Skip to content

The Spirit Gives Life

June 22, 2014

Greetings,

Jesus said:

“I have testimony weightier than that of John.  For the very work that the Father has given me to finish, and which I am doing, testifies that the Father has sent me.  And the Father who sent me has Himself testified concerning me.  You have never heard His voice nor seen His form, nor does His word dwell in you, for you do not believe the one He sent.  You diligently study the Scriptures because you think that by them you possess eternal life.  These are the Scriptures that testify about me, yet you refuse to come to me to have life.”  John : 5: 36-40

Fact is that knowing and studying the scriptures and being able to quote and use them in arguments proves nothing.  You can know the whole bible from cover to cover and still not know or recognize Jesus for who He is.  Knowledge of the book does not automatically equate that you will know the truth in love either.

Jesus also said:

“I have much more to say to you, more than you can now bear.  But when He the Spirit of truth, comes, He will guide you into all truth.  He will not speak on His own; He will speak only what He hears, and He will tell you what is yet to come.”  John 16: 12-13

Do you want to know the truth?  If so you will need to yield to the Holy Spirit and follow His leading and teaching.  The bible is not our teacher, the Spirit is!  This is why I continually say that the Body of Christ is to be Spirit led, NOT bible led.  I have known a lot of people who thought they knew the bible, but had not Christ.  However, in reality they did not really know what the scriptures really meant because they did not have the Spirit to guide them through the text.  They knew every letter on every page, but there was no life in it; no Truth.

I have also known others who could barely read, but knew more about the Lord and His truth in love than the scholars did.  They knew because they surrendered to the leading of the Holy Spirit.  Knowing God has nothing to do with intellect and the amount one reads or studies.  If you love Him, you will obey Him and what He has told us to do according to the Spirit and the Word..is to follow the leading and teaching of His Spirit; in every area of our lives.  

The Spirit is superior to the bible in every way.  The voice of the Spirit is greater than the printed words contained in the bible.  If you desire life you will allow yourself to be filled with the Spirit and then listen to His voice over and above all that is written about Him in the book.  In fact it is best not to even pick up the book unless He is leading you to it.  Without the anointing of the Spirit the pages of the book are just dead letter……And the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life.

To be totally honest I read the bible a lot; more than about anyone I know.  I wear them out from cover to cover.  However, I only read what He leads me to, and when He leads me.  I am not anti-bible in any sense, but I refuse to elevate the bible to a place equal to, or greater than the Father, Son, or Spirit.  And when someone says that the bible is the Sole Authority in matters of faith and practice, I cringe because that means they have stripped God Himself of that role and given it to a mere book.  To take the created thing, the bible, and make it as great or greater than the Creator is nothing short of idolatry.  I love to read the bible, but I come to only Him to have eternal life and truth.

Love and….

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. Ken Blake permalink

    Brother Chris!
    My wife and I have read, shared, discussed, prayed about, and had the Holy Spirit confirm much of what you have been lead by His Spirit to share. We have not felt to respond as yet. However, not sure if this is a repost or fresh Manna! It has certainly spoken to my heart where we are at now in a timely fashion. Thank you for your obedience to Jesus and your encouragement to His sheep!!
    Love in Jesus,
    Ken & Carol Blake

  2. Cassandra permalink

    Kris, you know I believe in the guiding of the Holy Spirit as well.
    My concern is that this teaching is not balanced and that a young (immature) believer may see this as an easy escape from the perception that they MUST read the bible EVERY DAY.
    I have even heard preachers say they had read the bible so many times and had so much word “in them” that they could preach for months without studying and just being led.
    We need to emphasize that the Spirit will not lead you contrary to the scriptures. If you don’t know the scriptures you won’t be able to test the spirits.

    • Hi, Cassandra! While I do agree with Chris, I also agree with you that those of us who do know the Bible well (including Chris) don’t always suffer as much as those who don’t know it. I do believe, though, that it is fruit that is our testing agent that tests the spirits, not the Bible. While it is true the Spirit won’t lead contrary to the scriptures, It certainly has led me contrary to my PERCEPTION of them, thereby appearing to be ‘contrary’. Chris is right, the Spirit is the One that leads us into all truth. Just my thoughts…..and I certainly did appreciate yours, “BK”

      • Sorry folks, it seems that somehow BK’s computer still had me signed in to wordpress. The comment above is from BK and not me. I think we have the problem fixed now too.

      • Janet permalink

        Thank you Bk, I was trying to think of how to say what you just said about our perception or in addition, how we’ve been taught, to believe about the scripture. My heart has been at odds many times about some controversial topics that seem clear in our bibles. I’ve prayed and asked for guidance and have let go of some of the legalistic grasping of those words.

  3. On a search as like in the California gold rush days, separating fools gold from real gold. I appreciate all, on all sights, grabbing the gold nuggets left from others and taking them to the hidden man of my heart, and learn from all, and not to condemn any, Seeing how God gave and gives unmerited favor, and holds nothing against us. that is the biggest gold nugget I am today seeing, it is amazing how God can do this for all,
    Thank you Jesus for listening and doing what needed to be done for us all. so now Father I ask for you to teach us this new life and for us to all listen and do as well,
    Not fight and devour one another as pointed out in Corinthians, how they needed to mature, Father mature us please. And I thank you, knowing you heard and will for this is your purpose for us all to truly love one another

  4. Wonderful post. Keep going, brother. Christianity has been quite deceived because it’s used the carnal mind and been ignorant of the spirit. Thanks for sharing this.

  5. Jessie barbecho permalink

    Incredible post mr.kirk the holy spirit always guides you as you think what your going to write…keep it up!!!

  6. Cassandra permalink

    BK , to test the fruit means you have to wait for it to rippen. If one can see the danger before the fruit because of Scripture then oughten they stay away from the wicked seed? We don’t have to say ” the spirit of God lead me to take a second wife” and wait for the fruit to mature. It’s wrong according to scriptures and one would have to twist the written word severely to make it right.
    I do trust God to speak to me with scriptures in real time according to what I am going through. But the argument of “my perception” is a foggy road at best.

  7. "BK" permalink

    We really aren’t so far apart. I trust God to speak to me with scriptures also; speaking through the Spirit. And I trust the Spirit to speak to me, apart from the Scriptures. It’s true waiting for fruit to ripen does take time, but that is what Jesus said we have. As I said, many things the Spirit spoke were against the scriptures as I knew them but the fruit proved out to be life. I wouldn’t want to challenge how you hear the Spirit; I just know It has proven my perception to be in error along the way, not foggy in my case. I’m not trying to make this personal on your own walk, just putting on the table that Jesus said by the fruit we would know; and that He said it is the Spirit that leads into truth, not the written word. Like Chris, I LOVE the Bible but I don’t equate it to the Father, Son or Spirit. Love, “BK”

  8. Ramma permalink

    I fully believe this writing. Where the spirit is, there is life. I will stsy on the living side. Blessings

Leave a Reply

