Skip to content

Can Women Be Gifted To Serve And Lead In The Church?

August 1, 2014

Greetings,

“There was also a prophetess, Anna, the daughter of Phanuel, of the tribe of Asher.  She was very old; she had lived with her husband seven years after her marriage, and then was a widow until she was eighty four.  She never left the temple but worshiped night and day, fasting and praying.  Coming up to them at that very moment, she gave thanks to God and spoke about the child to all who were looking forward to the redemption of Jerusalem.”  Luke 2: 36-38

Here we have New Testament biblical evidence of a female prophet.    

“He (Apollos) began to speak boldly in the synagogue.  When Priscilla and Aquila heard him, they invited him to their home and explained to him the way of God more adequately.”  Acts 18: 26

“Greet Priscilla and Aquila, my fellow workers in Christ Jesus.  They risked their lives for me.  Not only I but all the churches of the Gentiles are grateful to them.”  Romans 16: 3-4

Right here in the text again, as plain as day, Priscilla taught and instructed Apollos in the ways of the Lord.  Paul also says right out front that Priscilla was his fellow worker in Christ Jesus.  The scriptural evidence points to this fact…Priscilla was a pastor/teacher.  I have also read somewhere that Priscilla might perhaps be the author of the book of Hebrews.

“Greet Andronicus and Junia, my relatives who have been in prison with me.  They are outstanding among the apostles, and they were in Christ before I was.”  Romans 16: 7

Right there in black and white is Junia…yes a female apostle.  Paul was in prison for sharing the Gospel and it is likely that Junia was there with him for the same reason.

To me it is extremely clear that God gifts, places and uses women to serve and lead in His Church.  This truth is confirmed both in scripture and also in my 36 years of serving Jesus in totally free and open, Spirit led, relational fellowships.  To me, if you deny women their God -given right to total equality in the Church, even in regards to that thing some call leadership… you sin against not only women, but also The Lord Himself.  Any hierarchy in the Church is wrong and sinful, including the one that always places men over women.

“You are all sons of God through faith in Christ Jesus, for all of you were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ.  There is neither Jew nor Greek, slave nor free, male nor female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.”  Galatians 3: 26-28

In Christ we are now all one.  This means we no longer are to be divided by nationality, working or social class,  gender or anything else.  To say one group is superior than another goes directly against our oneness in Him.  In Christ we are all equals and Jesus can use ANY one of us to lead whenever He desires.  Why disqualify 50% of the Body from service?  Because men only ministry is the tradition of most of the “church”.  It is one of the traditions that nullifies the Word and cripples the Body.  I strongly believe in following those who follow the Lord, even if that person is a woman.  I thank God for female leaders in my life.  I would not be who I am in Christ without them.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

P.s. Everyone shares, serves and leads in our relational fellowships..so this is rarely an issue among us.

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Ramma permalink

    The teaching of women being below men, etc is so ingrained in me, (a woman ), that it is hard for me to wrap my head around it, even when I can see it clearly. I know when I’m being used by God for certain purposes and when I’m not. It is quite humbling when I recognize Him in my life. I just know that if anyone builds anything other than Christ Jesus, it will be torn down and cast into the fire. Jesus also said, we will be known by our fruits. Observe who and where you are and if it is not good fruit….turn and run as fast as you can. Then TRUST GOD to direct your footsteps the rest of your life. He has promised to do so. Blessings

  2. Having systems and hierarchical rules is a part of how we try to control the world around us and to put God in a box so that He can no longer surprise us. Male hierarchy is more a symptom, in my opinion, of male insecurity and the need to maintain a sense of power and control. It allows us, to discount more than 50% of the population and not have to be bothered with listening, learning or thinking. It’s just becomes a circular filter that lets us keep things simpler.

    What’s sad is that it in effect tells God that we have no interest in learning from Him when he chooses to work through women.

    I’m done with that.

  3. Thanks Kirk for this non-religious post. I believe that if a man or woman is a lover of the truth, they will not be picky about who God uses to speak it, whether male or female. God even uses children! Those who have objections to women speaking the truth have objections to the truth itself, and gender is an excuse to not receive. On the other hand, there are inherent emotional differences between the sexes, with tendencies leaning towards opposite poles at times. I do believe one should be careful to not idolize or fall into the snare of blindly following any person based on their more than often speaking of the truth. We all have frailties and are not on our spiritual best at times, our own flesh getting in the way. It is no worse to follow a man too closely than it is to follow a woman. Let us all speak the truth in love and carefully discern whether the words spoken come from God or the flesh. While allowing the working of the Lord throughout the Body of Christ, let the Holy Ghost be our most intimate teacher.

  4. I think any one of us are called to serve in the best way He sees fit

  5. "BK" permalink

    The verse in Galatians is most generally used to show how women can be used by God as well as men; to kind of justify that. One day as I read it I realized it says this “there is neither MALE OR FEMALE…..”. Hmmmmmm, that kind of got my attention. It isn’t saying ‘women have a place’, it’s saying NEITHER ONE DO! ROFL! Because in the Spirit there is neither gender; just Spirit. Brought a smile to my face. Another great thread, thanks to all, “BK”

Leave a Reply

