Skip to content

On Becoming All Things To All “Men”…..

July 20, 2014

Greetings,

“Though I am free and belong to no man, I make myself a slave to everyone, to win as many as possible.  To the Jews I became like a Jew, to win the Jews.  To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law), so as to win those under the law.  To those not having the law I became like one not having the law (though I am not free from God’s law but am under Christ’s law), so as to win those not having the law.  To the weak I became weak, to win the weak.  I have become all things to all men so that by all possible means I might save some.”  1 Corinthians 9: 19-22

When we gathered for free and open home fellowship today a dear sister suggested that we look into these verses together.  We then spent over an hour discussing this passage and what we collectively saw in it.  The discussion was lively, very deep and even included some gems of wisdom from a 14 year old.  As we wrestled with Paul’s words together it became abundantly clear to us that it is very important that we remain flexible in the hands of God.  That God may want us to go to various extremes in order to reach others with the message of grace, truth and love.

We agreed that our approach to conveying His message may vary greatly from person to person and that a cookie cutter application of the Gospel will rarely, if ever, work.  Our study also reaffirmed that winning others to Christ is a vitally important aspect of being an everyday Christ follower and that becoming all things to all men is something Jesus still wants us to do even in this day and age.  Everyone in the room freely admitted that they fell short of the ideal in this area, but we also all agreed that we would like to do better in the future.  Becoming weak or vulnerable for the sake of others takes some serious self denial and that is never easy, but neither is any calling from God.

Most of all we agreed that sensitivity to the leading of the Holy Spirit in each and every situation was key to reaching those yet to fully know Jesus.  All the bible verses in the world pale in comparison to a simple cup of cold water given in His name. Knowing the bible means nothing if you cannot reach out and literally touch someone with the truth in love.  Many times a simple hug or listening ear will speak volumes more than a clever bible quote.  Someone also pointed out that in every situation who God calls, He also equips.  Being an effective Christ follower is never confined by natural ability.  In fact it is always based on availability to His call rather than our human abilities and skills.

All in all it was a wonderful time in Christ together and to top it all off we feasted on roasted rosemary pork loin, garlic mashed potatoes, baked beans with mega bacon, deviled eggs, and an assorted fruit and cheese plate.  I feel sorry for those who only take communion with a tiny cracker and a thimble of juice, but I feel more sorry for those who only get to sit in rows and passively listen to a sermon/monologue instead of being able to participate in a Spirit led discussion whenever they gather.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. "BK" permalink

    Made my heart sing as I read this, Christopher! Reminded me of a time in my life where I had moved from Seattle about 75 miles north to help a brother I had met (I was still churched at that time but felt I was ‘outside’ Babylon because of my superiour knowledge….grin). He had said he was going to resign from the organization he was in, in order to follow the Lord. So, his organization find out I’m there and they give him an ultimatum that he gets rid of ‘that’ woman, or they will withdraw his support for his new (older) building. If he got rid of me, he got a bonus of $5,000 (laughing at the memory). So, he goes off to fast and pray; and I’m a bit panicked. “Lord! I thought he was leaving ‘Babylon’! What am I going to do if he doesn’t leave? I can’t lend my strength to build THAT”. So, the Lord tells me, “If he doesn’t leave, just be a Daniel in Babylon.” “Huh?????” “Daniel raised to 2nd in command in the kingdom; doing all he could to help the king; only deferring if it transgressed My Spirit in him. You do the same. Help him; lead worship; WALK along side and only make your stand if he wants you to transgress the things I have placed in your heart…and then make your stand respectfully.” End of story, is he did leave the organization and we walked together in the Lord for many years after that before the Lord began to again move me on in my journey ‘out’. All things to all people…..yeah, it can be quite the challenge! Thanks for the fun memory! “BK”

  2. Ramma permalink

    Great article! It is so not the way a religous bodies today. This is what I like the most about your writings. You are about winning soils to Christ, not about how much law, or philosophies can I shove down someones throat. You share methods that have worked for you and they are helpful when people come into our day and we can use these thoughts and ideas to become a Light for them to see Jesus. God’s richest blessings always.

Leave a Reply

