Skip to content

The Final Authority?

November 3, 2014

Greetings,

“All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.         2 Timothy 3: 16-17

Contrary to what some heresy hunters believe…I totally affirm everything stated in this familiar passage of scripture.  The whole bible is definitely inspired, God-breathed and extremely useful for teaching, correcting, rebuking and training in righteousness.  I am on board for all of that.  However, I must also point out what the scriptures never say in this passage or anywhere else…. scripture never calls itself the sole, final or ultimate authority in the Church, or in the life of a believer.  That role is reserved for Christ and Christ alone.  The bible also never refers to itself as “The Word of God”, because that description belongs solely to Jesus and no other person or thing.

Jesus said:

“All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me.”  Matthew 28: 18

If Jesus has “All Authority” then the bible has none, zip, zero, nada.  You see the bible was never intended to be a rule book or a book of Law.  So when it is used that way it has absolutely no authority or power.  However, when used in Christ with the Spirit’s leading it is totally profitable and God ordained for everything listed in 2 Timothy 3: 16 and more.

Let me say it again so it will start to sink in….Jesus has been given ALL AUTHORITY.  No other one or no thing has ANY authority over you…including the bible and other Christ followers.  Not even the ones who have assumed false titles like Pastor and Reverend.  The only One with true Authority in our lives is Jesus.  Jesus is the Sole, Final and Ultimate Authority over EVERYTHING!  ”Let God be True and every other man a liar.”  Romans 3:4

Love and….

Kirk Out!

P.s.  I feel His leading to push the envelope here right now… So here it goes…. For some people who view the bible as a guide to judge others and also see it as their final authority..at times the bible then becomes the log or plank in their eye that keeps them from ever really grasping the relational truths found within scripture.  When that occurs the bible is reduced to nothing more than a legal document used for judgement and condemnation.  We need always to remember that the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life.  I choose the freedom and life of the Spirit over the letter of the Law any day; and when I live that way I am more than able to allow Jesus to remove the splinters and specks from my very own eyes.  This then leads to my full acceptance and love for others without the need to judge or superficially attempt to remove any items from their eyes.  This freedom from the Letter allows me to be the simple loving brother of others rather than their judge, juror or executioner.  It all boils down to this…. you either allow the Holy Spirit to lead you into ALL truth and deep, rich relationship and fellowship with others or you instead choose the written text and code that by itself ultimately leads to only error and fractured relationships.

From → Uncategorized

15 Comments
  1. Yes truth be truth, Jesus has the say all in all. Thank you

  2. Janet permalink

    I love this Christopher! I especially like the analogy of how using the word to stand in judgement may be the plank in our eye.
    I’ve said before that I used to believe we had to use the bible as the final authority, that whatever ideas came across our brains had to line up with scripture. However, in practice This way of thinking grieved my spirit and I always trumped out to follow a path of love and not judgement. I was just honest with our Father and said ” I don’t like this, it doesn’t feel right, so I am going to love this person and let me know if You want anything different. This mostly has been regarding the hotbed issue of homosexuality, but I have had to wrestle with remarriage after divorce, it doesn’t line up with some passages. And there are others I can’t think of right now.

    I remember wondering about the verse ” love covers a multitude of sins”. I know the love and sacrifice of Christ covers our sins, but could it also mean when we love others it covers our own sins? Or when we love others it is like covering their sins too? i don’t know, but I know I am sinful, stuck in some stubborn rebellious ways, but yet I see the hand of God in my life and I know He hears my prayers.

    Ok that’s it! Have a wonderful day everyone and Love each other!

    • Great response Janet! I feel that “Love covers a multitude of sins” and that verse can have a very wide application to ourselves and others. I know we can stand in the gap for others and shield them with God’s love and power. We must not forget that a “multitude” is HUGE and well beyond what we can even imagine. I know if I have the opportunity to cover and shield others with His love that I will do it FULL ON throwing caution to the wind as HE leads me. I feel that COVERING should be our initial response to others rather than judgement. Knowing full well that “Mercy triumphs over judgement”.

      • Janet permalink

        Exactly! Thank you for the response. The usual answer I get from people about that is ” I don’t know” ” hmm”

  3. Skylla Moon permalink

    I agree Kirk but you can say it til you’re blue in the face and unless God reveals these truths through the Holy Spirit (and I know you know this) they will continue to be blinded. Stating truth doesn’t open eyes, Jesus opens eyes and hearts. There are times when saying the truth might be a step towards this revelation but its not like we say the words and voila, the HolySpirit hears them and comes running. I don’t know how it all works of course but hearing the words alone don’t have any magic powers as some believe. It’s ok to be mixed up about all this, if we humbly confess that we don’t understand and beg Him to reveal it to us, just be honest and seek with it all. I know He will not turn any away. Love you bro.

