Skip to content

HUGE Grace

September 28, 2014

Greetings,

“When you were dead in your sins and in the uncircumcision of your sinful nature, God made you alive with Christ.  He forgave us all our sins, having canceled the written code, with its regulations, that was against us and that stood opposed to us; He took it away, nailing it to the cross.  And having disarmed the powers and authorities, He made a public spectacle of them, triumphing over them by the cross.”  Colossians 2: 13-15

Wow, very heavy words!  What struck me when reading this passage is that God made us alive with Christ even before we repented and believed in Him.  That just opens a huge can of theological worms, doesn’t it?  I mean while we were dead in our sins and all about our sinful nature, that is when He made us alive and saved us.  All of this occurred before we ever confessed and asked Him into our lives.  According to this passage the cross was triumphant in our lives even before we ever acknowledged Jesus as our Lord and savior.

Can it be that we were actually saved long before we ever knew it?  How does this passage fit in with Romans 10: 9 &10?  There it says that IF we confess and believe we will be saved.  However, God is not restricted by time, so maybe the order in which we confess doesn’t really matter.  I still feel that we need to acknowledge Him and the work that He did on the cross, but it seems that God had us firmly in the palm of His hand way before we did anything on our own accord to receive Him.

It seems to me that grace was given and applied before we ever had a clue as to who He really was.  His providence was in effect even before our cooperation was ever considered.  Don’t get me wrong I still feel we need to cooperate and work out our salvation with fear (a sense of awe and wonder) and trembling, but I will also say that the Grace of our Lord is immensely deeper and wider than almost any church has presented it in history.  My current beliefs fall a little short of fully endorsing the idea of Universal Reconciliation, but theologically, and socially my beliefs lean further left than they ever have.  I value relationship over doctrine any day.  Is that just because I am getting old, or is it yet another renewal of my heart and mind?  Either way I still say that Grace is HUGE and we are small.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

From → Uncategorized

18 Comments
  1. "BK" permalink

    Christopher, this was really beautiful. I shared it here with the Beeman family and we all so loved it. I did look up Romans 10:9-10 and found something interesting there. It doesn’t say to ‘confess your sins’ it says ‘confess the Lord Jesus’. Because I don’t believe ‘saved’ means ‘go to heaven’ but, rather is equivalent with ‘delivered’ it made alot of sense to me. When I confess Jesus is Lord and believe in His resurrection power I do find deliverance for any situation at any given time. Just my thoughts as I read those verses. Thanks and good night, bro, “BK”

  2. Yep, This love is unfathomable to one’s Human nature and is why there is such a struggle to what born again is and means. For by his death at the cross alone he redeemed, reconciled all to Father as if we are perfect,
    What does that do for we can’t be saved by death can we?
    right saved by the life, the resurrected life and who gives this? Father, so we need the whole cross, first that we are forgiven 100% it is finished completed for all.
    All that is left is to believe this that we are by Christ forgiven and delivered to Father to get this new life in Father in Spirit and truth, and so we thus walk as he walked in Spirit and truth.
    Our consciences purged from sin by the cross and the new life is included to us from God the Father
    And many do not see this, and so God begins this work of truth in each of us and grows us into maturity fro us all
    That is just what I see from what I believe god has done fro us giving us new life in God, being content in all things good or bad that happen, Counting all things a joy as James said
    Now that is a lot harder to see and do as said, that I know, still a work in progress, God has not given up on me, you or anyone

    • "BK" permalink

      “God has not given up on me, you or anyone”…..what a beautiful statement, Howard! Amen, brother. Another couple verses that roll through my head as I type are I Tim 4:10 “….He became the saviour of all men, especially them that believe.” Pondered that one for many a year before one day as I walked to work I felt like He said, “Yes, I am the Saviour of ALL men. The ‘especially’ are the ones who believe it and have begun to walk in all the life I gave them…..”. Then in Romans there’s one that says we are ‘heirs of God and joint-heirs with Chris if we suffer with Himt”. Again, I see that as saying we are all heirs of God and the ‘specially’ comes when we enter into suffering with Him. Just thoughts as I read your post. Love, “BK”

      • Anyone can deny Christ ,and Father, but Father and Son can’t deny himself, get it. Nothing can separate from Fathers love nothing
        Father has sent his spirit to tell us all truth to believe Father or not, make the conscious choice to believe be set free or not and remain stressed out or care free as to whether one harms their neighbor or not
        God is patient, very and wishes for not one to perish and that is love beyond measure

  3. Ramma permalink

    Wonderful message and thoughts. A question on 1 Tim 4:10…are you seeing that as all men are saved? Or, His salvation is for all men, but only those who believe will enter in? Blessings

  4. I feel that the text does indeed suggest that all are saved. I am still trying to wrap my heart and head around what that means.

