Skip to content

The Final Authority

March 18, 2014

Greetings,

“All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.         2 Timothy 3: 16-17

Contrary to what some heresy hunters believe…I totally affirm everything stated in this familiar passage of scripture.  The whole bible is definitely inspired, God-breathed and extremely useful for teaching, correcting, rebuking and training in righteousness.  I am on board for all of that.  However, I must also point out what the scriptures never say in this passage or anywhere else…. scripture never calls itself the sole, final or ultimate authority in the Church, or in the life of a believer.  That role is reserved for Christ and Christ alone.  The bible also never refers to itself as “The Word of God”, because that description belongs solely to Jesus and no other person or thing.

Jesus said:

“All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me.”  Matthew 28: 18

If Jesus has “All Authority” then the bible has none, zip, zero, nada.  You see the bible was never intended to be a rule book or a book of Law.  So when it is used that way it has absolutely no authority or power.  However, when used in Christ with the Spirit’s leading it is totally profitable and God ordained for everything listed in 2 Timothy 3: 16 and more.

Let me say it again so it will start to sink in….Jesus has been given ALL AUTHORITY.  No other one or no thing has ANY authority over you…including the bible and other Christ followers.  Not even the ones who have assumed false titles like Pastor and Reverend.  The only One with true Authority in our lives is Jesus.  Jesus is the Sole, Final and Ultimate Authority over EVERYTHING!  ”Let God be True and every other man a liar.”  Romans 3:4

Love and….

Kirk Out!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. Chris, the way I see it is that if the Bible is the final authority then it becomes like the Constitutions of the United States. Administrations choose which part they want to enforce and their judges decide as to how it is to be interpreted. Over the years we have seen the power of the Constitution eroded severely in this manner as well as our Constitutional rights and freedom. One has to wonder if the framers of that document would even recognize the American legal system today. If Thomas Jefferson could come back and straighten this whole mess out that would be great, but he can’t.

    On that note, today we have 43,000 different Christian denominations and sects who all claim that the Bible is the word of God, yet they are all at odds with one another over its content. Go figure! This is why Jesus didn’t say that after He left that He would leave us a leather-bound book to lead us into all truth, but rather He said,

    “But when he, the Spirit of truth, is come, he will guide you into all truth: for he shall not speak of himself; but whatsoever he shall hear, that shall he speak: and he will show you things to come. He shall glorify me: for he shall receive of mine, and shall show it unto you.” (John 16:13-14 KJ2000)

    Thomas Jefferson is dead and gone, but the Spirit of Christ is not. The REAL question is, will we who are HIS sheep hear and follow HIS voice or the voices of strangers and hirelings with Bibles in hand?

  2. And so by being filled by Father through Son’s love and mercy at the cross for us, we are led by God in the Spirit of God having new life in the Spirit of God to be led daily we are:
    John 8:32
    and ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.

    And the below is how we shall walk and not of self of the fruit of the Spirit of Father in the lead

    But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. Galatians 5:22-23 NIV

    So it is not us and all our works that we do want to do, it is:

    John 8:36
    If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed.

  3. I’m not sure why I’m going to attempt to respond to this, likely because their are so many people who seem to want to agree with you, all the while overlooking what the majority of Christians would deem to be several very serious concerns on your part that they refuse to address. I suggest that those would include;

    1. Attempting to divide Jesus from His own words. Yes, Jesus is the Word of God, but the Bible is the written Word of God. Why does Jesus regularly say to others “It is written” (which obviously points to the authority of what He Himself has previously said through His human instruments) instead of just saying something like, “because I say so” or “because I will show you so.” Just because men over the years have failed to discern the truth of the Word through the power and illumination of the Spirit does not make the Bible (what Jesus has said) any less authorative. The Spirit does guide into all truth….My Word is truth.

    2. Is it really true as you say that we are not to divide over doctrine? That is false on so many fronts it doesn’t even warrant an explanation. The very “nature and character of Christ” comes under the banner of “doctrine”- a nature you obviously reject because you reject the Triune Godhead. What, the very nature of God isn’t a teaching, nor a necessary one believers are obligated to embrace? I would suggest that the nature of God is the most important doctrine there could possibly be. Are people saved by believing in a god that doesn’t exist?

