Skip to content

Well, It Happened Again!

February 22, 2014

Greetings,

” When Jesus had entered Capernaum, a centurion came to him, asking for help. “Lord,” he said, “my servant lies at home paralyzed, suffering terribly.”  Jesus said to him, “Shall I come and heal him?”  The centurion replied, “Lord, I do not deserve to have you come under my roof. But just say the word, and my servant will be healed. For I myself am a man under authority, with soldiers under me. I tell this one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and that one, ‘Come,’ and he comes. I say to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.”  When Jesus heard this, he was amazed and said to those following him, “Truly I tell you, I have not found anyone in Israel with such great faith.”   Matthew 8: 5-10

This evening, while I was driving back home after spending the day at Laura’s place, I pulled over into an empty parking lot to give myself a shot of insulin.  Just as I finished and started to pull back onto the highway a patrol car quickly came behind me with lights all flashing and pulled me over.  The officer asked me what I was doing in the parking lot and I told him I was injecting insulin and showed him my injection pen.  He said he thought I was injecting street drugs and smiled while asking me for my license, registration, and proof of insurance.  He told to me wait and he went back to his patrol car for about 10 minutes. When he returned to my car he told me my record was clear and I was free to go.

 He then noticed a book I had on my front passenger seat.  It was, “Was Church God’s Idea?” by my friend Marc Winter who I visited twice in Chattanooga this month.  He said he was a believer in Christ and he wanted to know what the book was about.  I told him that the book questioned whether or not the modern, traditional, institutional “Church” was really what God intended for HIS people.  When I said that the officer’s eyes got real wide and he told me that he had pondered that very question “many” times in his life.  He was tired of being spoon fed condescending simple sermons and desired more “meat” and interaction.  Right now he was “between” churches and looking for authentic fellowship.  We discussed the matter for over 15 minutes.  Then I gave him the book and encouraged him to read it and call me if he had any further questions.

Matt said he deeply appreciated our conversation and the gift of the book.  Next he asked me if I would pray with him about finding real fellowship in the area.  I told him I came to his city every few weeks and I then asked him if he would be willing to open his very own home for fellowship in the future.  He told me he would definitely pray and consider that as a viable option.  Then our conversation turned even more serious when he asked if we could pray for his 13 year old son who is now in a battle for his young life against spine cancer.  We then prayed with much passion for both his son Issac and his families need for true fellowship.

It seems that for Matt, God turned a potential drug bust into a new friendship and possibly a source of future fellowship. These past 7 months have been filled with numerous God ordained conversational opportunities in the oddest of situations for me.  I am not surprised that this awesome run has taken place all since I had my last PTSD episode.  It is as if I have broken through some sort of a wall that was impeding my progress in Christ and holding me back in numerous ways.  So this is what freedom looks like from the other side?  Oh yeah, I can get used to this.  I know that every good thing comes from Christ alone and I am so grateful for HIM.  I want to thank everyone out there who has been praying for me all these PTSD filled years.  I feel free!  Please pray also for Matt and his son?

Love and….

Kirk Out ! 

p.s.  To find out more about the book God has me giving away please go to:  www.waschurchgodsidea.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. bill permalink

    I think it interesting how you mentioned the Centurion. When we see or hear of someone in need of healing can we simply ask the Lord to say the word? CAN IT BE THAT SIMPLE???

  2. I’m so encouraged to hear of these “Godincidents” in your life, Chris. Our Father is at work every day, fulfilling the yearning and answering the questions from those who sincerely seek Him.

  3. Cindy permalink

    Wow..that is so amazing. I will be praying for his son.

Leave a Reply

