Skip to content

Rejected By Men, Accepted By Jesus

March 12, 2014

Greetings,

“Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of Me.  Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.”  Matthew 5: 11-12

Well, I guess according to those two verses all I can say is that I am very blessed.  It is too self serving to claim those verses for myself, but last night I received three encouraging phone calls and in two of the three calls these verses were quoted.  Plus in the other call similar things were said to encourage me.  The Spirit prompted these folks to call and lift me up.  All I can say is that God’s timing is always perfect.

In the last 72 hours several people have broken fellowship with me, questioned my devotion to God, my salvation, and my view of scripture.  This is all because recently I have said that I am not sure about the doctrine of the Trinity.  I do wholeheartedly accept God the Father, Jesus the Son, and the Holy Spirit as being totally real and active in my life.  I am just not certain that the Spirit can be called a person, He is just so beyond that to me.  That is just me being open, honest and real folks.  I could lie and tow the party line, but in the true Body of Christ why would I ever want to do such a thing?  

I know and appreciate what the Spirit has taught me over the past 47 years.  I find it odd that the Trinity (a non-biblical word) is not something that He has revealed to me in all these years.  Man teaches this doctrine, but does that mean I should automatically accept it and go against the Spirit’s teaching?  The big question is:  Should ones stance regarding such a doctrine be a standard test for fellowship and salvation?

Me?  I accept anyone who loves Jesus and calls Him their Lord.  If they follow Him in the big picture I am certain that any other details can be worked out over time and fellowship.  If we agree on who Jesus is we should be able to walk together and figure the rest out in His good time.  God hates divisions and to divide over doctrine before giving our sibling relationships a real chance to grow and mature is a HUGE mistake in my humble opinion.

The traditional “church” has many doctrinal obstacles in the way of true fellowship and life in Him.  The same should not be true in totally open and free, organic, Spirit led and relational fellowship.  Jesus never made me take a test about doctrine or scriptural knowledge in order to enter into a relationship with Him.  He called me His friend and then began to teach me all I needed to know about life in Him.  Cutting people off over doctrinal disputes is like aborting a baby before it grows to full term and is born.  It takes time with Him to learn and grow into the disciples He intends us to be, but if we walk with Him and one another long enough we will all eventually grow up to where we can be fully birthed into His amazing truth and love.  I don’t consider myself to be fully there yet, but I hope to be in the future.

Love and ……

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. No matter, all that believe are:
    1 Corinthians 12:13
    For by one Spirit are we all baptized into one body, whether we be Jews or Gentiles, whether we be bond or free; and have been all made to drink into one Spirit.

    By God even if there are divisions, and I have learned:
    Romans 14:4
    Who art thou that judgest another man’s servant? to his own master he standeth or falleth. Yea, he shall be holden up: for God is able to make him stand.

    And:

    1 Corinthians 3:6
    I have planted, Apollos watered; but God gave the increase.
    1 Corinthians 3:7
    So then neither is he that planteth any thing, neither he that watereth; but God that giveth the increase.

    So lets pray for each to hear and know truth and love the other regardless, for it is God’s love that causes one to be a bond servant with God

  2. CatherineS permalink

    I’m sorry to hear that there are some that broke fellowship with you just because you expressed something honestly that they disagreed with. I’ve always considered the Holy Spirit a person, because Christ used the pronouns “he” and “him” when speaking of him, but he is also beyond that to me — like the Father and the Son are beyond the persons I think of them being. And I still love you in Christ, brother. 🙂

  3. Thanks Catherine, I love you too sister.

  4. Ramma permalink

    I still stand with you Chris. Continue to be true to yourself and to God. Usually those truly seeking truth are walking the road less traveled. The cutting off of fellowship is so “churchy”. If those folks claim to be “free” of the system of religion they are deceiving themselves. Hold fast!

  5. To the dear readers of this blog,
    You know….I hate religion. The Good News is simple…too simple. The real Good News promotes no human agenda. It does not support the Republicans ( I was one), the Democrats, or Independents. The real Good News will blow you away. It will still bring you to tears, as it does me, today right in this moment…are you ready? Do you have your religious mind ready to be blown away?

    Just as defilement came by One Man, salvation has come by One Man. Just as all were made unright by the actions of One Man, how much more shall the actions of One Man make all right?

    Jesus died to save all mankind, and thereby all mankind are saved. So what of our religious separatist institutions? The are devices of decisiveness, they are all evil, proclaiming in 44,000 separate voices the authority of Christ.

    Why proclaim the REAL Good News? Because for those who do not know they are redeemed, the absence of that truth will cause the work of Christ to be of none effect in this their live time on the earth.

    Jesus ate happily with notorious sinners because they were His family. The biker club, your family, the radical homosexual advocate, is your dear brother or sister.

    What does the devils church institution say, hate the sin but lover the sinner. You know what, that is psychologically impossible. We are the sinners, redeemed by His grace and unmerited favor. WE are all declared not guilty, you, me, Hitler, Obama, everyone.

    As far as I can tell ONLY spiritual pride is damnable.

  6. Brother,

    This is an important thing to consider and asked to the Lord to show you the truth of it in the Scriptures. Alot of superficial explanations for the trinity has turned many off from it so I can relate to you in that. I would encourage you to consider all the early apostles as well as church history affirmed this in someway or another. also the large majority of Christians today. Here is a statement from the underground churches in China: http://www.gospelfellowships.net/pdf/statementoffaith.pdf (100+ million who go these truths not from denominations but the Scriptures and God).

    The major rise of this doctrine has been from a sect of Pentecostals (not all of them but a group that started to affirm this).

  7. Chris, the Spirit was not semt to speak of Himself, but to reveal Christ to each of us. He is our Teacher and the one who leads us into all Truth and Jesus IS that Truth. Right now I am thankful for His revelation as the Spirit of Christ working in me and that we have been called to be ONE with the Father and the Son. In the mean time I try not to receive my brothers and sister unto doubtful disputations that divide, but rather, I seek to fellowship with them around the Father and the Son. You and I have been doing that, my brother and I don’t intend to disrupt that fellowship with you or any other saint. Love you, my brother!

  8. I am sorry to hear this. I am sure there are people to question things that I have said, but that’s a part of being human. I have many friends that I do not always agree with their views however they are still my friend. I am not going to leave just because I do not agree with someone. I would much rather listen and understand their feelings which may help me grow in Christ and as a human. God be with you my brother and continue to bless your ministry.

    • Skylla Moon permalink

      Its such a privilege to know you Chris. Glad to be crossing paths with you brother. I’ve been around long enough to know that what I’m totally certain about today may change as I receive a greater revelation of Him as I go. So while truth doesn’t change, our view of it (Him) does. Who God is in Jesus and how He manifests in the kingdom and in the earthly realm takes eternity to fully see. Surely the Adventure of all Ages!

  9. According to your estimation I, also, am “very blessed”! And in the process of receiving my blessing (and recovering from it!) I have come to the understanding that the two things that really matter are: Love God, love others.

    We are called to be known by our love, not our ‘correct’ doctrine.

Leave a Reply

