Skip to content

The Absolute Number One Priority Of The Church?

September 8, 2014

Greetings,

“…. And now I will show you the most excellent way.  13 If I speak in the tongues[a] of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast,[b] but do not have love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. 11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. 12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”              First Corinthians 13

Last week when I was driving home from Janet’s place I was flipping through radio stations and landed on a John MacArthur program.  He is a famous preacher and he and the announcer were discussing the “absolute number one priority of the Church”.  Their claim was that the “teaching and preaching of the Word Of God” took total preeminence over anything else that the Church ever does.  As they were discussing this topic I felt very grieved in the Spirit and my heart was greatly saddened.

In that moment three things struck me pretty hard as to why what they asserted was such a lie from the enemy.  Since that moment I have prayed and sincerely pondered the magnitude of their complete lie and this is what was revealed to me.

Number one….  They perpetuated the myth that the bible is “the Word of God”.  The bible is a great book and I believe it to be God inspired and extremely beneficial to the life of every follower of Christ.  However, the bible NEVER, EVER claims to be “The Word of God.”  In fact the bible clearly states that Jesus is The Word of God and not a mere book about God and HIs will and ways.

Number two….  To elevate the “teaching and preaching” of the book to the very first priority of the Church places the Clergy ( Pastors, Preachers and Teachers) on the highest possible pedestal; totally re-enforcing that there is a human hierarchy and spiritual caste system in the Church.  It destroys the concept of true unity among all believers and the fact that we are ALL equal peer siblings in the Church.  And in a very real way it it affirms that those who deliver the message in Church are equal to or greater than even Jesus.  Think about it?  If their job is delivering the utmost important thing it by default makes them, and not Christ, the most important person in the Church.  Yikes!  No, make that major Yikes!  We in the simple, organic, home church crowd try to avoid this problem altogether by having free flowing conversations rather than sermons and monologue. 

Number three….  The flat out truth in love is that neither preaching, teaching or the bible are God’s priority.  Because LOVE and LOVE alone is the greatest and most excellent way.  The number one call of the Church is to LOVE God and LOVE one another and one another includes the “least of these” whoever they may be.  In the end only three things remain…FAITH, HOPE, AND LOVE, but the GREATEST of these is LOVE.  Giving ANYONE ANYTHING LESS THAN LOVE falls WAY short of God’s plan for us.  We are to always walk in LOVE and to LOVE is THE Greatest command that The Lord has ever given us and ever will.  Yes, I am very passionate about this and I often fall short of loving others as I should; but that does not negate this message.  If the Church at large fails at love is it really HIS Church to begin with?  THE ONE thing we utterly need to get right is loving others.  I need to end now and get on my face before Jesus.  For I cannot escape the conviction this has brought to my heart and mind.

Love and….

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

38 Comments
  1. Does this make it not easy for you to love the clergy? Fo we do know this: do we not?
    Luke 6:32New International Version (NIV)

    32 “If you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? Even sinners love those who love them.

    And do we understand this::

    Romans 14:4

    Who are you to judge someone else’s servant? To their own master, servants stand or fall. And they will stand, for the Lord is able to make them stand.

    Can we trust God to bring up God’s sheep, whether through you or someone else listening and is it not by the kindness of God that teaches mankind to say no to unrighteousness? So how do we be wise as a serpent and harmless as a dove?
    Matthew 10:16-20New International Version (NIV)

    16 “I am sending you out like sheep among wolves. Therefore be as shrewd as snakes and as innocent as doves. 17 Be on your guard; you will be handed over to the local councils and be flogged in the synagogues. 18 On my account you will be brought before governors and kings as witnesses to them and to the Gentiles. 19 But when they arrest you, do not worry about what to say or how to say it. At that time you will be given what to say, 20 for it will not be you speaking, but the Spirit of your Father speaking through you.

    I think God makes it simple top reach those God calls us to reach, right? I know what you speak about is truth, yet maybe you might need to learn how to handle it, I know I am learning cause I once was there with a problem with this that I was no good for God in love to tem, fro my own flesh got in the way. God teaching me how to get out of the way, and be ready as God leads to either be quiet in peace or not still in peace about it. Hope this helps brother

  2. I have no problem loving those sisters and brothers who have become Clergy. I have many dear friends trapped in that role. They need to be free from that bondage and I pray for them all the time.

