Skip to content

The Warrior Is A Child

August 19, 2014

Greetings,

“I waited patiently for the Lord; He turned to me and heard my cry.  He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; He set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.”  Psalm 40: 1-2

I am happy to report that I have had zero flashbacks since yesterday morning and my sleep has been void of any difficult dreams.  Special thanks to all who provided me with an immense prayer support base.  The messages and calls have been overwhelming in a most excellent manner.  Janet and those I fellowship with stepped up big time.  It sure looks like I have been spared from having a full blown PTSD episode.  Looks like I slipped a bit while emerging out of the pit that held me captive nearly 15 years.  So today I am very grateful that Jesus has placed me back on solid and firm ground.

Today I am reminded of how far I have really come this past year.  However, I also realize how fragile and vulnerable my recovery has been.  I am now keenly aware that I am like a small child learning to walk for the very first time.  I am a new Christopher forged and reshaped by HIS fire and hands.  For 15 years Jesus has been cleansing my heart and mind from the brutal memories of my childhood and repurposing my very being to be well fit in the Body of Christ.  It will take time for me to get emotionally 100% up to speed, but now I am well on my way to be whole, complete and mature again.  

Yesterday a dear friend sent me a link to the song “The Warrior Is A Child” by Twila Paris and many times over the last 30 years I have been told that this song is for me.  I think it fits me well even more so today than in years past.  Sure I may be big, strong, bold and tough, but on the inside I am just my Father’s innocent fragile child.  Today I post these lyrics and following them I will post a link so you can hear the song.

The Warrior Is A Child By Twila Paris:

Lately I’ve been winning battles left and right

But even winners can get wounded in the fight

People say that I’m amazing
Strong beyond my years
But they don’t see inside of me
I’m hiding all the tears
And they don’t know that I go running home when I fall down
They don’t know who picks me up when no one is around
I drop my sword and cry for just a while
‘Cause deep inside this armor
The warrior is a child
Unafraid because His armor is the best
But even soldiers need a quiet place to rest
People say that I’m amazing
Never face retreat
But they don’t see the enemies
That lay me at His feet
And they don’t know that I go running home when I fall down
They don’t know who picks me up when no one is around
I drop my sword and cry for just a while
‘Cause deep inside this armor
The warrior is a child
And they don’t know that I go running home when I fall down
They don’t know who picks me up when no one is around
I drop my sword and look up for a smile
‘Cause deep inside this armor
Deep inside this armor
Deep inside this armor
The warrior is a child

To hear the song go here:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRNFf3ykQvM

If the link did not work you can look it up and play it on youtube.

Love and …..

Kirk Out !

p.s.  On Monday we set a new record here with 1986 views.

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Glad you are well

  2. Cassandra permalink

    That was my theme song as a teen. I know every word by heart. That and My Father’s eyes.
    Thanks

  3. Judy baker permalink

    As I was reading this- the tears came from the broken hurt child (that is in all of us) in me and I felt her pain slowly ease…it was acknowledged – it was true -I love her – she did not deserve it – it was put in the past and The Lord hugged her n said he would never leave her – this song is for every abused child on earth- I will write it down n share with others. Gods word is for all of us. He knows every hair on our head n our most inward thoughts. We have a spiritual paradise today with Him. Our future is wonderful. He will fight all our battles. Gone is the pain from yesterday when we focus on Him.. Putting Him first..yes we will have problems health- money- situations – but they are all temporary. He can solve all our problems when we give them to Him and continue obeying n putting Him first.God is love. 1John 4:7. Rev 21:1-8

  4. Always liked that song, and now find myself listening to it again and adding to my MP3 list. Thanks for the reminder, and thank God for his continued healing in your – and our – lives. God bless you, brother.

  5. Ramma permalink

    Thank you so much for this message and the song just resonates to my soul. I couldn’t have said it better! Praising God for His Faithful deliverance once again#

  6. I love the song ” The Warrior is a Child” by Twila Paris, shes my favorite singer. You have done a good job again Mr. Chris. GOD bless and may He continue inspiring you to write and reach those people that needs teaching. 🙂

Leave a Reply

