Skip to content

Finding Jesus At McDonalds…. The Sequel

August 13, 2014

Greetings,

“For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”  2 Timothy 1: 7

I spent this last weekend in a cabin off of Torch lake in Northern Michigan with Janet and her girls.  The weather was fair and very cool for August, but we still had a great time in and out of the water.  The cabin had WiFi, but the signal was very poor.  So I would trek 5 miles each morning to McDonalds to check my email and maintain my blog.

One morning, it was Saturday or Sunday I can’t recall, (When camping I lose track of which day it is and when you are in love with a woman like Janet you can lose all track of time) the Lord led me into a very excellent and profitable conversation with a middle aged fellow named Doug.  I was very frustrated that morning because the WiFi reception there was very unreliable.  I guess I must have appeared to be frustrated because Doug came over to my table and sat down kitty-corner from me and asked me if I was alright.

Right then I internally said a quick prayer asking Jesus to guide and bless the conversation I was about to have.  We introduced ourselves and then Doug asked me what I was trying to do online.  I told him I had a blog I needed to maintain and that led him to ask what my blog was about.  I told him that it was about Jesus, The Body of Christ and how The Lord was helping me to overcome PTSD, related depression and other mental issues from childhood sexual abuse.

Doug did not respond at first, but on his face was an expression of shock and awe.  He then told me that he also suffered from mental health issues, but his experience with God and the “church” was “extremely” negative.  This led to a 45 minute discussion in which we both shared our stories.  The Holy Spirit definitely was moving strongly in both of our hearts and minds.  Doug told me that the Jesus that he has heard preached in “churches” was not at all like the loving and accepting Christ that I spoke of.  He went on to say that the other “Christians” he had encountered in and out of a “church” setting were all very cold and judgmental.  When he opened up and shared with them his emotional and mental struggles he NEVER got a supportive, accepting or loving response.  In fact they either said nothing and avoided further contact with him or they said he “must have” a demon.  A few offered prayer, but overall he was just judged, looked down upon and rejected.

At that point I asked him to stand up and I got up and gave him a bear hug.  I told him he was loved and totally accepted by Jesus and The True Body of Christ.  Then I spoke several minutes about the Love, Grace and total reconciliation that Christ has offered him and all mankind.  I also mentioned that Jesus was The Truth and that The Truth would set him free and help him to overcome and cope with whatever issues, mental and otherwise, he might have.  Right then Doug asked me to pray for him that he could be reconciled with Christ.  Of course I refused, but I did agree to pray WITH him and that he could go first in his own words.  It was a magical moment and the Spirit reigned supreme.

Before we parted ways Doug told me that he had never met anyone like me…so free and open about my mental health issues and how Christ and His Body had bridged every gap for me.  To which I replied by telling him that I had never met anyone like him either and that I was blessed to have him as a true brother now.

Jesus won this time, but often times HE doesn’t because the average “Christian” out there does not know bumpkiss about mental health issues or relating to someone who has such difficulties.  I feel that organic, simple, relational, home churches have a leg up on more traditional “churches” in this area because we encourage everyone to tell their story and participate in our gatherings.  We should be praying for everyone who slips through the cracks due to mental or other issues that the institutions can’t seem to relate to or welcome.

Love and….

Kirk Out !

p.s.  I have read that over 80% of all people will suffer from depression or other mental health issues at some time in their lives.  It takes a suicide of a famous person like Robin Williams to even pique our interest about such things I guess.  Fact is we are ALL called by Christ to love our brother, even if that brother has issues we are uncomfortable with.  Time to step up and BE THE CHURCH folks.  People are literally dying because of the churches total apathy in regards to this important issue.

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. Ramma permalink

    These have been great articles. One big problem is the people turn to”church” instead of turning to Jesus, see all the hypocrisy, lies, etc…and become even more disillusioned. I would rather not use the term “church” altogether and focus on our loving Savior. One on one I can look into the person’s eyes as nf with m uh earx really hesr if they have found the saving Grace in Jesus. Like Homeward said, I would rather continue with my infirmities/weakness and KNOW the Lord than to be completely healed and forget. Blessings.
    .