    • Amen BK, absolute truth, and if the Clergy do believe, I know this God will not leave them in the way of not walking uprightly in God. As he has done for many. And that does not mean they need to leave the clergy, for God infiltrates every misuse of his word, to use it for God’s good to bring in the sheep. Seen it happen, God uses whatever mankind, throws at him towards his good. So I leave them alone unless God tells me to speak, and then I do as led, yet I need to know it is not me in the way, knowing that our warfare is not flesh and blood
      Ephesians 6:12Living Bible (TLB)

      12 For we are not fighting against people made of flesh and blood, but against persons without bodies—the evil rulers of the unseen world, those mighty satanic beings and great evil princes of darkness who rule this world; and against huge numbers of wicked spirits in the spirit world.

      • "BK" permalink

        Not sure I agree with whatever translation or paraphrase this is. I believe the principalities and powers in the heavenlies IS the hierarchy of the religion of Christianity. Of course God meets even the clergy where they are….He did me too. But that doesn’t mean He’ll leave them there. When the Spirit speaks to them to ‘come out of her’, hopefully they will respond…and even that is a process. And I don’t really believe in ‘absolute truth’ except for the Person Who is Truth, Jesus. The rest of it the Spirit must reveal and He’s good at changing, or enlightening or whatever you want to call when He leads us another step from where we were before.
        Love, “BK”

    • Amen Kirk, please watch out for your anger over this issue to not get in the way and be convinced it is not in the way
      For I see you think by what I have said that I think you don’t love them, and that thought is from the enemy in high places as I posted earlier Eph. chapter 6:12. It is not between others and you or you and others, it is the enemy that knows how to inject thoughts that misinterpret other brothers and Sisters as was injected to those of Christ’s day, Crucify him. Only to the Devils demise, at the resurrected Christ.
      God will do the drawing of others in God’s timing through God’s love to all, you think.
      And the evil has gotten you so worried over these clergy you are not seeing through the forest the trees are blocking you
      I have hoped for you to see through this Kirk, that you are angst over this and are stepping on Father’s way and being self righteous over these others.
      Sorry Last warning, I do love you deeply.
      You are not yet healed over whatever happened to you, and have started a doctrine against others that you do not agree with, which makes you self-righteous, so now I leave it alone fro God to do what God needs to do, for you to know truth in know and get that board out of your own eye that you do not see
      I almost regret writing this to you as Paul did to the Corinthians, where he said wake up and grow up
      All in love to you Brother in Christ, for I know you do care, and that God has saved you, as well as many of the clergy toooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • Homewardbound, You are totally wrong in your judgement and evaluation of my feelings and heart in this matter. I am not angry at all, but full of sincere truth in love my brother. I know what your carnal mind thinks it sees, but the reality is that I hold no anger or malice towards anyone, including the Clergy.

      • CatherineS permalink

        Even said “in love,” that’s quite the condemnation of Kirk. What he shared in this post was discernment of a religious system that elevates a divisive hierarchy and positions in that hierarchy to the point of even overshadowing the very person of Christ. And I truly believe that is why the Holy Spirit was grieved in him. To hate the evil of the system, the division it causes, and the perpetuation of it does not mean Kirk is angry towards our brothers and sisters trapped in it. What I hear from him is sorrow and pity — and love — for those bound and blinded by that system.

      • I am not making judgment as to what Kirks motive is or is not, nor am I to that for the clergy, and those in it,
        If one gets too focused on this problem, evil arises from it as we see all over tis world, We are to be wise as serpents, and not forget to be harmless as doves Matt 10:16-20 Discernment very important, and clarity is as well just as important, picking a scab does not necessarily heal the sore. In face usually gets infected, so e careful not to be infected over the Churches and the clergy, and not love or at least your Spirit shows you are angry, and can’t reach them because of this angst in the way. I can talk to my Dog in loving words yelling at my dog at the same time and he cowers and wants to run away. And I can say hateful words with a loving Spirit behind it and the Dog is ready. get it? I pray. And not accusing anyone of anything one way or the other, just sharing what I see that can get in the way and it is not flesh and blood that we war against

        Ephesians 6:12Authorized (King James) Version (AKJV)

        12 For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.

        These Spirits of error, work hard for us to misunderstand each other and take offenses to split us up
        Praying we all see past the pain

      • Catherine, thank you for properly discerning my heart and intent of my latest offering here. You are a dear sister to me. Love is the answer!

