Skip to content

Pimping Out A Gift From God?

May 9, 2014

Greetings,

“Now I commit you to God and to the word of His grace, which can build you up and give you an inheritance among all those who are sanctified.  I have not coveted anyone’s silver or gold or clothing.  You yourselves know that these hands of mine have supplied my own needs and the needs of my companions.  In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus Himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’”             Acts 20: 32-35

Seriously, I do not understand how anyone can read these words of Paul and still support a “church” system in which ministers get paid for sharing their gifts with the Body of Christ.  Clearly Paul’s example was to work a regular job in order to provide for one’s needs and living expenses.  In the New Testament there is no such thing as a professional Minister.  The Levitical Priesthood has been done away with by Jesus and now every follower of Christ is a priest before both God and men.  

Ministry was never meant to be a full time occupation.  The Lord wants us all to work hard in the communities we live in and serve, so that we can develop relationships with others and be good examples to all who view our lives.  In the true Body of Christ there is no Clergy/Laity system and everyone is a minister, not just a select few.

A true follower of Jesus is a servant to all and is not a seeker of position or power over others in the church.  Jesus is the only true Head of His Body and the only Leader we should be following in this life and in the church.  Every other member of His Body serves and functions under His Headship in order that we may grow and build up the Body in love, as EACH PART does its work.

Paul lived and worked among the Ephesians for three years, sharing the gospel free of charge and taking no money or support from the church whatsoever.  He held a full time job during this time and was never a burden to those he served.  In fact taking money for loving others has a name…it is called prostitution.   If Paul, who was an apostle, did things that simple way then why can’t the modern “church” do the same?  If we took the money that we pay Clergy and gave it all to the poor and needy, boy what a difference the church could make in numerous lives.  Add that to the money spent on “church” buildings and I bet we could easily feed the world.  I know some are now saying to themselves, “What no Clergy, no buildings…what else does this guy want to do away with?”  My short answer would be sermons, traditions and programs!  You want a strong church?  Go with simple every member ministry and totally free and open Spirit led gatherings….and I am just getting started!  Am I stark raving mad or just totally in love with Jesus and His bride?

Love and …..

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

 
From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. "BK" permalink

    “Ministry was never meant to be a full time occupation”…..amen. It is a way of life, a lifestyle. I would add that what I DON’T hear you saying (in case anyone thinks you did) is one should NEVER accept a gift or offering along the way. It is the ‘occupation’ and expecting of support that is so NOT the way of life. Am I hearing you correctly? “BK”

  2. Yes BK, An occasional love gift along the way when needed is alright, But taking a constant salary that burdens the givers is not the way of Christ.

  3. Yet are we not to leave them alone those that preach in strive?
    Did not Christ say a divided Kingdom can’t stand and that if they are preaching Christ, an d casting out demons. how can satan cast out satan?
    And Paul did hew not say he glories in both, those that preach not in sincerity and those that do, for CHRIST is being preached?
    So can you say the same? I know there are those that are not in the truth and preach as if they are. Who draws one to Christ? Us or the Holy Spirit of God through those that have received?
    Just a steak here to go to Father about, and listen closely. we all have read, and know what is said here is truth. So what are we going to do?
    Fight or glory in this mess and trust Father to do what Father wants done through us via the Holy Spirit of truth, that is received to us, by the resurrected Christ, not the dead Christ. for the enemy is judged, and it is done.
    So are we to now count this as all Joy, when each or many of us fall into divers Temptations?

    Do I speak truth or error, Brothers and Sisters in Christ?

    • Ramma permalink

      I know I was drawn to Christ in a cult setting. However……once Jesus removed the scales from my eyes, I now had a responsibility to follow Him. Following Him meant no longer walking under mans authority, but under God’s and God’s alone. Should I return to that “vomit”, then I would be in the same shoes as them. Knowing to do right and not doing it. Promoting Pagan temples, which are full of Pagan style worship. So, yes you are right….you just need to go a little further in your thoughts? Blessings

      • Yes, yes and yes, isn’t Father faithful, Father always knows what is up with who or whomever. So I say all I want is to keep trust right there and connected by listening with the two ears I was given, to listen for Father to speak through the implanting of the Holy Spirit of truth, and love all as in 1 cor 13:4-13, through Christ the Son. When first look at 1 Cor. 13:4-13, and from my own flesh nature, I saw I could not do that type of love. So I ask to receive it. Father has shown me that is what his gift to us is, by belief through Son’s finished work at the cross. So I settled this I am forgiven and so are all the rest, thanks to Christ
        John 1:29
        The next day John seeth Jesus coming unto him, and saith, Behold the Lamb of God, which taketh away the sin of the world.

        After the cross in Father’s sight this is done, we are cleansed, so we can ask for the new life and Father gives it, yet if we do not beleive we are cleansed through Son’s death for us, to be dead to self, how else are we to see and walk in Faith as Christ did, and walk as he walked?
        Colossians 1:22
        in the body of his flesh through death, to present you holy and unblameable and unreproveable in his sight:

  4. "BK" permalink

    I like what Ramma says. I was one of those sincere….sincerely deceived within the walls of Babylon. Now that I see, I try not to condemn those who remain within the walls but I can’t myself go back to what I know God is on record He hates. Yes, Paul said he rejoiced that Christ was preached, but he didn’t say it was the best. Yes, Jesus said a kingdom divided against itself cannot stand but He also made no bones about exposing the hypocrisy of the religious system of that day. So, I do see (and believe) your point, Homeward but I also agree with Ramma there is more to the thought. Again, it is always in following Christ, the anointing. A fine line, I know, but certainly not impossible. It goes along with what Erroll said in the last post, there is more joining to Christ done by lifting Him high than pointing out the error of a religious system destined for destruction. “But then” if He is speaking to one to ‘come out’ and uses the words of one who also heard we don’t want to get in his way. Back to the fine line of watching Him. Love, “BK”

    • Janet permalink

      BK, you took the words out of my mouth. It is a fine line and we all need to try to follow the guidance of the Holy Spirit. Sometimes God may want to flip some tables.

    • Yes, to all you said, yes and we each have our job, Baptism to do what we are called to do. And I see to let anyone else’s own conscience convict them or free them. As Christ did never actually accused anyone. Even when he went into the temple and started as it appeared to making a whip, and they thought he was going to whip them
      Their own conscience convicted them to make the choice in belief to be free to love beyond measure to all, or to continue to be selfish, and only see their way as being the center.
      Ever thought that giving up being the center makes you the center. Christ gave up the center, praised Father as the center, and Father praised back as Christ the center, no disagreements as in fighting for the center of attention. Then we come to beleive and are seen as center from Father and Son, as we only see Father and Son as center. Father as we are one make them one with us.

Leave a Reply

