Skip to content

Patience = Salvation?

April 25, 2014

Greetings,

“Bear in mind that our Lord’s patience means salvation, just as our dear brother Paul also wrote you with the wisdom that God gave him.”  2 Peter 3: 15

So the “Lord’s patience means salvation”?  That sounds perfectly right and true to me.  Because after all God is Love and according to 1 Corinthians 13 the very first thing love is….is patient.  And since “Love never fails”… I imagine that neither does His patience.  As a human father sometimes I have lost my patience with my children because of their disobedience, and when that happened I gave them a time out or other Temporary punishment.  Father God is perfect and infinite so I believe that His patience is also infinite with us.  More and more I am finding it difficult to grasp or believe that a patient and loving, Almighty God would ever sentence any of His children to an eternal punishment.  I am not a follower of Universal reconciliation, but I am coming to believe more and more in a perfect grace that is deeper and wider than the human mind can ever conceive or begin to fully contemplate.  A Grace that religion will most certainly reject.

“The Lord is not slow in keeping His promise, as some understand slowness.  He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.”  2 Peter 3: 9

Now the big question is does God always get what He wants and desires according to His own perfect will?  His patience means salvation and He is ultimately patient with each and every one of us.  He does not desire that anyone of us would perish.  He wants us all to repent and follow Him.  Just how many chances do we get at this?  No human knows the answer to that question.  Does total repentance need to occur in our short time here on earth?  I know that eventually, that “every knee shall bow and tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord.”  Is it ever going to be too late for us to embrace and receive Jesus?  And if it does not happen in this age, is it possible to occur in the age to come?  I sure have a lot of questions, but I certainly don’t know many answers at this point in my life.

In times past I used to have God, heaven and hell all figured out and placed in a comfortable box that I could manage. However, my journey of faith has imploded that box and now I am content just to know Christ and allow Him to manage all the details.  I have come to believe that all Jesus requires of me is a simple and sincere faith that leads to absolutely nothing else than love for God and all others.  I don’t understand the timeline of salvation and I no longer desire to.  Life in Christ is all about the journey and not any particular destination.  I no longer worry about heaven or hell.  Today I embrace that journey and am all about loving Him and others along the way.  LOVE IS THE ANSWER!

Recently Jesus has been using me often in evangelism.  In the last few months more than half a dozen folks have come to believe in Jesus via simple conversations with me.  Not once was hell ever mentioned in any of those conversations.  God is a God of supreme opportunities and never about threats of hell and punishment.  Over the last 38 years I have had many of these simple conversations with folks coming to believe and I honestly can’t remember one time that I used hell to leverage a single person into choosing Jesus Christ.  The simple message of freedom, grace and love is all I ever share and it most certainly is enough.  In the end it all boils down to LOVE and LOVE NEVER FAILS.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

P.s. Thank you all for your prayers!  I was given a totally clean bill of health after my colonoscopy, with no problems whatsoever.

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. "BK" permalink

    Chris, this is beautiful. That verse about every knee bowing ends up with saying, “…to the glory of God.” I don’t find any glory to God in bending knees through torment and torture. But to see it happen as the revelation of His love unfolds and becomes real within the one bowing, now there’s PLENTY of glory in that! Thank you. It certainly is a beautiful journey, “BK”

  2. Jason permalink

    Excellent article Chris. I too am not a follower Universal reconciliation, but read in the bible that Jesus says He will save the world this must mean the whole world, I reckon? And He says that He will restore ALL things. I haven’t a clue how He will do this, but if Jesus says He will, then I believe Him. And I believe Jesus to be powerful and loving enough to do .everything He claims.
    Glad your medical testing came out good.
    Love ya bro.

  3. Congratulations on the clean bill of health, and yes Love, God’s type trumps all and that is what God imputes in us 1 cor 13:4-13, upon belief, God starts this amazing work pf him in us, that eventually works through us

    • "BK" permalink

      Ya know, I just re-read through I Cor 13:4-13 and I couldn’t find where it says ‘upon belief’ God starts the process. Just wondering where you see that? Thanks, “BK”

  4. Dyesebel barbecho permalink

    Its true patience is salvation….for example…if someone have a debt from you and he/she couldnt pay as what he promised and you will get angry and talk to him it will turns into trouble…but if you have patience that he/she can pay,it can turn into peaceful….salvation is there instead of trouble…so if people have patience,is there any troubles?No, right…patience turns into love,care,understanding,trust etc….

Leave a Reply