      • "BK" permalink

        I get the same reaction from people too. Let me say I have known Chris a loooong time and he is not angry and nothing happened to him. He simply sees the religious system for what it is and what the Scriptures say about it. Last warning??? For what? You have constantly over time told him he doesn’t love and he has given the same explanation every time. I don’t think it is he who is ‘stuck’….and no, I’m not angry either. Nor do I say what I do out of hurt or anger or ‘what they did to me’…..I see and therefore I speak. Love, “BK”

  3. "BK" permalink

    Amen to the ‘no problem’ with loving the brothers & sisters and still seeing the system of Christianity for what it is. An interesting note is the verses just ahead of “I will show you a more excellent way” is about apostles, prophets and giftings……yet love DEFINITELY supercedes this. “BK”

  4. Ramma permalink

    I will love them because I have to. My “gut instinct” tells me that most of them are reading the exact written word as we are, yet they refuse to walk away. Because of position, power, lust, greed, etc, etc. That alone is like a knife to my soul. They want everyone to stay ignorant of the true Word, because LOVE CHANGES EVERYTHING! And true LOVE (Jesus), goes wherever the door is open. On my face before God with you brother. LOVE is such a huge responsibility, but such a fullfilling one. Blessings

    • And holding none to you or anyone, and so you know what is so, I do not hat is between God and you, for God has blessed us all in God’s way through Son has God not?

      Love you f\or nothing can separate us from the Love of God that God has for us by Son’s finished work at the cross for us all

  5. David permalink

    Amen and amen to this post brother!

  6. Ramma permalink

    Homeward? Are you clergy? Is that why every time it is mentioned you go to bat? I’ve observed that every single time it”s brought up. If so, why do you still come here if you disagree so much? You will never change Chris or anyone else in here who have been to hell and back, due to heretical clergy, etc. Once a persons eyes are opened, you will never get them back. All said in the same “love” that you extend to Chris. Blessings

    • I am not trying to change anyone, only God can do that, and no I am not a clergy in a Church building, I do not attend Church here on the earth, for God’s Tabernacle is not here on the earth, it is in heaven in spirit and truth, the one God pitched not man. To each their own, if you Christ or anyone wants me not to post here just say so.

      Nor am I making judgments, I am just saying this:
      Romans 14:4New International Version (NIV)

      4 Who are you to judge someone else’s servant? To their own master, servants stand or fall. And they will stand, for the Lord is able to make them stand.

      And I am so sorry you all or some of you are listening to:
      Ephesians 6:12New International Version (NIV)

      12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.

      And you all ay say you are not condemning but you are, I see this clear, no matter what way it is sliced diced or cubed to look like it is not

      Romans 8:1New International Version (NIV)

      Life Through the Spirit

      8 Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus,

      So please tell are you and the rest here more righteous than anyone else or just those you agree with
      Go ahead and kick me out, I just love you all anyway, as well as the Clergy or not?
      Does not God love all. or just a select few as this group is coming to show as if you are more special than others, when from God’s view there is no respect of persons

      • Homewardbound? Do you have a name? No one is kicking anyone out of anything. Your portion is welcome here, but the Body here does not agree with the accusations you are making. Yes God loves everyone and no one here is in a self-righteousness contest. YOu have made your point repeatedly, but no one finds agreement with what you have said here today. You are not beating a dead horse, you are beating an invisible one because no one here is guilty of what you claim.

      • So sorry you misunderstand anything said as accusation, I am not the Judge, nor have I accused only warned as you are by your posts about the clergy,
        Romans 2 New International Version (NIV)

        God’s Righteous Judgment

        2 You, therefore, have no excuse, you who pass judgment on someone else, for at whatever point you judge another, you are condemning yourself, because you who pass judgment do the same things. 2 Now we know that God’s judgment against those who do such things is based on truth. 3 So when you, a mere human being, pass judgment on them and yet do the same things, do you think you will escape God’s judgment? 4 Or do you show contempt for the riches of his kindness, forbearance and patience, not realizing that God’s kindness is intended to lead you to repentance?

