Skip to content

One Week Later… Another Centurion

March 2, 2014

Greetings,

” When Jesus had entered Capernaum, a centurion came to him, asking for help. “Lord,” he said, “my servant lies at home paralyzed, suffering terribly.”  Jesus said to him, “Shall I come and heal him?”  The centurion replied, “Lord, I do not deserve to have you come under my roof. But just say the word, and my servant will be healed. For I myself am a man under authority, with soldiers under me. I tell this one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and that one, ‘Come,’ and he comes. I say to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.”  When Jesus heard this, he was amazed and said to those following him, “Truly I tell you, I have not found anyone in Israel with such great faith.”   Matthew 8: 5-10

Yesterday while driving home from Laura’s place I happened to notice a police patrol car parked in front of a gas station near where I was pulled over last week.  Hoping to see officer Matt again I pulled into the store lot and went inside.  He was not in there, but I approached another policeman and asked him if Matt was on duty today.  This officer named Michael told me that Matt was off today.  I then asked Michael to tell Matt that Christopher was still praying for him and his son Issac. Michael then said, “Wait a minute, you’re that long haired Jesus freak who gave Matt that heretical book last week.”  I said, guilty as charged.

Michael then told me that Matt gave him the book to read saying “This book will rock your world.”  Michael then read the book the very same day it was given to him and he loved every single word.  The book confirmed to Michael that “Church as usual” fell WAY short of God’s ideal for the Body of Christ.  However, in many ways the book left him with more questions than answers.  He told me that traditional “church” services gave him no voice or fulfillment and he just knew there had to be a better way to serve and learn from  Jesus.  His big question was, “What do I do now that I know the truth and can’t go back to Egypt?”  

I told him he was now in for the biggest adventure of his life.  That now is the time to learn directly from Jesus and the Holy Spirit without the need for a Pastor or other earthly human mediator.  Plus you have Matt and Matt has you as a true brother in the faith and that is a wonderful place to start.  Michael then told me that their wives had also read the book and were on board for the next step, “Whatever that may be?”  I encouraged Michael to keep things as simple as possible.  To get together for fellowship and meals as often as possible and to share life with one another as HE leads.  

Michael then wanted to know if I would help them along the way.  I said, “Sure, but only if you treat me as a brother and not some kind of pseudo-pastor.”  I said the key was keeping Christ the central thing in our lives, both individually and as a group.  Then I encouraged Michael by telling him that there are many other Christ followers out there gathering for relational, simple, organic, home fellowship without all the bells, whistles and distractions of the traditional “church.”  I told him he was going to thoroughly enjoy being free from the bondage of institutional religion.  I said it was not an easy path to follow, but it was 100% real and totally worth whatever it may cost along the way.  Because truth be told it will cost you everything to follow Jesus and it will also cost you everything if you don’t.

Then with all that being said I told my brother that I had to get back on the road before the next snow storm hit.  We then exchanged a hug and he told me the best news I had heard all year…. that Matt’s son Issac was now in remission from his cancer.  Let me tell you now that Jesus is totally awesome and amazing and HIS timing is perfect.  Jesus is now calling for HIS Bride to come forth to embrace and follow only HIM like never before.  Be wise and don’t miss this move of the Holy Spirit!

Love and…

Kirk Out !

p.s.  To find out more about the book God has me giving away please go to:  www.waschurchgodsidea.com  It was written by my dear friend Marc Winter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. Ramma permalink

    This gives me goosebumps seeing how God is moving and directing in your life. Thank you for sharing your journey with us. Blessings

  2. What a fantastic follow up! Love hearing how the story of your new relationship with Matt and Michael is unfolding. Can’t wait to hear what God will do as they form a community for fellowship.

  3. CatherineS permalink

    So exciting to see how God is using you in the lives of these people! But I do have one question: Is Marc giving you a percentage of the profits from his sales? 😉

  4. jayne permalink

    You stopped! That is sooo very cool. You long-haired Jesus freak you!!! Lol!

  5. Catherine, No, I bought the first book and Marc has replaced everyone I have given away for free. Marc is a dear brother and not about money at all. He poured himself into researching and writing this book and it shows. I am just glad for how the Lord is using this book in my life and in the lives of others.

    • CatherineS permalink

      I’m hoping you know my question wasn’t a serious one. 🙂 And that’s very generous of Marc.

  6. "BK" permalink

    Awesome, awesome, awesome, Chris! Rejoicing, “BK”

  7. Yes Catherine I know you weren’t serious, but just wanted to let others know of Marc’s wonderful heart and purpose.

Leave a Reply