    3. You seem to think that “relationship” is more important than “doctrine.” Is this really true? Is God commanding any kind of relationship or rather “right relationship(s) with Himself and others? For example, does God command we “accept anyone or everyone” who claims to be a Christian or rather only those He accepts? God does not as you say, accept us in our sins but only in Christ- only in the Beloved, and that is exactly what He demands we do as this concerns others as well who will comprise the body of Christ.

    4. You talk about how unity “has already been established.” That’s true Chris, but again, who does this concern, anybody and everybody? Of course not. It concerns only those who have been born again spiritually, those trusting in the Father’s intentions which have been carried out by the Son and illuminated by the Spirit who lives ONLY within true believers. The very purpose of this unity is so the “sinful” world would know that the Father sent Jesus and loved them even as He loved Jesus (His Son). There is nothing complicated about this Chris, as Jesus has said a child could understand it. Rather, it is a willful rejection of the truth on your part, a rejection of truth that every Bible believing Christian, including your friend Michael C should take a stand against you upon.

    Finally Chris, “Why do you keep harping upon this over and over in your writings and calling many well meaning persons heresy hunters?” Why do you further insult these folks by statements such as “let me say it again so it will sink in” as if you have any power to influence others. The only people you are influencing are those like yourself who refuse the obvious truths of scripture, those which we have learned by and through the Holy Spirit.

    The truth is Chris, you do not believe the Bible is inspired and God breathed as you say, because you do not believe the Bible has the same authority as the One Who authored it. The proof of that is where you attempt to separate God from His own words here: “No other one or thing has ANY authority over you…..including the bible……

    While you believe the bible is a “thing,” Christians believe the Bible is the written Word of God to be obeyed…..exactly like Jesus said it was in Matthew 7:24-27.

    • "BK" permalink

      Good morning, hoping your day in going well. I wanted to address a few of the things you responded to Chris’ post. I love dialogue and know it takes effort to ‘discuss’ things online, but I find it worth it. I believe one of the problems that face us all is when we come to the table as being ‘the one who knows’, when in fact, it takes all the portions on the table to make a meal and be sure the nutrients are all there. Having said that I will mention a few things. On your point 1, wouldn’t you agree when Jesus said “it is written” there was no Bible to refer to? The Torah, yes. I would say in His referring to it is like we refer to the Bible….it doesn’t make what is written the final authority, but a reference in point. For example, the encyclopedia tells all about an apple. However, an apple isn’t an apple because the encyclopedia says so, but rather, the encyclopedia can describe an apple because it IS. When Jesus said “My Word is truth”, there was no written Bible; however, He did say when He departed He would send THE SPIRIT to lead us into all truth; not a book.

      On point 2, I don’t think Chris has ever said he ‘rejects’ the Trinity (or Triune God as you call it). I believe he has said he is still mulling that one over, letting the Lord bring clarity to him. Also, I don’t think he has said he rejects doctrine, but rather he doesn’t place teaching above Christ.

      There is an interesting verse in Ephesians that says we are to be established in love SO THAT we can comprehend the heighth, depth, breadth, etc. It would appear pretty plainly here that relationship does bring us to a place of being able to comprehend.

      Your closing statements regarding how Chris views the Bible I think you will find askew if you simply go back and read what he says, quieting the ‘yeah buts’ in your mind (those are normal, that’s not a put down) as you do so you can hear what he is saying. And lastly, I went to KJV and read your scripture reference at the end but couldn’t find it to have anything to do with the Bible at all.

      I think Chris ‘harps’ on this because people need to be free to receive in the Spirit the life contained in the Bible, while knowing that life is subject to the anointing at all times. Perhaps you received the truth all at once with never a change….you are a rare person in that. Most of us know the Spirit has made many changes and illuminations over our years of walking with Him so we understand what Chris means when he tries to explain the difference between ‘dead letter’ and ‘living word’. I again thank you for your comments as a threshing floor can’t produce the wheat apart from the chaff without an upper and nether stone….and an open heart of consideration. “BK”