        Please read carefully, I am just a caring person for all peoples, everywhere and am glad for Christ to be preached, and as Paul said he does not care whether others agree or not, God does just love all, and there is no more or less to that
        Just love Brother, just love and see clearly as since you are God’s as you say you are then God will cause you to stand, Love you deeper that he Mississippi, as God does

        Ephesians 3:16-18New International Version (NIV)

        16 I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, 17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ,

        It is okay Brother we will just have to disagree to agree. Tell me is that why others left your fold, in your home Church, because you are right and others come close and you know best? Just curious if anyone leaves your fold as you mentioned did, are they left because they are not a part of you, as I am not.
        Love you Chris so deep, you, I or anyone else id not better than anyone else. so you want to call this Judging, I say I call a spade a spade, and you know this is true
        Bye for now. still just love you and you say to confront well here you go, you have been confronted and this is now on you, you, Let God be the judge, and straighten OUT WHICHEVER ONE OF US IS WRONG, I AM AT PEACE ARE YOU, AND YUOR FLOCK

        Just love you, and all

      • Ramma permalink

        One, you have no idea what I listen to or read. FYI, I have never read in the NIV, nor do I care to. You have “judged” me falsely. You have also said that we here are condemning….how so and when?
        Jesus said that HE ALONE is the Good Shepherd. Tell me why then would I need another to Shepherd over me? Isn’t the Lord and Savior, Lord and Savior over ALL THINGS also capable of teaching, leading, guiding, etc me in my life? How small will you make my Lord? Either HE IS GOD or He is not. And, if you really research the background of the writings, you will find an ulterior motive in much of it.
        The heavenly realms that you speak of are those who are set up in false religious systems, pretending to be from the Lord. While all the time they are being led and controlled by forces that we cannot even see with our own eyes. But, they are there nonetheless. The results speak for themselves.
        Every single time that people try to convince others of the need for leadership of the Body, they have an ulterior motive. Setting up their own kingdom for themselves, the money, lust, etc. You name it, they want it. Even those who say they love serving God’s people, shepherding them……yet they invested thousands of dollars into seminary school and they have a right to be paid for all of their labor. A Right? Isn’t eternal life enough?
        No one here even has a self-righteous spirit. Where in the world is that coming from? People here LOVE with Christ’s love, not human love. SIMPLE AND PURE. But, man cannot let it be SIMPLE AND PURE. It has to always be contaminated with one man’s doctrine or another. Sad, but true.
        I appreciate your input here and hope that you will continue without attack.

  7. Janet permalink

    Christopher, the message of love you share is beautiful and necessary! We can and should speak out against those who are “leading” in error. Was Jesus wrong to flip the money changers tables and start brandishing a whip? Could he still be angry BECAUSE of His great love for the ones under their yoke? Was Paul speaking with justifiable anger when Peter began to place those same yokes upon the new church? We CAN be angry in love, with justice. I agree our amazing Father can use our worst efforts, but that does not mean we are not to admonish and correct.

    • "BK" permalink

      Janet, this is very interesting, and true. Even the scripture tells us ‘be angry and sin not…let not the sun go down on your wrath”. Angry in love, with justice….that is very cool and real. Good words, “BK”

  8. Jack permalink

    “angry in love, with justice” And I’ve been persuaded over time that the goal of God’s justice is reconciliation. Which brings me back to LOVE.

    • "BK" permalink

      Amen, Jack. Jesus’ judgement is unto victory; whether judged to be not chastened, or chastened. Judgement/chastening is for yielding the peaceable fruit of righteousness in us. Love, “BK”

  9. Jack permalink

    Chris, great post today. Mind blowing. And really really challenging because my flesh doesn’t want to love. Thank God His plan is to change my heart to make me capable!!

  10. Love from God to all, and trusting god to work all out to god purpose fro God promised that. To anyone offended, was never meant that way. So I apologize, I do not believe in condemning anyone since God chose not to condemn me. And you all know God loves us all the same right, no respect of persons. Also consider this people works many hours a week to support their families and hardly enough time to spend to God in understanding God. So somewhat as in the First Testament their was a certain tribe, that was to not work, and was to give their all to God to raise up the people that worked and those that worked shared with those Levites for sharing with them what God had revealed to them.

    Even thought they messed up badly, And Christ came to live in us today, by His resurrection from Father to teach each of us. With the busyness of this world, people check choked out, and need to hear the word, whether the Clergy is doing it right or wrong is not the issue. I shall and do glory in Christ being Preached. Whether one leaves the Church in growth or not, God has accepted those that believe, and their is no getting higher that having new life in Spirit and truth with God for eternity
    So please be thankful Christ is preached?

    • Ramma permalink

      Homeward, you’ve touched my heart with your spirit of love and the message in the video is spot on! Thank you for sharing and know you are loved. Also. I no longer call myself a Christian, because I can’t live up to it. I am a follower, one being taught by the Spirit. Blessings to your day!

