and that is done as we feed and clothe our enemy. It’s worked for me. ObeDIEnce. “BK”

  5. Independent Evangelical, SBC, and others seem to apply a single “Pastor” model, and I have seen abuses.

    I never experienced anything close to what you have in terms of “sitting under a Pastor” until after I had left the Churches of Christ–who’s ecclesiology has typically been “plurality of Elders” led. And actually my background in the Stone-Campbell Restoration Movement made house churching very appealing.

    Modern American Evangelical Pastor driven churches are a blight on the landscape–for the most part.

  6. Stan permalink

    Captain, very good post. I will plan on visiting again.
    Just a word on Bitterness and Revenge. I studied this topic through this organization who teaches Forgiveness better than anyone I have ever seen.
    It is http://akwellspring.com/.
    I would recommend giving their site a preview. They have great resources and an unbelievable track record of helping people.
    Many, many people have had physical healing just as a result of dealing with their bitterness and unforgiveness. It just fascinated me to see how powerful and deep and far reaching it can go. . .

    Blessings to you.

  7. Thanks for stopping by and contributing to the conversation Stan. I will check out that site.

  8. Jack permalink

    Thanks for connecting the dots there about the whole “heaping burning coals on their head” thing. We need to always remember that God is a CONSUMING FIRE.

  9. Thanks for this post! It is something I think about often! It is so important not to allow bitterness to grab hold of our hearts. Your simple sentence: “In fact I feel sympathy for them” really resonates with me! It describes exactly how I feel about those who are lording it over people in my congregation. It is a genuine sorrow, not a flippant or sarcastic pity, but a true sorrow wishing that they – all of us – could see the better way forward without the power posturing and division that comes with it. Anyways, I thank you for writing this! 🙂 blessings

Leave a Reply