    • "BK" Zimmer permalink

      I appreciate what you say here, Skylla….a big amen! That has sure been my experience. Both when truths have been sowed in me that took YEARS to sprout; and ones I have sowed in others…often we’ll never really get to see those sprouts. And this is fine because it is HE Who brings life to any words spoken or read, from within or without. Anyway, you said it so much better. Thanks! “BK”

  4. So true. We seem to forget that the bible is God inspired, but not God and not the final authority. Jesus is the head and no one, or no other thing should take His place. Very good article.

  5. Suzy Crees permalink

    I agree. I have heard people say that the bible is the word of God but we know that Jesus is the Word of God. He alone is our final authority and He alone can give eternal life because He is Life.

  6. And the whole of the whole Bible = Love to us from God through Son. Once the truth of it in it is revealed in all truth only By Father can it be
    Thanking everyone here for seeing this here. The Bible is the message of love and Mercy to us all, to be free to be a Bond-servant to the almighty, and do as we are asked to love all in Mercy and truth. It to me is a response to Father for Son in thanksgiving and praise

  7. "BK" Zimmer permalink

    Good thoughts on a very difficult subject, Christopher. No matter how often one speaks of the regard they have for scripture and the Bible, once the ‘but it is NOT God or the final authority’ all the rest short circuits for those who idolize it. And usually they are not aware they do, and vehemently disagree if you try to share with them. Don’t get weary of speaking it, though, as those who the Spirit wishes to quicken it to will see (grin…..well, after they’ve quit fighting with Him about it like I did!). Blessings, “BK”

  8. Good post Captain!

    I might add… There are several passages in the NT that speak to what is the “foundation” of the church/community of Believers. Not once is it said that the “bible” is that foundation.

    (It’s funny isn’t it how we use the bible to prove that the bible is not the end-all-be-all… ;o) )

  9. Ramma permalink

    I am filled with so much love and appreciation for this article and everyone who has posted here. You helped me see clearly the separation of the written word and The Word, Jesus. How one can be a crutch and a weapon if used without the Spirit. Brother your words, ” I feel that COVERING should be our initial response to others rather than judgement. Knowing full well that “Mercy triumphs over judgement”.”….This is powerful! My past has been so judgmental of people and I want my future to be this. One of love and mercy, recognizing that it is me standing in the need of love and mercy and so much prayer! Blessings!

    • Ramma, I so appreciate your portion here as well as everyone elses. When the Body of Christ functions it allows us to see many different dimensions of the Truth in Love, and it brings us fresh revelation directly from the Head who is Christ. Thanks for sharing everyone!

  10. Cie permalink

    Hey Captain! A dear one shared your blog with me and that is how I found you. 🙂 You are still talking the same way you did many years ago, when you kind of put the Bible aside and became RAW. At that time, I was not ready to hear these words, but about a year or so now the Father has been pointing some things out to me about the Bible. And during this last month He has really begun to shake the old foundations of Bibliology in my life, and broken me through into life in His Spirit.

    I agree with most of what you say now, only I believe that the english translations of our Bibles are NOT inspired by God. I have just found too many things in it that contradict the Spirit of the Heavenly Father.

    “All Scripture God-breathed is useful for…” I believe THIS is the right way that verse should be read, omitting the first ‘is’. (That means the Holy Spirit will point out the words He inspired, and those are the ones that prove useful.)

    This realization of having a Bible whose translation cannot be trusted is comparable to skydiving without a parachute – it is absolutely essential to have faith in a LIVING Jesus in order not to crash.

    Unfortunately, many Christians do consider the Bible to be the equivalent to God Himself, and they will NOT (de)part from it, with a death-grip just as Charlton Heston would only let go of by his cold, dead hands.

    It seems the Lord is using different means and ways to get us to the same conclusion and finally to the Way, Life and Truth… which at last no one can MAN-ipulate.

    It is nice to see so many coming out into His freedom!

    • Welcome Cie, I never really put my bible aside, but what I do is say we need to view the bible via the lens of the Holy Spirit. We need to BE Spirit led in ALL things and NOT bible led.

Leave a Reply

