Skip to content

The Voice

March 8, 2014

Greetings,

“Paul, an apostle-sent not from men nor by man, but by Jesus Christ and God the Father, who raised Him from the dead…”  Galatians 1: 1

“But when God, who set me apart from birth and called me by His grace, was pleased to reveal His Son in me so that I might preach Him among the Gentiles, I did not consult any man, nor did I go up to Jerusalem to see those who were apostles before I was, but I went immediately into Arabia and later returned to Damascus.  Then after three years, I went up to Jerusalem to get acquainted with Peter and stayed with him fifteen days.  I saw none of the other apostles-only James, the Lord’s brother.  I assure you before God that what I am writing you is no lie.  Later I went to Syria and Cilicia.  I was personally unknown to the churches of Judea that are in Christ.  They only heard the report: “The man who formerly persecuted us is now preaching the faith he once tried to destroy.”  And they praised God because of me.”  Galatians 1: 15-24

Several quick points here…

1.  Paul was sent directly by God.  He did not have to be endorsed by a Pastor/Leader, “church” council or any missions board.

2.  Paul did not consult with anyone, including others who were apostles of his day.

3.  It was three years before he even went to Jerusalem and met Peter and James.

4.  All this being said…when The Lord leads you to go somewhere or do something, you can just do it.  You do not need approval or permission from any person or group.  If you trust His Voice you can just flow in the Spirit and do ANYTHING He calls you to.  Problem is that most do not know or trust His Voice, even though the bible states that His sheep hear His Voice and obey.  It is a matter of hearing His actual Voice and not second hand revelation from the mouth of another.  It is all about hearing His audible Voice, at least it will seem audible to you when you hear it.  NOTICE:  It does not say that His sheep will read the bible and obey. This is about intimately knowing and recognizing the Voice of our Lord and then following exactly what He says.  The big question now is do you trust Him and His Voice?

Ask yourself the following questions:

“Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God?  Or am I trying to please men?  If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a servant of Christ.”  Galatians 1: 10

Just who are you trying to please?  And why?  If you are going to follow and serve God then just go ahead and serve Him as His Voice leads you.  Forget about the approval and acceptance of mere men.  Paul did not return to Jerusalem for another 14 years after his first encounter with Peter.  And when he did return he opposed and rebuked Peter to his face, because Peter was listening to the voices of the Jews instead of The Voice of The Lord.  Peter compromised the truth in love and was honoring Jewish Law over and above the message of Grace.  How often do we compromise what His Voice tells us in order to keep the peace and win the approval of mere men?

I know I am asking difficult questions, but know that I am asking myself the very same questions and I am definitely not measuring up 100% of the time.  It’s simple….hear His Voice and obey, but we tend to over complicate it in our daily lives.  Today I choose to listen to The Lord…knowing full well that who HE calls HE also equips.  Stop measuring yourself by external standards like the Law and peer pressure.  Jesus always compensates for what you may lack.  Now is the time to just BE obedient and follow His Voice today.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Kirk, good point. With so many hirelings and strangers lording over the sheep in the churches and even in pseudo- house churches (cell churches, etc.), it is no wonder that people do not know the voice of the Good Shepherd and blindly follow men.
    I once was in a small fellowship and this older sister came to the gatherings who had been raised a Catholic. We had often talked about hearing God speak to us and she piped up one day and said, “You all talk about hearing God’s voice. I don’t think I have ever heard Him speak to me.” So, I asked her what she listened to all day when she was alone at home? She said, “I get up in the morning and turn on TBN and when the shows are over on there, I turn on a Christian radio station or play Christian music on my stereo. I said, “Well, there is your problem. Jesus can’t get a word in edge-wise!”

    If I was to invite a person to come and visit in my home, but turned on the TV or radio ever time he wanted to communicate with me I would be considered rude, yet we do the same thing to Jesus all the time. I believe this comes from being part of a Christianity that is more about entertaining people than it is about teaching them to meditate and pray and get alone with God.

  2. "BK" permalink

    Gal 1: 15 “But when God, who set me apart from birth and called me by His grace, was pleased to reveal His Son in me so that I might preach Him among the Gentiles,” This verse caught my attention because it says Paul was set apart FROM BIRTH and called by His grace. Wow, this was long before the Lord met him! Sooooooooo, must have included his journey through religion too. Quite a thought for those of us who have come out and have to work through all the adverse feelings towards the system we have left! “BK”

  3. Skylla Moon permalink

    praise be to God the Father in our Lord Jesus Christ! We share this blog post this morning with one of the workers at the house that we are renovating who has become a friend and brother. After reading the post we started to share in the spirit personal things. I shared with him some of your background Chris whereupon he broke down and begin to share his background as an abused boy. It was a powerful moment of Gods grace and mercy and love. oh how He loves us!!

  4. Wow Skylla! God is so awesome! It amazes me how Jesus takes the evil done to me in the past by wicked men and uses it to set others free now. I know there is freedom and divine comfort now for those who were sexually abused as children. I am praying for your new found friend and brother.

    • Skylla Moon permalink

      Thank you! He is in the system but set free in many ways.

Leave a Reply

