Skip to content

When Jesus Calls

July 6, 2014

Greetings,

“As Jesus was walking beside the Sea of Galilee, He saw two brothers, Simon called Peter and his brother Andrew.  They were casting a net into the lake, for they were fishermen.  ”Come, follow me,” Jesus said, “and I will make you fishers of men.”  At once they left their nets and followed Him.  Going on from there, He saw two other brothers, James son of Zebedee and his brother John.  They were in a boat with their father Zebedee, preparing their nets.  Jesus called them, and immediately they left the boat and their father and followed Him.”  Matthew 4: 18-22

Just a short and simple blog today.  What I see in this passage is that when Jesus calls our response needs to be “immediate” and “at once”.  It doesn’t matter what we are doing at the time or who is with us.  When Jesus speaks to us we need to drop everything else we are doing and respond to Him in that very moment.

I have to admit that I am not always good at responding exactly when He calls.  Sometimes I am far to involved in what I am doing and I choose to put Jesus on hold.  Not a smart thing to do, but I am willing to admit it and work on changing my ways.

 I really should know better because there have been many times when I did respond in the moment that He called to me.  Then later the circumstances confirmed that I made the right choice.  There have been several times that while driving I heard Jesus tell me to “Turn right now” or to “take another route”, only later to find out that there had been a terrible accident on the road I was taking before He spoke.  It may sound too simple or spooky Spiritual, but this is really the way He works in our lives at times.

I have learned through experience to respond immediately to His voice, even though what He says may seem insignificant in that moment.  I have told this story before, but I think it really fits here right now too.  While I was in college after a Resurrection Band concert I had promoted that night I made a food run for the guys who helped haul equipment.  I was in the Burger King drive thru waiting to order 5 whopper meals when Jesus spoke to me and said order a 6th meal.  It was only four bucks more so I did so and was obedient, not knowing why The Lord wanted me to change the order.  When I got back to the dorm I set the 6th meal up on top of the bunk bed while the five of us ate ours.  Five minutes later a guy named Tim stuck his head in the room and jokingly asked where his meal was and I was able to point to the top bunk and say, “it’s right up there.”  He ended up eating with us and when the conversation turned to the Lord, 20 minutes later Tim asked Jesus to be his Lord and Savior.  That’s right, because I was obedient to His voice at the BK drive thru somebody got saved.

It is very important that we are faithful in the small and seemingly insignificant things.  Because ” We know that in ALL things God works for the good of those who love Him.” ( Romans 8)  EVERYTHING MATTERS!  We need to practice and learn to hear His voice because He doesn’t always shout or put it up on a billboard.  Responding to His voice in a timely manner could mean the difference between life and death.  ”His sheep hear His voice and obey.”  We need to always be open and available to Him whenever He calls.

Love and ….

Kirk Out !

P.s. I guess it turned out not so short or simple

P.s.s.  I am tent camping with BK and Ken Zimmer for a few days and only have the internet at McDonalds.  Jesus blessed our very first gathering at Janet’s home last night.  Such amazing things are happening in our lives right now.  Folks in NY state want us to help them grow organically rather than the traditional route of buying a building and having “church” as usual.MOre on that later.

 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. I loved your message and so agree with how His voice is much more present than we often realize. While preparing for a presentation “Willing To Be A Fool For God” – YouTube: James Henmanphd, God gave me three signals to help recognize when it’s Him in those moments. I think you might enjoy the relational nuggets, as you seem to also be willing to be a fool for Him. What an amazing adventure!

    The three signals that must be present for me to let Him take the wheel at a given moment are:
    1. Does it contradict Scripture?
    2. Does it reflect God’s Nature and Style?
    3. Does it have a Lantern view that is true for all, with no double-standards?

    If these are present, I’m good to go (imperfectly).

    Thanks for your sharing on your blog, He uses you!
    Jim

Leave a Reply