    • Ramma permalink

      Oh dear, Chris, you are right! I fat fingered terribly, so sorry! I was trying to catch up while baby was going to sleep, in the dark and typing too fast! Lol, it did almost look like tongues;). I was trying to say…one on one I can see in the persons eyes and I can hear with my heart if they have found the saving Grace in Jesus. My apologies for the mistakes.

      • "BK" permalink

        Giggle……I got a good chuckle out of it Ramma! 🙂 This post reminded me of three different people we have interacted with on our trip. Each time I told Ken I am so glad they are where fellowship flows because Babylon would destroy them. I have been reading through Jeremiah lately and have just entered 50, 51…..fortelling the destruction of Babylon. I am so thankful to know the systems of men will fall, and not hold captive ANY of those for whom Jesus died (which is all). Just the walls will fall, the people have been secured by our Lord’s death and resurrection.

        Anyway, the first was in Wellsville NY where we met with Catherine & the brothers & sisters there. One of the young men has FAS and is a bit challenged. But, wow, what a precious brother! Able to communicate and flow in the Spirit right along with the rest. Sure, a bit of patience is extended along the way but the freedom and health he exhibits can only come from parents and fellowship who let the Spirit flow and direct them. Then there was Christian in Chatham Ontario, age20. He has cerebral palsy, in a wheel chair, and speaking is difficult for him but you can understand him perfectly. He will tell you “People think I’m broken, but I’m not broken, I’m just how I am.” As we fellowshipped with him and his family his eyes just got brighter and brighter. Finally one morning he told me he was beginning to ‘see’. Because he does public speaking everyone believes he’s ‘called to do something GREAT….like be a pastor…..’. He said he had been watching and listening to us and sees the ‘greatest’ thing is to not strive for greatness or position but just reach out one by one (or a group if the Lord so arranges) along the way. So much more gets done than waiting for Babylon the GREAT to exalt you to destruction. And then there was Harlo who the Lord brought us along side to help get sobered up once again, get through the hangover and DT’s and get his feet under him. We were ‘delayed’ a couple week’s travel but to see him get steadied and walk on sober and knowing Jesus loves him was so worth it. I agree with Ramma….the word church or Christian carries so much baggage. I just call myself a follower of Jesus and marvel at what flowing free fellowship in His Spirit can accomplish! I thank Him for you, Christopher, love, “BK”

  2. "BK" permalink

    I forgot I wanted to include the verse in I John 1:7 “If we walk in the light as He is in the light, we have fellowship ONE WITH ANOTHER, and the blood of Jesus His Son cleanses us from every sin.” I believe Jesus’ shed blood at Calvary reconciled me to God, no doubt, but I believe the ‘blood’ mentioned in this verse is the Spirit that flows as the blood of God throughout His Body. When we fellowship and allow that flow, it carries away impurities from the body just like our natural red blood does in our natural body. In fact, it does it by carrying oxygen throughout. Oxygen….air…..the word for ‘Spirit’ is pneuma….air……flow Spirit, flow. Love, “BK”

  3. Ramma permalink

    Thank you so much for sharing BK. I see so much like you. It is a joyful yet overwhelming thing when our eyes start to really see. I appreciate you and Chris being willing to be so transparent about your life with its ups and downs. The testimonies that have come from your decision to follow Jesus are very uplifting. I hope someday we can also fellowship in person. Have a blessed day 🙂

    • "BK" permalink

      I hope so too. We will be coming across the US in another month or so; across Texas and Utah to California. If there’s a chance we could have a cup of coffee let me know! zbkzimmer@gmail.com
      Hoping “BK”

  4. Dyesebel barbecho permalink

    Its awesome that everyone you meet it tooks you by surprise and it only means that god is with you always….it is sad to think that there are many people didnt apply gods word in their life thats y they go in a wrong
    way…hope you will meet a lot and they will apply gods word in their life…god bless!!!

    • "BK" permalink

      Thank you! I receive that blessing from you. It is a privilege indeed to face to face. You are in the Phillipines? (I could be mistaken). Perhaps one day we can make a voyage there to meet you too. Your posts here are a blessing to me. “BK”

Leave a Reply

