Skip to content

Are We Free In Christ Or Controlled by “Men”?

June 16, 2014

Greetings,

“Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.”  2 Corinthians 3: 17

“What then shall we say, brothers?  When you come together, EVERYONE has a hymn, or a word of instruction, a revelation, a tongue, an interpretation, or something important to share.  All of these MUST be done for the strengthening of the church.”    1 Corinthians 14: 26 paraphrase with added emphasis

Whenever your “church” gathers is your coming together open, free and Spirit led; or is everything you do predetermined by a Pastor or worship leader?  Do you follow a set in stone liturgy or order of service or are you all free to flow in the Holy Spirit and share as the Spirit leads?  I bring this up because the vast majority of “church” services are led and controlled by “men”.  It is extremely rare to find a “church” gathering that is totally open, free and Spirit led.  I say that having a preset, designed by “men,” order of “worship” with little to no flexibility violates the leading of the Spirit and the Lordship Of Christ.

In Jesus we are all individually created to be free and Spirit led in all of life.  I also contend that our corporate gatherings as the church are supposed to be totally free and Spirit led.  Having preset scripture readings, songs, and sermons by predetermined ministers flies in direct opposition of the will of Christ for His Body.  After all church is meant for face to face dialogue, interaction and fellowship; and not some big production or show.  EVERYONE gathered is meant to have the opportunity to share something significant with the rest of the church.  Having every portion of a Jesus gathering scripted ahead of time is definitely opposed to being Spirit led moment by moment.

Yes, I am a huge believer in Spirit led spontaneity.  However, I also believe there are times that the Spirit leads us to prepare for some situations ahead of time.  The key is our willingness to be redirected at any given moment by the Spirit.  If we are not entirely flexible with how, what and where we share; we could miss out on His good, perfect and pleasant will for us and those who we gather with.  The church was never intended to have cookie cutter gatherings with set in stone presentations. No, we should instead always surrender to the leading and flow of the Holy Spirit.  

Many are now likely thinking that what I suggest is a gathering full of chaos.  Nothing could be farther from the truth.  I have been gathering in a totally open and free, Spirit led manner with others for over 35 years now and I have NEVER witnessed a Spirit led gathering fall apart into total chaos.  The Spirit is fully capable of leading and redirecting gatherings where every member can share what is on their heart with the rest of the Body in a free and open manner.  When we gather in Christ’s name our meetings ought to be free and not controlled, open and not closed, Spirit and not “man” Led.  Anything less than total freedom in Christ falls WAY short of God’s ideal for His Body.  As always there are two distinct choices we can make…. we can either choose God’s way or “man’s way?  As for me I follow Jesus and no other “man”.  Choose wisely my friends.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

 

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Curious, Brother, what do you suggest one does? leave the Church? Would or does God call one and many to stay there, in the supposed Church as you are trying to reveal

    And please as well tell me where is the true Church right now at? I realize I can worship anywhere at anytime between God and I as well as anyone else has this same access, thanks to Jesus the Christ.
    Have you been harmed by the Church, it seems so, so I ask in Love to you? I remember when I was harmed as I thought was harmed by the Church. When it was me that allowed error in me and I am accountable for that.
    I saw to stop running and hiding and blaming others for my errors. Even if others deserve to be blamed,
    Nahum 1:2
    God is jealous, and the Lord revengeth; the Lord revengeth, and is furious; the Lord will take vengeance on his adversaries, and he reserveth wrath for his enemies.

    I saw to fear the Lord reverently, not fleshly and to not attack others, for much gossip comes from that and these derail these over there, Is that good, is that Spirit lead from God?
    Just asking for you to check you in Spirit and truth, for what i am seeing is anger to the Churches of today, whether right or wrong from you, should this be?
    I see God chose not to condemn, Thank you Jesus. So I see how can i condemn others? I can tell others about God just love you, and pretty much leave it there for God to do God’s job in them and through them.
    I just see such a hard on, anger that can get out of control, and is waht I see causes separarations, when all those that believe God are
    1 Corinthians 12:13
    For by one Spirit are we all baptized into one body, whether we be Jews or Gentiles, whether we be bond or free; and have been all made to drink into one Spirit.

  2. I am not sharing out of anger or hurt my friend, but rather out of sorrow and sincere concern for my sisters and brothers still trapped within the walls of Babylon. I desire that all be set free to know and serve the Lord and one another in the freedom only Christ provides.

    • Awesome and amen, I see this as well, and been in there right where you are and saw how it beset me and got shown by Father through Son how I was communicating it not well.
      And am elated for your concern, just as Paul was concerned I see that now that you say this, so maybe add this to be clear and not cause arguments from the higher ups in Moses’s seat.
      For is not love from God, thew kindness that brings and brought us salvation
      Many times you do not mean to be condemning and yet you are in your words, and i see them, so I try to tell you without condemning you, since God decided to not condemn me, how can I ever condemn anyone?
      I love because God showed me God’s love, and you are ans have been shown, we are Brothers in Christ, for God has accepted us, even many in the traditional Church today, has God not? So please ask God between God and you for God’s full words and trust God as his disciple for:
      Matt. 10:16-20, this is for you and all who believe God, so verse 16 ask God are you being harmless as you are aware
      And thank you for telling what your motive is, yet watch out for your own flesh old nature getting in the way and be condemning to others as you are to the traditional Church, as you are not seeing, getting intensifried over it. Are you forgiven? Are they as well? So are forgiving them or lashing out, with the greatest of intentions, your own thinking it is of God, to condemn others.
      You forgave your Dad right, because you are forgiven right

      I only say all this Brother because I love you deeply

  3. I remember times at the church my grandfather was pastor. We had a weekly bulletin where a service “time line” was present. However so many times I remember either my grandfather or another member would stray from the program to say something they felt the Lord was tugging on their heart to say. No one ever said “no, not right now”. Even though we had a program to go with, it was a spirit led fellowship. When my grandfather had cancer he would still get up on the pulpit and begin his message and often someone would stand walk to the alter and begin a silent prayer for God to help my grandfather as he sees fit with the cancer. Again no one ever doubted or tried to stick to the written routine when the spirit led someone out of the routine. You could tell it was to be and others would follow, in their pew, at the alter or up by the puplit. A true spirit led fellowship is quite a glorious site.

    • Amen a thousand times over, and god uses all to bring us all in captivation to God through his amazing Mercy through Son. father is Faithful from day one of the fall
      Amen again

  4. Jessie barbecho permalink

    We are free in christ way that is why we have different churches and different names…. we are free to choose what church that suits on our beliefs…here, we are roman catholic we go church every sunday priest preach but just like that and it is a mans way coz we offer tithes every month…but depends on us if we apply what gods word he preach and do good to the people around us..i think god will be happy on that…have a wonderful night mr. kirk!!!!!

    • Believe God above everything else here in this world and go where think you led, and if not led here or there then this i know for a fact:
      Romans 14:4

      Authorized (King James) Version (AKJV)

      4 Who art thou that judgest another man’s servant? to his own master he standeth or falleth. Yea, he shall be holden up: for God is able to make him stand.

      So do you we believe God is faithful? I do

  5. Luke 7:50
    And he said to the woman, Thy faith hath saved thee; go in peace.

  6. Reblogged this on greenpaddock and commented:
    Praise The Lord! This is great.

Leave a Reply

