Skip to content

Their Very First Gathering

April 7, 2014

Greetings,

“I thank my God every time I remember you.  In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now, being confident of this, that HE who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 1: 3-6

This past Saturday I had the blessing and privilege of being an honored guest at the very first relational, simple, organic, home fellowship gathering at the house of officer Matt.  I met Matt last February when he pulled me over thinking I was injecting hard drugs while parked in an empty parking lot.  The truth is I was injecting insulin, but God used this incident to begin a relationship between Matt and I.  Our initial conversation began when he spied a book (Marc Winter’s “Was Church God’s Idea?”) on my passenger seat and then asked what the book was about.  I gave him the book and we spoke for about 20 minutes that day concerning the differences between the Church that Jesus intended us to have and the mess that the modern traditional “church” had instead become.  I challenged Matt that day to one day open his home for simple relational fellowship with his friends and family.  He told me he would pray and consider it and we have continued in phone contact since that time.

I was overjoyed when Matt told me he would indeed open his home for fellowship on the 5th of April.  Three local families, all with fathers working in law enforcement, gathered that late afternoon.  Altogether, including me, there were 7 adults and 8 children.  We shared an excellent meal and the fellowship was sweet.  They had a lot of questions about “how to?” do “church”, but I refused to give them a strict pattern.  I made it clear that we were meeting under Christ and NOT under Christopher in any way, shape or form.  I told them that it was best to just follow the leading of the Holy Spirit and that every meeting would be different depending on what each member of the Body had to bring to the mix in any given week.  I shared with them that the only things set ahead of time for the fellowships I relate to were the time and place we were gathering and details concerning the mutually prepared meal.  From there it is always wide open as the Spirit leads each one of us to share songs, testimonies, prayers, interactive teaching or only God knows what.  Totally free and open, Spirit led gatherings under only Christ as Head are what it is all about.

On Saturday this group spent a lot of time praising Jesus for bringing Matt’s 13 year old son Issac into full remission from his cancer.  We all ate and shared our portion of Christ that day with glad and sincere hearts.  Every adult and many of the children added their parts to the ongoing conversation about how wonderful and gracious Jesus is towards us all.  Jesus was without question THE Central theme as He should always be in any gathering.  

These folks are off to a most excellent start and I am glad to know them.  I am blessed that God can still use me to encourage others concerning actually BEING The Church, instead of just going to building and watching a man tell them about God without any meaningful interaction with Jesus or others.  Jesus is real and not just a concept to be preached on Sunday mornings to a passive crowd of pew sitters looking at the back of someone else’s head.  The gathering at Matt’s was nothing short of an awesome time spent face to face, loving Jesus and one another.  

Love and….

Kirk Out ! 

 

From → Uncategorized

19 Comments
  1. Awesome, Kirk, awesome, but doesn’t this happen at all gatherings even in organized religion? God does use them as well right?
    Are you by chance trying to knock out Church actually (Ecclesia), I mean as the disciples asked Christ about this, when they saw others casting out Demons and were not of them, what did Christ say about that?
    I do see where you come from , been there done that, been there again. I mean bottom line it is all about fellowship tight? It may be organized to belittle from the enemy, yet Christ is preached and if that place is divided it shall not stand same with a home Church right? So why not just talk about having fellowship and praising one another as Father and Son do this, never taking any credit for the self, just a thought. Christ never did, Farther never does, they praise each other and we are called into the body to do the very same.
    If we are to focus on anything, it is whatever is good pure, perfect and correct right?
    Just some thoughts of encouragement to walk away from any berating at all
    Love you deeper than you might know and God has no respect of persons, not one better than the other Brother
    Paul, said there are those that preach in envy and strife, and those sincerely, that he will glory in both for Christ is being preached, For Paul saw and knew it is all God, and God does the drawing to those that want to know him and who is the one that will have Mercy on who God will have Mercy on. Why, because God knows everyone’s Motive and accordingly to the Motive God reveals himself or he does not
    Thank you for listening with those Spiritual ears God has given you

    • "BK" permalink

      Actually, and unfortunately,this doesn’t happen at all gatherings. Ken & I have visited a local, nondenominational, organized church near here twice now and Christ wasn’t lifted up. Eloquent words, nice songs but not one ounce of life (well, maybe one). We didn’t go in looking for the lack of life, in fact we try to find Christ wherever we go, but there was just nothing to be found. Chris doesn’t have to do away with ‘church’ because it is already set for destruction (the system, the institution….not the precious believers behind those prison walls). You are correct that He does meet and touch people in those walls….Revelation 17 tells us THE SPIRIT says “come out of her MY PEOPLE….” which tells me three things. 1) The Spirit is within the confines of organized religion and 2) His people are in there and 3) some of those people are hearing the Spirit. I am one to testify it is so. If the Spirit isn’t speaking to someone, and has actually led someone INTO an organized church then for sure it is not for us to pry them out. But there are those who visit this blog who need to hear and know there IS a difference and they aren’t crazy for thinking so. I hope this doesn’t come across as any kind of rebuke because I honestly don’t mean it that way. Just thought maybe I could clarify a little of what you said. Just my two cents for the night, “BK”

    • There is a HUGE difference between totally free and open, Spirit led, Christ centered fellowship and what passes for fellowship within the walls of bondage in Babylon.

      • Bottom line then is motive and all this will be revealed in due time, in the meantime I say lets just praise and worship, continually entering his courts with thanks giving and praise yes or no?
        I mean Paul said this there are those in sincerity and those not, yet Christ is preached and he will glory in both why do you think that is?

