Skip to content

Overflow

June 26, 2014

Greetings,

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.  For just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives, so also through Christ our comfort overflows.  If we are distressed, it is for your comfort and salvation; if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which produces in you patient endurance of the same sufferings  we suffer.  And our hope for you is firm, because we know that just as you share in our sufferings, so also you share in our comfort.”  2 Corinthians 1: 3-7

This passage makes it very clear and confirms unto me that any real ministry and comfort only take place when our lives are subject to the same sufferings as those that we are attempting to serve must endure on a daily basis.  In other words if we want to be effective ministers we must be submerged in the culture and pain that others live in continually.  To be totally honest I think that most short term missions trips are pretty bogus.  In fact our whole lives are supposed to be an ongoing missions trip.  If you want to reach someone with the Gospel then you must live where they live, eat what they eat, work like they work, suffer what they suffer, and celebrate what they celebrate.  The only real way to serve is from WITHIN a group of people, and NOT from above them.  That is why the whole Clergy/Laity thing is bullshit.  The most effective way to make disciples is eye to eye, shoulder to shoulder, heart to heart, hip to hip and knee to knee, and NEVER from the top down.

True ministry involves a total devotion to those that we serve; starting with Jesus.  When we serve like this we meet others needs out of the overflow of comfort and grace from our lives.  We can extend grace and healing because we have experienced it first hand and not because we read it in any book, including the bible.   We can minister salvation to others because we have lived it in the very same environment as those who we would have receive it.  Sermons are nothing more than fancy words unless we live lives that back up those words to the utmost extent.

True fellowship and koinonia come from a shared life experience and not from any mission statement or plan.  If we would only be real about our struggles and shortcomings HE would put on display our overcoming of such obstacles to the benefit all those we share life with each day.  You want others to receive His grace and mercy?  Then just receive them yourself and then tell others just what it is like to know Him and His power.  The only way to make a difference in the lives of others is to allow Him to make such a difference in your life and then put you on display in their community.  I realize my words have been forceful today, but I am passionate about these things.

Love and….

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

 
From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Jessie barbecho permalink

    Its all true!!!It was wonderful message….mr.kirk keep it up…god bless you…

  2. Ramma permalink

    I think this is the message that God has been trying to get through to us these last couple of years. Our whole concept of what our service to the Lord is supposed to be has changed. We don’t necessarily look for a meeting time, but rather who is God bringing me into contact with today. It’s the little things, not the big….bringing 100 people to an altar in a “church setting”. Blessings

  3. Kirk, Brother, I came out of what I viewed as a legalistic Church, after I got caught up in it, in bondage, guilt overwhelmed me guilty beyond measure and couldn’t quit sinning, had this constant on my mind, constantly asking for forgiveness, never coming to the finality of the cross of Christ.

    So was it that place of worship, God, the devil, or plain and simply me?
    My reaction to what I heard others say and what I saw others do?

    Your blame is on others, specifically the Church, and bringing in those that have been harmed by them, as so what they view it as, it was not me, it was them over there and it was the woman you gave me Father, and it was the serpent. Man refuses to be accountable for how man react and acts over situations. So attitude Brother is key you think, you keep showing me and God knows truth that you are harmed by the traditional Church. And possibly not over this harm, I know I was for years, when got caught up under Law in that particular Church I was in and blamed them I did, until God showed me, I am accountable for my reactions, and am responsible.
    I am not saying this to attack, Brother, only to say truth from the view I have in the room, you are harmed deeply as I have been as well by life here on this earth. please stop segregated and making your self a target, for when clergy read this are you drawing them into God’s love? Or do you think you have Christ’s job that is finished
    I know I am a little harsh here, but I do love you and all including those in the Building, and just compassionate about it
    Love to you Brother from God tom all through Christ it i9s done finished, can we build off of this love to all?

  4. Homewardbound, I do not share what I share because I have been hurt or wounded. I share because the Spirit leads me to and out of sincere love. As always I will prayerfully consider what you have shared here also.

    • Cassandra permalink

      Actually Kris, according to what you just shared , you do speak out against institutional church because of hurt. And that ministers to others in the same boat. You can see eye to eye hip to hip and walk it out with them till they are out if the bondage of men.
      No worries. Go with God!

      • Ramma permalink

        Or friends, could this be coming from righteous indignation, as when Jesus drove the money changers out of the temple? What they were doing brought reproach on the name of the Lord. Just thinking out loud:). Blessings

  5. Jessie barbecho permalink

    What you write in your blog is like you are preaching in front of people there are some like it and there are somes not…all you want is encouraged people( which is really good) and i know god happy seeing you doing that..you have
    strong determination for encouraging people keep it up!!!!

Leave a Reply