      • Amen Sister it is the hardest thing to love someone, when we don’t agree with their view on things, right or wrong, Yet for me as for that video, of that Lady, when God gets, and has got a hold of us, and we see our own depravity, we are undone. then when we see God’s love in forgiving us before we were ever born back at the cross, and receive we are forgiven in spite of whether we sin again or not, How can one Forgive to get forgiven anymore under Law?
        In place we forgive, because a response to God for forgiving us, that we can’t hold any wrong doing against anyone, nor talk bad about them, say what we feel and do not as much as possible stay at peace with them. The Gospel is for to bring love joy, peace and righteousness in through the Holy Spirit that we get on the very first day of belief.

        And no one who feels condemned, even if not meant to will see this kindness of God that is meant for us to become undone. God himself is bringing us all up into unity of God, one Faith one mind one lord, 1x1x1x1x1x1x1x1 continuously = one
        Amen to you Sister and all here on this Forum of yours Chris, that you started, and have never meant any harm to anyone. Hoping and praying we are growing together in this unfathomable love of Christ to all

        Oh and my Name is Howard Schultz on Google + Jesus Christ community another awesome inspirational sight for growth to all as well as here

  11. Thanks for sharing Howard. Great video!

  12. Ramma permalink

    Howard, are you the same Howard on Marc winters sight? Are you in Las Vegas?

    • Yes, that was me, not there anymore. Long story. I ended up Hospitalized with Foreigners Gang Greene. It is a urinary track infection that spreads through out the whole bodies muscles, and kills 93% of the people that ever get it. And if that 7% make it through surgery, they do not make for more than a year later. 5% survive. And out of those that do survive, many do not walk whole again, not to mention the mental effects of having limbs removed, that could not be saved from this disease

      Yes that is me, did we know each other, are you Ramma whom I met that started to go to work for Storage west?

      And of coarse all this that happened took every dime I had, and then some. And yet by God (do not know why) here I am. I told God I was ready to go home, anytime and yet never the less not my will, either way I was content to be either way. I screamed out loud to the Devil, evils of this world you can harm and kill the body, but you can’t touch the Soul, only God can.
      Anyway, Sister this has humbled me so low that I got to look up to see down

      Not in Las Vegas or Utah anymore, by God’s grace have landed in California through it all

  13. CatherineS permalink

    “Love isn’t a chore, it’s a revelation!” That IS a great video, Howard. Thanks for sharing it.

  14. Oh and that date that all this started was 11-2012, did go back to the Hospital twice right at the end of the first year, with it again

    • Ramma permalink

      Wow, Howard, thank you for being so open and humble. I can understand better your urgency for us to LOVE ALL, including clergy people. I am always so amazed at the exchange of “beauty for ashes” when the Lord manifests his moving in our lives. Most likely you would not be right here at this moment sharing, teaching, growing the way you are, if you had not went through and are still going through this situation. Bless you, bless you Brother!

      • Thank you, much, it is not easy to talk about, yet I see the worth in it, for I was well in like you and don’t like you, but I love you attitude, so I really didn’t love truthfully. That is now annihilated in me, and yet since I am in my old Flesh that now I consider dead, does have the ability to stick its ugly head out and tries to act as if it is righteous, when it is not. And that is the warfare in Eph. 6:12 to cause us to trip up, and be better or worse than others, and use excuses for saying things about others as that religious person, where two men went into the temple both to pray and one said basically how Holy he thought himself to be and the other cried oh Lord have Mercy on me
        Talk about being humbled as Paul who so well said it in 2 Cor. 12:7-10, I am undone. And today I get to live, in either Joy, thanking God for my dismemberment of supposed manhood. Or in depression from the enemy that tries to plant thoughts from the high places outside the realms of Heaven, to give up hearing you got dismembered and you weren’t even a bad person in that area, HA! HA! trying to get me to think God does not love me.
        When I know God does; no matter what, and that includes ALL People. No matter where anyone is at in their walk, messing up or not. For God is our teacher to teach us, not mankind anymore. So I have learned and am learning to take nothing as Doctrine except Christ died for us and rose again for us to give us new life by belief with God that simple. The way, the truth and the new life here and now in the resurrected Christ in Spirit and truth. The only way Father is worshiped is John 4:24

  15. Oh and please, no one feel sorrow for me ever, please God knows what God is allowing and doing forever, I do not , and if did then Faith in God would not be Faith would it? For God does work all things somehow together for God’s good, not mine not anyone else’s, How can he when we got the best blessing of all “life everlasting”

Leave a Reply

