Skip to content

Do Blogs Bear Fruit?

September 30, 2014

Greetings,

“Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.”  Proverbs 19: 21

When I began this whole blogging adventure just over three years ago I was pretty certain that the Lord was guiding me and that HE would bless my efforts.  Back then I didn’t fully understand what that blessing would look like, but looking back today I can clearly see that His hand was upon this odd endeavor right from the very beginning.  Jesus clearly told me right up front that all I ever have to do is to surrender to His Spirit’s leading day by day and simply write what I lived and what He laid on my heart and mind in the process of life.  So that is exactly what I have done.  In doing so I have shared about my walk with Jesus since He appeared to me at the age of four.  What I share here is a mixture of testimony and simple exhortation about how Christ has been with me every single day through both struggles and triumphs.  I have shared at great length about enduring and eventually overcoming horrific PTSD flashbacks of childhood rapes and sexual abuse.  I also used this blog to process and recover from the effects of a difficult divorce after a 30 year marriage that died due to the fallout from PTSD.  I have also shared my experience, strength and hope that have come from walking 37 years in simple, relational, organic home churches.

By far the most exciting and rewarding results from my blogging experience have been when God has used this blog to bring folks into a full and active relationship with Jesus.  Which brings me to yesterday.  Monday afternoon I was contacted by “Tina” a former teen client of mine from over 15 years ago.  She stumbled upon my blog site late last week and after reading a dozen or more of my blog offerings she felt compelled to call me hoping I was the same Christopher Kirk that was her addictions counselor all those years ago.  She told me she has been drug free for more than 12 years, but also that she has struggled with binge drinking occasionally over the past ten years.  I freely offered her counsel and support and 30 minutes later she was praying with me to fully surrender her life to Christ.  She told me she wanted the Jesus she found in my blog posts and not the “Jesus” that “churches” have tried to force down her throat for many years.  Her hearts desire is for relationship WITH Christ and NOT religion with little to no Christ at all.  She told me yesterday that she “rejects the comfortable bondage of religion and embraces the uneasy freedom found in Christ alone.”

Please pray for “Tina”?  She is a single Mom of three children and she is in need of authentic love, nurture and fellowship in her area.  She lives just under 2 hours from here, but I hope to visit her in the near future.  If I recall correctly “Tina” is the 11th or 12th person to come to Christ due in part to the influence of this blog.  To me there is no denying that the Lord is blessing this blog site and causing it to grow in more ways than one.

In the past few days at least a dozen people have reached out to encourage and thank me for my offerings here on this blog site.  I want to thank everyone who reads and, better yet, participates in my postings here.  To me there is a real sense of growth and community here.  I just love that Jesus has blessed many of us to go the extra mile to actually connect face to face with those we have met here.  People are coming to Jesus, being set free from institutional Christianity and developing real relationships because of this site.  Knowing that provides me with all the motivation I need to continue on this path.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. "BK" permalink

    Awesome, Christopher. Absolutely awesome! I will be praying for Tina. The same thing happened to us with some of the kids who used to meet with us at the Youth Outreach from the streets in Bellingham WA. 15 years down the pike they found us online and we started gathering again. They are a family now….in fact, you met them! I forgot 🙂 The seed is never wasted. NEVER! Rejoicing with you, “BK”

  2. Skylla Moon permalink

    Praying for sister Tina. We will all meet face to face one day.

  3. Ramma permalink

    Amen! This is amazingly awesome! Praise Him, for His love is so real. Welcome to the body of Christ Jesus. Praying for you Tina as you forward in new life. Blessings always

  4. Pam Smith permalink

    This is awesome Chris. There is always a reason, or multiple reasons God calls us to do something. We will be praying for Tina, and we continue to pray for you and relationships this blog brings about.

Leave a Reply

