Skip to content

The Plow

May 27, 2014
Greetings,
 
“Still another said, “I will follow you Lord; but first let me go back and say goodbye to my family.”  Jesus replied, “No one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back is fit for service in the Kingdom of God.”  Luke 9: 61-62
 
Jesus is known for His hard sayings and this one ranks right up there, but what is Jesus really saying to us in this passage?  He says if we put our hand to the plow and look back we are not fit for the Kingdom. But what are we plowing?  I feel this speaks of plowing and preparing for service our very own hearts.
 
Hardness of heart keeps us from hearing and putting into practice what Jesus wants us to do and be.  A hard heart can separate us from His love and direction.  Jesus wants our hearts to be soft and able to receive, cultivate, and put into action Spiritual truths.  According to the parable of the Sower His seeds of truth do not grow and produce fruit on rocky and hard soil. (Matt. 13)  So what are we supposed to do when we find ourselves with a heart of stone?  
 
“Sow for yourselves righteousness, reap the fruit of unfailing love, and break up your fallow (hardened) ground; for it is time to seek the Lord until He comes.”  Hosea 10:12
 
For us to be able to walk in HIS righteousness and fully experience HIS unfailing love we MUST keep our hand to the plow of our very own heart and continually break up our fallow ground.  Jesus wants our hearts to be soft and able to produce a great harvest of love and truth to benefit both ourselves and others who are seeking Him.  To Jesus this is more important than burying and saying goodbye to our family and loved ones.  A soft heart is able to receive HIS truth and love, then produce a bounty of Spiritual fruit.  When our hearts are soft the fruit we bear can help sustain the Body of Christ and also attract those hungry to be set free and follow Jesus.
 
I put my hand to the plow of my heart over 37 years ago and even though I struggle at times; I have never looked back.  If you really want to press forward deeper into the things of God just place your hand on that plow and allow Him to make the difference in your heart and life each and every day.  Remember this is your hand, your plow, and your heart.  A Pastor or someone else can’t do this for you.  It is your choice, your action and your life.  So go for it!
 
Love and …..
 
Kirk Out !
 
 
 
From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Sometimes He does it for us – the breaking of stony hearts…
    As I read Matthew 13 some time back, i think He brought me to realize, looking back over some of the events in my life, that i’d gone through verses 19 to 22 quite sequentially. First heard in the late 90s, in the ‘Catholic charismatic renewal ‘, soon gone.
    Another hearing; came back from that ‘retreat’ with lovely peace and life… didn’t last long. Along came satan’s tool, a woman that broke my heart and did much evil to an ignorant /neos/ , driving me away from God for several years in pain, crying ‘why did You let this happen to me!!’
    In retrospect, I realize He used it to deal with my ‘stony ground’.
    There must have been another sowing, because I suddenly found my skills so much in demand that my salary quadrupled over a year (IIRC ),with later offers of even more if I would relocate. But by that time, I was already burned out. Nothing would irrigate that desert inside, not even the half-bottles of hard booze at lunch and dinner — and after lunch, back to office, lock myself in the toilet, set an alarm, and succumb to irresistible stupor. In a small way,’little richie rich’ learning that riches and what can be bought with them also do not satisfy those He’s made and formed to be His. I was led to get off the riches treadmill; from March 2013, I haven’t even worked; I’m running down my bank balance as I try to figure out what hit me. That’s because …

    … the next sowing (via a book called ‘Foundations for Righteous Living ‘, by Derek Prince), was followed by a beautiful period (IIRC, late 2010 to early 2013) of child-like learning from th Spirit about and from the Scripture He inspired; and then, along came the enemy, on my third trip through the Old Testament, with the ploy so frequently described on awildernessvoice.com – — stampeded me into guiltily going and paying a ‘tithe’, which had stopped since I’d exited the Roman Cult in mid 2010, convicted by His Words ‘you are as bad an idolater as the Hindus you sneer at !!’.

    After that various types of hell broke loose on me; the reason I gave up working in March 2013 was because with the severity of the affliction, I could hardly form sentences – my mindwas so badly squeezed. And for a telecommuting editor, that’s BAD. It is to His glory that He’s brought me so far out of that, that while some of the afflictions yet persist, I can now type a more or less coherent post (comment) . And that I can spend some 5ime going through the treasure trove that Clark and Davis have built up -repenting, learning, joying in understanding Scriptures I never understood before, recognizing ‘old friend’ truths which i’d learnt before… a time for quietness and rest and feeding (Isa 30:15)
    What will tomorrow bring? Not more of the same old same old, I hope – but then maybe He’s working on patience -building now… siigghhh 🙂

    Love,
    Ed.

  2. Ramma permalink

    Chris, you have brought out some interesting thoughts again and Ed, you have opened your heart up to what you feel God is doing with you right now. Wow, we all go on quite a journey don’t we? I appreciate the thought about the hard heart and being more soft and open.
    I was taught, that this scripture was talking about, “if I start this walk and turn back and no longer continue, then I am not fit.” In other words, saying that,
    1. It isn’t real.
    2. I can’t make it.
    3. I’m not good enough.
    4. There is no way that Jesus could love me or ever forgive who I am.
    5. I got weary and laid down my cross.
    6. PLUS MANY OTHER CARNAL LIES!!
    CARNAL is the “key” word here. It our natural man who sees everything around us as defeat, the “devils lies”, etc………when in reality it is simply our own personal choice. The ultimate end is that, WE ARE THE RESPONSIBLE PARTY for what happens in our lives.
    QUESTION: Could we simply be battling our own selves, the mind is a powerful tool? It comes down to we have to make the decision in our own mind as to what we will or will not do.
    Chris, your last paragraph is so full of promise and power:
    I put my hand to the plow of my heart over 37 years ago and even though I struggle at times; I have never looked back. If you really want to press forward deeper into the things of God just place your hand on that plow and allow Him to make the difference in your heart and life each and every day. Remember this is your hand, your plow, and your heart. A Pastor or someone else can’t do this for you. It is your choice, your action and your life. So go for it!
    Blessings,
    Ramma

  3. Ramma permalink

    Remember this is your hand, your plow, and your heart. It is your choice, your action and your life.

  4. "BK" permalink

    Ed, my heart went out to you, and also rejoiced with you, as you shared your journey into life; discovering the very essence of His life in us as He unfolds it. I relate to so much of what you say and certainly feel privileged to be walking alongside you in Spirit. Ramma, Galatians 5 does tell us the battle is between flesh and Spirit. I believe it is only because of the Spirit that we now DO have the power to make choices. Before that I was a slave to my flesh; now I have access to His Spirit to flow in life instead of death. Good thoughts and I can only say amen to your thoughts. “BK”

  5. Good one Chris! A. W. Tozer: “Miracles follow the plow”… O.T. says God takes out the stony heart and gives us a heart of flesh… in a N.T. letter: “You are God’s field…”. Yep. One day and surrender at a time 🙂 Love, -Glenn

    • Ramma permalink

      Amen BK and Glenn. A blessed day to all of you.

Leave a Reply

