Skip to content

Elders? Yes Or No?

February 20, 2014

Greetings,

“So I exhort the elders among you, as a fellow elder and a witness of the sufferings of Christ as well as a partaker in the glory that is to be revealed.  Tend the flock of God that is your charge, not by constraint but willingly, not for shameful gain but eagerly, not as domineering over those in your charge but being examples to the flock.”  1 Peter 5: 1-3  Nestle-Aland Greek New Testament

Yes, there are such people as elders in the Body of Christ.  However, please notice that they are among us and NOT over us.  In my over 35 years of serving the body I have noticed that true elders do not accept titles or pay for their service.  No, they serve gladly and give of themselves continually without compensation or reward.  These older folk help us find safe pasture where we are able to grow and learn from The Master.  They help make sure we are safe in all matters of faith and practice.  

The Lord never meant for these gifts to become offices to be filled.  This is not about positions within the body, because there are really no positions in the true Body of Christ.  Because we are all equal siblings and Priests in God’s true Church.  There is no positional Leadership in the church, except that Jesus is King and we are not.  The only way to effectively lead in Christ’s Body is by example and relationship.  We are not to stand over and above others in the church and tell them what to do.  We will not Lord over others in the body.  What we will do is live lives worthy of the callings we have received.  We will be the same person in public or private.  We will love others by laying our lives down for them.  The greatest calling any of us can receive is that of being a servant to all.

I have witnessed the church function gloriously without professional, positional, paid leadership for over 35 years.  It can and does work very well.  The church does not need those with titles or positions to be effective in its ministry.  The church I am speaking of makes disciples and cares for others extremely well.  Any human hierarchy within the church hinders the church.  I know it is a simple way that I follow and in that way Jesus is the ONLY Head.  I will bow to Him and no other.  Who do you follow?  I certainly don’t want anyone to follow me.  I am just glad when folks choose to stand alongside me.

Love and …..

Kirk Out ! 

 

 

 

 

 

 
From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Ramma permalink

    Amen Brother, standing along side anyone who walks this way. This is truth spoken. Jesus only said to go make disciples, not set up “churches” as the world teaches. Blessings to all.

  2. Chris, I find it interesting that Peter starts out by saying, “So I exhort the elders among you, as a fellow elder…” He did not say, “You better listen to me because I am an apostle,” or “You have to hear me out because I am the first Pope.” No, he identified with them in a horizontal way, brother to brother. The to make the point he said that a true elder tends the flock of God, not as a lord over them or for selfish gain and is an example of Christ in the way he leads. I have to say that in all my fifty years of looking for an elder that lives this way, they have been very rare, but they have been a treasure when I found one and none of the ones I found had a title that they clung to or an exalted position that they held over the saints of God and they all supported themselves. “Let this mind be in you that was also in Christ Jesus…”

Leave a Reply

