Skip to content

“But sir, he called the Enterprise a garbage scow.”

December 19, 2014

Greetings,

What would you give up to follow Jesus?  Better yet, what have you given up already?  Anything?  If salvation is a free gift, then why even have this conversation?  I say it is because there are some things that are just beyond mere salvation.  A deeper, more fulfilling relationship and walk with Jesus and others is one of those things.

Jesus has an interesting conversation with a rich young man in Matthew chapter 19.  The young man claims to have kept some heavy commandments like, “Do not murder, do not commit adultery, do not steal, do not give false testimony, honor your father and mother, and love your neighbor as yourself.”  Yet Jesus said he still lacked one thing… That the young man still needed to go sell all of his possessions and give to the poor.  It says that when “the young man heard this he went away sad because he had great wealth.”

I believe that we need to surrender everything in order to follow Jesus and to walk closely with Him. That includes more than just money or all the stuff we have accumulated in our lives.  It includes any intellectual property or things we take pride in too.  Paul put it this way in Philippians 3:7-8, ” But, whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ.  What is more, I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things.  I consider them rubbish (garbage, dung, shit) , that I may gain Christ.”  I don’t know about you, but I want more than to just be saved.  I want to truly know Jesus and walk closely with Him in this life, as well as the next.

Does this mean that you will have to literally sell your home and all your belongings and give it all to the poor?  For some of us, yes.  But for the most of us it means to be totally sold out and willing to lay it all down if He requires it of us at any given time.  What it really means is don’t allow your stuff to own or control you. We need to be free of the bondage and slavery to all of our belongings and the endless pride we have in our earthly accomplishments.  My dear friend Glenn Kaiser puts it this way, ” It will cost you everything to follow Jesus, and it will cost you everything if you don’t.”  So don’t cling tightly to all your trophies and prizes that you have gained in this life.  Sometimes the thing we need to give up most is the recognition we have received for our gifts and talents.

Total surrender is a very difficult thing to do.  Most of us never really surrender.  What we really do most times is negotiate treaties.  Always holding back a portion of ourselves and this is a sad way to live our lives before Christ and others.  What part of, “Deny yourself.” did you not understand?

Love and …….

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. I’ve heard that all my life, but for the life of me I don’t read it in the Bible–though I realize that the Bible is not the depository of ALL wisdom and knowledge.

    What I have read in the Bible that God requires of us is to “do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God.”

    I have been a “Christian” all of my life–seriously so–and one thing I’ve learned is that it is impossible for me to TOTALLY surrender myself to God. No matter how hard I try there will always be some darkening corner of my being that will withhold itself–whether I realize it or not.
    However, I do find it possible to do justice, to love kindness, and sometimes to walk humbly before God.

    I have learned to be suspicious when someone asserts that God demands our TOTAL surrender. People may demand that of us, but God, knowing the frailty of our frame, has never demanded that of us. Rather, He has fulfilled that state of total surrender in his own being, that of Father, Son, and Holy Spirit–who constantly and persistently and adoringly bless and praise and adore one the other in the eternal Perichoresis. Our loving Father draws us into that dance and does so not waiting for our total surrender, but rather loves us into His Love and woos us into His arms.

  2. Thanks for sharing your portion here volkmar1108. Of course the paradox is that we can only truly surrender with HIS help and strength in the first place. Like John the Baptist said…”I must decrease, so HE can increase.” John 3: 30

  3. Ramma permalink

    Also brethren, our example, Jesus…….fully surrendered to the Father’s will. Somehow I tend to believe that in him is the strength to do it and be willing to.

Leave a Reply