    • I don’t think it means all are saved, all have the same potential to be saved if they will believe what he did at the cross was for all, leaving one thing left to believe or not and then get taught by Father where Father has made us Kings and Priests not to Lord it over anyone ever to serve everyone in the same Love and Mercy
      Read Revelations 1 and 2, the blessings there the meanings in there, and where it states we are made kings and Priests. All of ir as a whole is deep Brother as I know you desire to dig in deep/ God does though desire all to be saved yet won’t force it, for God loves us that God keeps his promise of free choice to us.
      so as we become responders forsaking be initiators, we are in proper place as the creation not the creator
      I pray this helps I know I am not easily understood as many of are this way

    • I see it as all are forgiven by Father through son Christ at the cross, not all are saved until they come to belief or not,
      Whether all do or not, all will know without any excuse their free choice to have chosen when that final day comes

  5. Ramma permalink

    If, just asking, if all are saved………then why would the God of the universe go to such dramatic lengths for His children when He didn’t need to. There is then no point in Jesus coming, dying, resurrecting, etc…Then there is no Holy Spirit that dwells in me giving me comfort , direction, peace everyday. (I know that is not the truth)The next step after that then is to stop believing in Jesus as the Son of God or in any Diety at all. I would not want to be walking around in those shoes on that ground. All along He has said that He wanted to be our God and for us to hear His voice and be His people followed by all the promises that came along with that. In reality it makes our existence pretty worthless. I mean really. Is this the only verse in the entire Bible that says these same words? It needs to be confirmed by at least 2 scriptures, right?

    • "BK" permalink

      Good thoughts and questions, Ramma. I’ll try to give my take on that. I believe that the redemption of ALL humanity is exactly why God went thru such lengths….that this is exactly the point of Jesus coming. Salvation isn’t about going to heaven or hell; or going to heaven or not; but that here and now we can enjoy life and peace and comfort and direction. I don’t want to see the prostitute redeemed so she won’t go to hell, but so she can have LIFE NOW; peace now; see her worth and have the strength to be freed now. Same with the drug addict, the liar, the murderer. A few other ‘alls’ that I find is Romans 5 (all is good but especially 18 & 19); I Cor 15:22; and lastly Phil 2:10-11. Every knee, and to the glory of God the Father. I don’t see any more glory in a forced knee bowing by threat of hell than that of dedication to a husband by a wife who beats her. I am not saying there aren’t varying degrees of rewards, not sure how all those fit in, but I do sure believe He reconnected all. I don’t see that He asked my permission for the fall of Adam; nor did He ask my permission to reconcile me; it is my walk in between the beginning and how I arrive at the end where I find my choices enter in. I welcome discussion on this, not for my ‘chance to convince’ but for my chance to ‘see’. That’s just my portion for the table. Love, “BK”

    • Ramma permalink

      One more thought, Jesus said all can be forgiven except the saying aught against the Holy Spirit, it shall not be pardoned in this eon or that which is impending. These are Jesus on words. Not mine.

      • "BK" permalink

        The thing about this is while most of Christianity makes this an ‘eternal judgement’, I take it for what it states. It’s like when my kids were little they could have alot overlooked, but if they were caught in a lie they were going to be spanked and they knew it. I see this in the same light. If we blaspheme the Holy Spirit we’re going to get chastised….in this age and in the next. It’s serious and not going to be overlooked. I don’t read it as I’M NOT going to be forgiven, but IT will not be overlooked. His deliverance and forgiveness (no matter how one believes it comes) does not do away with chastening. Hoping that makes a little sense. Not trying to push anything here; I totally respect that each one needs to hear from the Lord themself and cling to that unless He shows something different. Love, “BK”

  6. Confirmation comes from God in the form of the Holy Spirit as in confirmation to you, to e, to all that believe Sister Romans 8:16 is right there fro our confirmation

  7. Ramma and all, My beliefs and thoughts on this matter are still very fluid and uncertain at the moment. Using the bible one can make a strong case for either way. So I have no choice but to trust God to sort out all the details for me whenever HE sees fit. In the meantime I am holding firm to HUGE Grace. A Grace so large and deep that it can envelop everyone no matter what they happen to believe about such topics.

  8. Ramma permalink

    Thank you all for your input and the “love” that I feel here to ask, express, and learn. I too embrace HUGE Grace, for without it we will never go any further than where we are. Just in this past week sharing with “BK” via email, and some of Howards comments and Chris, I received the understanding that I no longer “confess” my sins, I Confess Jesus as Lord! And that my Entreater/Advocate/ Jesus is 24/7 interceding on my behalf. It has taken me so long to understand that! I thank every one of you who takes the time to share. I also appreciate, Chris, that your blog is public and it’s open to anyone to read, comment, etc.

  9. So huge that

    Ephesians 3:16-18New International Version (NIV)

    16 I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, 17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ,

    This here is a huge loving merciful discussion and I am growing as I think you all are as well
    Thank you all for overlooking my mistakes and trusting god to straighten me out and just love as in this HUGE Grace
    Even John the Baptist said this before Christ went to the cross for us all:

    John 1:29New International Version (NIV)

    John Testifies About Jesus

    29 The next day John saw Jesus coming toward him and said, “Look, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world!

Leave a Reply