    • If the Bible is the final authority, then God has stopped talking? I don’t think so, we are having coffee together and this is what, God said to ask and say.
      Father has not stopped talking and the Bible is his word, but people have misinterpreted badly, The whole book is about My (God’s) love towards you to come to belief in Me ( the creator of all) through my (God’s ) Son’s, (Jesus Christ) work that is finished for you back at the cross he died on for you and all the world, to give you new life in the resurrected Christ via the Spirit. The same Spirit that led Christ is to lead us, all in the unfathomable love of God best described in 1 Cor. 13:4-13.
      Now think deeply, Does God want to give you this type of .love and your cup overflows, or be guilty of as is used this way toooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! much

  4. Hey among the forgotten, Seems that you have judged me and what I write as something less than “Christian”. I will not defend myself other than to say these few words. I trust myself to HIM who judges justly. It seems to me that you disagree with me because you are viewing things through the lens of religion and fundamentalism; instead of the lens of the Holy Spirit and relationship. Relationship matters much more than doctrine. For it is only through true relationship that we can come to truth and agreement on matters of faith and practice. In fact everything God does is on a relationship basis, not a cold legal foundation. I feel sorry for you. I follow a PERSON, NOT a book! and that persons name is Jesus. Accuse me all you want to but, I will not retaliate. I rest fully upon my ROCK and risen Lord. I refuse to worship the bible, it is a created thing and to follow it rather than Christ alone is nothing short of idolatry.

  5. CatherineS permalink

    That was a gracious reply to among the forgotten, Chris. I know personally how some have misunderstood and/or purposely misrepresented your position on this, so what can you do other than reiterate it at times when it’s needful? For years I was taught that the Bible contained everything God intended for me as a believer, but the Holy Spirit didn’t stop working in and through the body of Christ after John wrote the book of Revelation. And I’ve since learned that, although the scriptures are something from God to appreciate, love, and learn from, there’s so very much more to be found in my relationship with God and the body through the fullness of Christ in us!

  6. Well, Chris, I grew up with a deep resentment for over-weight people. Maybe it was because a rather large black girl hit me hard along the side of the head with her big purse when I was a kindergartener. 🙂 I was always your typical “90 lb. weakling” and the jock types had a hay-day with me. In each new encounter with a heavy person I have to pray that the Lord would show me how HE sees them and you were not an exception. The point is, I DID pray and HE filled me with His love for you. If I had happen to me just half of what you have been through, I would be in a permanent psych ward. We have all had our “school of hard knocks,” but it amazes me how that we are MORE than overcomers IN Christ.

    You post some things that can set some folk’s religious teeth on edge, but I don’t get strung-out on your words because I know your heart. It has helped a lot to have met you in person and fellowship with you over the years face to face (I will never forget the greeting you gave me in Donna Gale’s house in TX that day so many years ago 🙂 Oh, that people would be willing to “know no man after the flesh, but rather after the Spirit” before they open their mouths. This lesson has been a long tome coming to me. As I read this thread (regarding the trinity) I am reminded that “the letter of the law kills, but the Spirit gives life.” The question is, will we truly come to the Spirit of Christ as we seek the truth in a matter (after all it is HE who IS the Spirit of Truth) or will we rely on our own intellectual understanding of the Bible? May we not only “search the scriptures,” but come to Jesus that we MIGHT have Life.”IN Him was LIFE and the LIFE was the Light of men.” No Christ Life, no light of understanding.

    Thanks for being my brother. I am not easy to love.

  7. Okay this world is still at fight with Father, for the flesh, carnal nature still wants its own way and has since Adam and Eve.

    Galatians 4:29

    New International Version (NIV)

    29 At that time the son born according to the flesh persecuted the son born by the power of the Spirit. It is the same now.

    please understand this we all are have been born of the flesh, and need born of God’s Spirit, So I see die to me daily anyone else, so that I might see the new life in Spirit:

    Philippians 3:10-12

    New International Version (NIV)

    10 I want to know Christ—yes, to know the power of his resurrection and participation in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, 11 and so, somehow, attaining to the resurrection from the dead.

    12 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.

  8. Love you Chris and amongtheforgotten along with all others for God so loved not only all, and found that included me, how can I not love all in response to God?

    1 John 4:19
    We love because he first loved us.

Leave a Reply

