Skip to content

The Final Frontier?

December 3, 2014

Greetings,

The film critics all hated, “The Final Frontier”, the fifth Star Trek motion picture.  It was pretty universally panned and called a failure.  However, I really liked it.  The heart of this film was not its special effects, guest stars,  or complicated plot.  The simple art of friendship was at its core.  It all boiled down to three old friends sitting around a campfire, eating and singing songs.  I just love that!  It might not make for an exciting film base or big box office, but it makes a huge comment on what life should really be all about.

Captain Kirk, Spock and Bones were celebrating life together in its finest form.  They were having fellowship with one another.  The New Testament Greek word for fellowship is koinonia and it means partnership, participation, communion, friendship or social intercourse.   This important word is used over a dozen times in the New Testament and it is an all important ingredient to actually BEING the Church.  1 John 1:7 says, “But if we walk in the light, as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, His Son, purifies us from all sin.”  I know the movie analogy breaks down here because their fellowship was not in Jesus, but you get my point anyway I trust.

True fellowship in Jesus includes intimacy, partnership, participation, communion, friendship and social intercourse.  Sitting in a pew and singing along to a few tunes is not really full participation.  1 Corinthians 14:26 puts the truth right out there when it says, “…When you come together, EVERYONE has a song, or a word of instruction, a revelation, a tongue or an interpretation.  ALL of these MUST be done for the strengthening of the church.”  In true church fellowship EVERYONE has a contribution to the ongoing dialogue and conversation.  True church fellowship is NOT a series of sermons or monologues.  It is open sharing as The Spirit leads with multiple people sharing.  Anything less is, well less than what GOD intended for all of us.  Just how often do we settle for less, and why?  Sorry, end of rant.  I just get really passionate about the church and its need to be fully open, participatory and free.

Now back to friendship…… we really ought to deeply know and get along with those we fellowship with. True friendship should come and flow naturally between those who love Jesus.  Sharing our complete lives with one another is something Jesus desires for us.  This is much more difficult within large groups, so I suggest smaller groups whenever possible.

I had difficulty writing this blog today.  There is so much I want to express, but I feel limited by words.  And please do not get me wrong, I am not giving edicts and telling everyone what to do.  All I want to do is share my portion and be an encouragement.  If I failed at this today, then I apologize

Love and…….

Kirk Out

P.S. I hope all of you have a few very close friends you can just hang out and just BE with.  It is really simple, but oh so sweet too.  When we have those in our lives that we can completely bare our hearts to, it makes our lives so much easier to navigate.  That type of caring and openness is just so valuable, needed, rare and awesome.

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. "BK" permalink

    Amen and amen and amen again! Much love to you, and those Jesus has let my life’s course intertwine with. “BK”

  2. I love using analogies and that was a good one even though I did not see the movie 😁 Great post captain!

  3. Given the current events that upsetting our nation, I would encourage everyone to go and make friends with someone of another skin color.

  4. Skylla Moon permalink

    lol everybody has a different skin color from me because I am a freckle faced redhead so that shouldn’t be too hard haha

    we just moved to a new area and I don’t know anyone and have been too busy getting settled. its hard also to find people that are outside the camp. So we pray and wait on God to do the building.

  5. 2trakmind permalink

    This is something I struggle with. I am an extreme introvert and 1 Corinthians 14:26 is a verse that people use to pressure people into going to church. I don’t “come together,” in a physical sense, since leaving the weekly meeting. A couple of years ago, there was no day I hated more than Sundays. As an introvert, I’d rather walk through a bed of hot coals than to set foot in a building with several hundred, to several thousand other people (I do know that’s not what Paul meant, though). Beyond that, my faith was shifting in such a way that I could no longer bear listening to messages of condemnation and guilt. After not attending, for a couple of years, Sunday is one of my favorite days and now my relationship with God is no longer associated with a day, but with every breath. I did have a couple of really close friends, back then, but one has moved to California and the other, well, we’ve just lost touch. I am thankful for what I have, in my community in the blogosphere and Facebook. It may not be “coming together,” in the physical sense, but it is, in a spiritual sense. Honestly, I don’t think I’m “ready” for the physical “coming together,” right now, because it’s still too easy for me to want to institutionalize it. You don’t just flip the switch after 40 years, I guess. I am content with where He has me, today. Tomorrow may be different, but I’m not going to force something, just because there’s a verse in the Bible that someone decided is a mandate from God to attend church.

  6. 2trakmind NO pressure whatsoever bro! Most true fellowship happens simply “along the way” in life and not at a scheduled time and place.

    • Skylla Moon permalink

      Righto! Wait on Him. He’s ALL you need!

  7. Sue heumann permalink

    These words make me smile inside, again, because of the fellowship that occurs even over cyberspace….thanks everyone😘‼️

Leave a Reply

