Skip to content

To Boldly Go Where No One Has Gone Before

November 21, 2014

Greetings,

I have always loved the ideology behind all things Star Trek.  Since the shows inception in the 1960′s it has always preached and presented a universe based on inclusion and equality of all life forms.  Along the way Trek has even corrected itself to be even more inclusive.  When the original series began the mantra was, “To Boldly Go Where No Man Has Gone Before.”  Not exactly inclusive of females, but when The Next Generation premiered in the late 1980′s they humbly corrected that phrase to be the more inclusive and accurate, “To Boldly Go Where No One Has Gone Before.”

The equality of all races, genders, social classes, and ages is a noble and lofty goal.  A goal that some seem to be still threatened by.  Even the Church has had difficulty living up to such high ideals.  Paul, an apostle, addressed this important topic in his letter to the Galatians where he wrote, “In Christ’s family there can be no division into Jew and non-Jew, slave and free, male and female.  Among us you are all equal.  That is, we are all in a common relationship with Jesus Christ.”  (The Message)

In this post I am just going to focus on the need, no the Biblical command, to fully include women in all aspects of BEing the Church.  Because there are still many churches out there that do not allow for the full participation of women in ministry or any sort of leadership.  All this does is cripple the church by not allowing 50% of its members to fully participate in the mission of the church.  That is like going into battle with both arms tied behind your back or both legs non-functional.  It just does not make good sense.

Jesus NEVER marginalized women during HIS time here on planet earth.  Some point to the fact that none of the original apostles were women, but that could be for any number of reasons and not male exclusivity.  The fact is that in the book of Romans, Junias, a female, was called, “Outstanding among the apostles.”

In my relational Church experience over the last 36 years we have always valued women as full equals in life and ministry. Because of this we have been totally blessed with the fullness that only manifests itself when the WHOLE body is allowed to function as it was designed when we come together.  For those of you who still struggle with the concept of every member, every gender, every age ministry….”I appeal to you brothers, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree with one another so that there may be no divisions among you and that you may be perfectly united in mind and thought.” (1 Corinthians 1:10)  And to me, “NO DIVISIONS”, means “NO DIVISIONS” period.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Suzy Crees permalink

    Amen!

  2. Totally with you on this one, just like most of your others! Although to “proof text” with that verse may not stand up against the rest of Paul’s writing on the subject, at least on the surface, I have always believed that this verse best represents the mind of the Lord on the subject, over and against any other verse in the Bible. It seems to stand out and in opposition to the rest of the culturally biased texts and interpretations that are so often offered in support of the subjugation of at least half of the Body of Christ.

  3. "BK" permalink

    I believe this goes back to your feelings (correct ones, I might add) that ‘leadership’ and ministry are not ‘positions’ to be aspired to; leading is not something done by the chosen few, but whoever our Leader, Christ, chooses to flow through. As we learn more & more to function as a body, as a family, as the household of God, the issue is no longer there….it cannot be. As a sister in a VERY strict group where only men could be ‘in the ministry’ or ‘sit on the platform’ or participate in the discussions they called ‘the threshingfloor’ I learned one can still do just about anything by following the Spirit and allowing Him to choose the battles, if any. The only thing it really did was teach me to flow with Him irregardless of any position that was or wasn’t available to me. And now, I’m outside and free from it all! Subject to Him wherever He apears in His body. Does that make any sense? Great article, Christopher, “BK”

  4. It makes great sense BK. I strongly believe that the anointing of Christ can flow through each and every member of the Body of Christ moment by moment as HE sees fit. Christ in us is the Hope of Glory.

  5. Jack permalink

    It’s funny you should share this today because I just finished a Jon Zens book, WHAT’S WITH PAUL AND WOMEN?, about this that I started the other day while sitting through Snowmageddon. Btw, apparently her name is Junia (Junias is the masculine version used as an attempt to pass her off as a man because she was referenced as being an apostle). I was disappointed that the Concordant Literal Translation uses Junias like all the others but when I looked at the Concordant Greek Text, there it was, Junia!
    I’m actually excited that I even bought that book because I already knew I agreed with everything that it was going to say. I just kind of felt led to read it. Who knows? Maybe the woman God has for me may need some healing here?….. But I thoroughly enjoyed the new discoveries (for me) in learning about the historical context of several NT passages. The bible clearly and consistently teaches equality in Christ.
    However, I guess I’m in the position of being dumbfounded that women’s roles are an issue in the church. BECAUSE, in the Spirit, there is no conflict. In my experience I’m drawn to those in the Body who are speaking, living, TEACHING, sharing TRUTH (um, JESUS!!!!!!). Especially when I’m upset, troubled, hopeless, doubtful, unforgiving, ungrateful, etc. I need to have God speak to me through someone regardless of it’s a brother or sister because I just need to HEAR HIM!!! Man/Woman never occurs to me in my decision making about speaking from my heart (whether in need or from joyful overflowing). Probably because I’m either in such need or having a blast in fellowshipping. Really, the primary consideration I find my self surveying about if/how I should open up to someone is a persons maturity/walk and yes, if I can sense God directly telling me to.
    Real love casts out fear, right? Kind of funny how all those denominations run by men exclusively have all had their share of schisms and splits over what? Teaching/power/methods/ doctrines? Gasp!

Leave a Reply

