Skip to content

The Joy Of Simply Being

September 4, 2014

Greetings,

Jesus said:

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”  Matthew 11: 28

The older I get the more I appreciate the rest and times of pause that the Lord grants us.  I need to be reminded at times to just slow down and enjoy His presence.  The world and the traditional “church” system is always pushing us to go, go, go, and do, do, do.  If we live at the pace that the world pushes on us it can be exhausting and burdensome.  Jesus wants us to slow down and simply BE the church, instead of always having to DO church-like things.

True Spirituality is about BEING in Christ and not about DOING things in Christ’s name.  We need to rest in Him and not be concerned about building ANYthing for Him.  There is no such thing as Kingdom building in the true church.  The Lord’s Kingdom already is built and prepared by Him and nothing we can DO can add to that fact.  We just need to enter into His rest and bear fruit by BEING in Him and not try to manufacture fruit by DOING things for Him.  True fruit is borne and it nourishes, while wax fruit is MANufactured, tastes bad and has no nutritional value.

Jesus applies zero pressure upon us to perform and make things happen.  No, we are to abide in Him, and by simply BEING in Him true fruit of the Spirit will be born through us.  Trying to make things, even Godly things, happen is counter-productive.

Did you ever notice how often the word “Selah” occurs in the Psalms?  It is in there a lot, and it means to pause, be refreshed and reflect.  It is about BEING still and knowing HE is God.  After all He created us to BE human Beings and NOT human’s doing.  HE who began a good work in us will complete it.  It is not about us DOING anything except surrendering and allowing Jesus to do good things in and through us.  ”The one who calls you is faithful and He will do it.”

Tomorrow I am going to hang out and chill with some other like minded believers.  I have no agenda whatsoever and I do not know what I am going to say or do when we gather.  I trust that Christ in me will take care of all that, and it should be that way in all of my life’s interactions. There is no need to stress and prepare whatever words or actions I may bring to any gathering or situation.  If I surrender to and abide in Him, His truth in love will just flow through me and accomplish whatever He intends to accomplish.  It is not my role or job to DO anything, except BE in The Spirit at all times.  Like my tee-shirts say, “Don’t Go To Church…BE The Church !”  We all need to stop striving and start BEING.  At least that is what is on my heart and mind today.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

 

 

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. jesuswithoutbaggage permalink

    In my earlier years I saw, and experienced, this pressure especially in the area of evangelism; it was important to witness constantly in order to ‘save’ as many as possible. Relationships were not so important–just delivering the salvation message and urging people to accept it. It impacted people negatively more than it did positively.

    I was told that I had the gift of evangelism, but I did not. What I had was a huge burden of obligation.

  2. Janet permalink

    Very cool Christopher. I didn’t know what Selah meant till you told me the other day. It is so much easier to rest in Him. And I’m all about rest! ( kinda lazy) I have to think about the statement about not building the kingdom. It’s a new thought for me. Do you have any verses to help me understand?

  3. Janet, every time Jesus speaks of the Kingdom of God it is about an ever present reality. “Seek first the Kingdom” Matt 6:20, “The Kingdom of God HAS COME near” ie..it is completed Kingdom, Mark 1: 15, “The Kingdom of God HAS COME with power.” Mark 9: 1, ‘The Kingdom of God belongs (right now) to little children’ Mark 10: 14. They were sent out to proclaim the Kingdom..Luke 9: 2, “The Kingdom of God HAS COME near,.” Luke 10: 11. “The Kingdom of God IS IN YOUR MIDST.” Luke 17: 21. At least that is the understanding that The Spirit has given me.

  4. "BK" permalink

    I found this wonderful….and interesting. The same day you posted this the Lord had spoke to Ken & I to forget our ‘schedule’ and slow down and appreciate His presence and people. He is in no hurry for us to get back to Washington. This blog, Chris, says it so well and was great confirmation for us.
    Janet, a verse that so touched me back when the Lord was bringing me out of being a pastor in the traditional sense was about building, but I think it still fits the picture of being opposite of MANufactured. It is in the Psalms “except THE LORD build the house….except THE LORD keep the city….”. I remember weeping as I realized it wasn’t up to me to build anything. It is HIS church, HE builds/grows it, not me. So simple now but so shocking back then. Thanks for your question as I’m gonna go take a look for myself now! Love, “BK”

  5. CatherineS permalink

    I’m loving the discussion here. The Lord used Matthew 11:28 and a chorus based on that verse (which I can still sing, although it was 40 years ago) to bring me to Him. It was also on my heart when He brought me out of the man-made institution to BE in Him and partake of His spiritual rest.

    • jesuswithoutbaggage permalink

      Catherine, can you tell me the title of the chorus you mention so I can look it up on Youtube? This is my favorite passage in the Bible.

      • CatherineS permalink

        Sorry, I almost forgot to reply. I don’t remember the title of the chorus but the lyrics are below (I’ve been humming this for days 🙂 ). Like I said, it was over 40 years ago. There are a number of nice songs based on this verse posted on YouTube, but I haven’t been able to find this one, so please post the link if you do:

        Come unto Me all ye who are weary, and I will give you rest.
        Come unto Me all ye who are weary, and I will give you rest.
        I am the lily of the valley.
        I am the bright morning star.
        I did not come to heal the perfect.
        I’ll take you just as you are.

      • jesuswithoutbaggage permalink

        Thank you Catherine, I really appreciate it. ~Tim

      • jesuswithoutbaggage permalink

        Also, I spent some time searching on YouTube, and I couldn’t find it either.

  6. Suzy Crees permalink

    Amen, Kirk. I could not have said it better.

Leave a Reply