  2. Chris…beautiful. To know family beyond our natural biological families is so wonderful, especially when the Spirit is making the connections. We are never alone, we are on the path, even when we do not know that we are on the path.

  3. "BK" permalink

    Absolutely thrilling. Love, “BK”

    • Skylla Moon permalink

      I agree with BK. Its important to shout out thedistinction between the false religious system and the Kingdom of God. 2 different realms. Jesus railed against it in Mt. 23.
      Come out!

  4. "BK" permalink

    I used to have a Youth Outreach and we visited varied institutional churches. The next time we got together we would talk about what we learned, what we felt, etc. One night the kids asked me how do you tell what ‘isn’t the Lord’. My response was the best way to know where He ‘isn’t’ is to ‘look for Him.’….not for where He isn’t. For sure praise and worship; but also let us not be afraid to speak when something IS revealed, if the Lord so tells us. Paul did say he was just glad Christ was preached, but he also was not afraid to speak to those circumstances where Christ’s headship was displaced, or attempted to be. The key, as always, is watching the Spirit, listening to Him and following His lead. He’s not always huggy touchy nor is He always blasting away…..He has to be followed in each circumstance. Love, “BK”

    • Maybe this is where discernment shown in Ecclesiastes comes in. a time for everything. At first enough time years maybe spent with the Lord in private to separate truth from error and when to speak up or hold thy tongue, i mean Paul who was Saul spent a many years missing before the preaching came into play.
      Had to be being retaught as everything he had already learned needed to be erased as if it were on a chalk board all his life written on it up to the day on the road to Damascus
      God says sees the eraser there? Pick it up and erase all you have learned and I (God) will teach you anew everything you need to know to tell all the truth that sets them free in me.
      Saul who became Paul erases all his life prior to meeting God
      Then Father has him pick up the chalk and write. So as it is written see from what Paul saw and wrote and you will see the freedom in Christ to love as God does
      Best shown 1 Cor. 13:4-13, this is the type of love imputed to us the believers to walk by, not to be guilty by as how it is used wrongly to create more guilt and more guilt, when it is what God gives us in Spirit and truth, via Son Christ’s finished work for us
      Thanks for listening

      • "BK" permalink

        Well, I must admit, my learning when to speak and when to keep silent didn’t come during my time of separation….:) It was OJT, learning to hear His voice; and seeing what happened when it wasn’t. I don’t think He erased everything Paul had ever learned; but, rather, gave him revelation as He ‘weeded’ the garden and taught Paul to read with the life of the Spirit instead of with the law of sin and death. Amen, it is so wonderful to be able to love as God does. “BK”

      • Amen to all as we all are being weeded by Father who simply loves us all

  5. So exciting to hear how God is working with this group and bringing about fellowship under the headship of Christ. Amazing how God used you to help bring this about.

    • Ramma permalink

      Praise the Lord for this new fellowship of believers. Ty for sharing. There is a huge difference in groups outside of the walls and the ones inside. Awesome people in both…who’s leading is where the difference is. Continue walking forward. Blessings.

  6. one thing that always remains is Father’s love to us all through Son to all and we all are learning to be responders to this all in all are we not?

  7. "BK" permalink

    “one thing that always remains is Father’s love to us all through Son to all and we all are learning to be responders to this all in all are we not?” “BK” here…..I guess I’m not sure what you are trying to say. That because one sees the wickedness of the system of Babylon they are not ‘loving’? The love of God comes in many ways; ‘whom He loves He chastens’, ‘turn such a one over to Satan for the destruction of the flesh so his Spirit might be saved….” as well as knowing the longsuffering of God leads us to repentence i.e. deliverance. Those who know me personally will tell you I lean FAR MORE to the ‘let it go and embrace’ than the chastening side, so I’m not one of those self made prophets looking to burn people up. But I do heartily believe in seeing where the Spirit is moving and if He asks me to participate, to do so. I never heard Chris say anything about not loving God’s people in his post (or the responses) so again, I’m not getting the point of some of your responses.
    Thanks for your patience with me, “BK”

    • It seems you might be reading into the post, I just stated what is, what is better to be creative or a responder
      I see mankind as the creation, not the creator and when Adam and Eve became aware of the flesh and knew they were naked became like the creator, and so put out to find out and make the decision to be the creation that responds to the creator or be the creator trying to get others to respond to them.
      This is to no one in particular just some food to chew on for each persons personal growth and collectively together, that’s all folks
      Does that clear it up, the confusion, I do not do innuendos, if I am saying something about someone, I say it straight to them

      • "BK" permalink

        No worries. You talk alot like my husband and I get lost with what he says too. 🙂 Not reading anything into it as I’m still a bit lost as to what I’m reading. But what I do ‘get’ I can say amen, brother. Love and good night, “BK”

      • BK, thank you, we all that have chosen to believe God are growing up in God teaching us truth over error, and we all are in different stages, and this is not for to be one up on the other as is what flesh does acts better than others and is in competition to be better than others, looking for pats on the back for pride and boasting, which is not of Father through Son.

        And to me this is why iron sharpens iron, I think more beleive God that is accounted for. All I am doing here as all believers is; learning truth over error, And God is the only one that can separate truth from error. So no matter is said by me or others, it all needs to be discerned, and if one sees only God can do this, using others are not, Father always comes through to each of us and we grow further and further, deeper and deeper into humility, seeing it is all God and none of me to take credit to me ever
        Ephesians 3:16-18

        Authorized (King James) Version (AKJV)

        16 that he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man; 17 that Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love, 18 may be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth, and length, and depth, and height;

Leave a Reply

