Skip to content

From Death Into Life Eternal

October 18, 2014

Greetings,

“Preach the Word; be prepared in season and out of season; correct, rebuke and encourage with great patience and careful instruction.”  2 Timothy 4: 2

“…….  “Death has been swallowed up in victory.  “Where, O death is your victory?  Where, O death is your sting?”  The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law.  But thanks be to God!  He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.”  1 Corinthians 15: 54-57

Thursday night just after 8 pm. I found the nice older lady who lives in the apartment below me cold and dead in her chair.  Her 20 something daughter came and got me when no one would answer her Mother’s door.  I helped her daughter break in through the bedroom window, but we were too late to help.

Claudia was a kind and generous soul.  She was my downstairs neighbor for over three years.  Until just recently we did not have a lot of conversations, but starting about a month ago we seemed to always check our mailboxes at the same time.  We normally did little more than exchange pleasantries, but 2 weeks ago I helped carry her groceries in from her car.  This led to her asking me if I wanted a glass of fresh lemonade and that led to our very first lengthy conversation.

We must have talked for about a half hour and then she asked me to help her exchange her oxygen tanks.  Claudia suffered from emphysema and I was glad to help.  She knew I was a follower of Jesus from our brief communications over the years, but in that very moment I felt the Lord nudge me to talk to her frankly about the Holy Spirit.  I told her I was familiar with breathing difficulties because I have had asthma in the past and my Mother had COPD before she died 13 years ago. Somehow (I don’t know how) that led to me explaining how the Spirit of Christ was like the breath of God and that the Wind of The Spirit could fill us and set us free in Christ.

Claudia’s face lit up as I was speaking the truth in love to her and after a few minutes she told me that she desired to have Jesus and the Spirit of Christ in her life.  In that very moment I felt the Spirit come upon her and she invited The Lord Jesus to take charge of her life.  At this point we were both in tears and I gave her a big hug and with a glad heart I welcomed her into the Body of Christ.  This was clearly an upper room experience for the both of us.

Now I sit here two weeks later and Claudia has passed on to be with Jesus forever.  Hard to believe for sure, but It seems that Claudia had been witnessing to her family and friends at great length during her last days on earth.  I am now fielding numerous questions about Jesus and the one true faith from Claudia’s family and friends.  To the point that I have given away all my bibles again.  What a very nice problem to have.  All of this just serves to prove that if you simply live your life for Jesus…HE will give you opportunities to share your faith in Him with neighbors and others along the way….no matter what season you find yourself in.  Jesus is REAL!  For over three years I was able to plant very small seeds in Claudia’s heart and mind by just being available to Jesus during very small exchanges of pleasantries and by serving her once in awhile by helping her carry in her groceries.  In short, I was just being a good neighbor.  So I prayed for her and waited for the opportunity for our conversations to turn towards Christ.  Finally when she was ready so was I, and the rest is HIStory.

Love and….

Kirk Out !

p.s.  I would appreciate your prayers?  Finding Claudia cold and dead has triggered some flashbacks about finding my own Mother cold and dead 13 years ago.  So far I am coping pretty well, but these are tough memories.

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Ramma permalink

    Prayers for you and her family during this time. This is encouraging to keep being the person the Jesus made us to be. Be faithful to Him and He will be faithful to us when we need Him. Just yesterday I was at the park with my grandson and met a lady and her daughter. Before long we were sharing Jesus. I look forward to good relationship with her. Strength and wisdom each day to everyone here.

  2. Ramma permalink

    Danny has asked me to write to you and thank you, because he finds an encouragement through you and it humbles him.

  3. Thank you Ramma! And I appreciate Danny and the emails he has sent me.

  4. Cassandra permalink

    Prayers lifted for you dear friend. Your obedience to Christ and the prompts of the Holy spirit are an inspiration.

  5. Blessed are you that mourn, for you shall be comforted. What a blessing to rest in and obey Him.

  6. love ya brother…glad you could be there for them! prayers…

  7. "BK" permalink

    I remember the neighbor lady…just greeted her going in and out of your apartment. How wonderful her final days knew His peace. May we all be so in love with Him we can share Him as the best thing since sliced bread and not as a club and a threat. God bless you so much and may He continue to give you the answers for their questions….and more Bibles ROFL! Love, “BK”

  8. Very cool. Keep being available.

  9. Duane permalink

    Thanks for sharing. It is so important to be in the moment with Jesus and our surrounding. It is something that I am not very good with. Though I have talked to others about Jesus. I am not always sure how effective it was.

Leave a Reply

