Skip to content

Justice Required

March 28, 2014

Greetings,

“…… and what does the Lord require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God.”  Micah 6: 8

Thank God that Jesus came here and fulfilled all of these requirements for us.  Jesus was all about justice, kindness and He did walk humbly with the Father.  However, I still believe that God desires us to walk in His ways and now that He has given us His Spirit it is now more than possible.

I find it interesting that we are called to DO justice, that means we are to actively walk in justice.  We get to administer justice to those who need it now.  Our lives should touch the lives of others and provide justice for them in real and tangible ways.  That means we are called to level out the scales and make sure that others are treated just and fairly.  We should be out there on the front lines advocating for those who need to be treated fairly by society and those around them.  When we see injustice in action we should always pray and then intervene as the Spirit leads us.  I have seen this work in my life when I have jumped into the fray when I have witnessed people being bullied.

 Once at Disney World we were getting ready to watch the parade and fireworks,  My Mom was in a wheelchair so we were in an area designated for the handicapped.  There was another area right next to us for the handicapped too, but some people were there who were obviously not disabled.  Other elderly folks in wheelchairs were trying to get the healthy people to move, but they refused and instead started cursing the elderly folks, telling them to “F#@% off”.  I felt the Spirit’s leading so I told my children to find a park employee and I leaped over the roped off section and landed right in front of the huge chief bully who continued to spout obscenities.  I told this guy to move out of the handicapped section and he refused.  Then I said to him, “Either move or be moved in Jesus Name!”  Right then he agreed to move and apologized to me and the elderly couple.  The park employee showed up a few minutes later and we told her what had transpired.  She thanked me for stepping into the situation and then we all watched the fireworks and parade.  On that night justice was served.

We are also required to “love kindness” and sometimes justice and kindness go hand in hand.  Stepping up to confront the bully was a way of being kind to those being bullied.  However, most of the time kindness involves being gentle and compassionate.  To act kindly to those in need is to give them a listening ear or a shoulder to cry on.  Better yet, is to equip them to face the obstacles they are encountering.  Like giving food to the hungry or water to those who thirst.  Acts of kindness make the world a better place to live in, so I always make the effort to be kind towards everyone I encounter along the way.

Finally, we are to “walk humbly” WITH our God.  Notice we are not walking in front of God or behind Him, but rather WITH Him.  To me this speaks of keeping in step with The Spirit at all times.  HE is our guide and out of humility we should surrender to walking in step with Him.  However, true humility is to totally bow down before Him and surrender our will.  I did a word study many years ago and was surprised to discover that one of the very root words of humble was “to be bold”.  True humility involves going boldly before His throne and then bowing down to whatever leading The Lord gives you.  Then of course we should lift our heads up high as we perform whatever actions He leads us to endeavor.  Our confidence should always be in Him as we boldly go wherever He may take us to do His will.  We are called to be His instruments of justice and kindness in this seemingly lost and fallen world.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 
From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Skylla Moon permalink

    What a great example of “every knee will bow at the name of Jesus”. And I’ve noticed the paradox of the power of and in kindness. My heart melts when I absorb Christ’s many kindnesses to me in the midst of the suffering and personal training He has me in right now. Even this.

  2. The power of Christ is amazing

Leave a Reply

