Skip to content

Prepare To Be Amazed

January 29, 2014

Greetings,

“Pray also for me, that whenever I open my mouth, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel.”  Ephesians 6: 19

Someone recently asked me why I have so much success in leading people to Jesus.  They wanted to know if I had a rehearsed plan or spiel, like the Roman’s road or four spiritual laws, that I used to get folks to “buy in” to Jesus.  I can honestly say that I have no advance plan, agenda, script or formula that I follow in sharing Christ with others.  My sharing with them is always entirely spontaneous and Spirit led, moment by moment.

What I say to people can be a mixture of my personal testimony, actual words of Jesus, or other pertinent passages from the bible.  I always try to speak from the heart, not from a script.  I seriously doubt if I have ever used the same exact wording with more than one person.  I feel the main reason I easily connect with others is because I am authentic, real and genuine. With me what you see is exactly what you get with absolutely no guile or pretense. (But even I have bad days)  I sincerely love all people and it shows and that draws people to me I am certain.  I view all people as precious and valuable to God and potential members of my Spiritual family.  I see the spark of HIS Creation in everyone’s life and only want to offer them a full and rewarding relationship with Jesus and His Body.

Another reason I have been able to impact lives with the Love and acceptance of Christ is that I pray continually for Jesus to prepare the hearts and minds of the people He is going to put me in direct contact with.  I also pray and submit my will to Him asking that He continually prepare my heart, mind and message; so that I can always be ready for those He sends my way on a given day.  This is not rocket science.  I purposely make myself available to Him and others.  When I do this He equips me and makes me able to share the truth in love with whosoever will.  You see it is ALL about Him and not about me.

I hope you can now see how simple sharing Christ can be?  It doesn’t take smarts and extreme biblical knowledge.  All it takes is an open heart and complete surrender to the pathway He picks for you.  Along the way on that path you will encounter those who need His Love, Grace, Mercy and truth.  Then in the proper moment simply open your mouth and allow Him to speak His words through you.  It is all about simple conversations, real give and take dialogue.  Worked for Jesus, worked for Paul and it still works for me.  Perfect Love casts out all fear.  Trust Him in this and prepare to be amazed.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Love this part: “I see the spark of HIS Creation in everyone’s life and only want to offer them a full and rewarding relationship with Jesus. and His Body.”

  2. Yes, Esther, that sentence came straight from Him.

  3. Donna permalink

    I learn so much from you Chris!

    As I was reading the book of Romans, this verse from chapter 8:26-27 (NIV): “In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints in accordance to God’s will.”

    Another Scripture from Romans caught my eye tonight after the conversation we had last night; Romans 15:5-6 (NIV) “May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you a spirit of unity among yourselves as you follow Christ Jesus, so that with one heart and mouth you may glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.” I think a Spirit of unity is the key here.

    Here is another Scripture from Romans chapter 14 beginning at verse 20: “It is wrong for a man to eat anything that causes someone else to stumble. It is better not to eat meat or drink wine or to do anything else that will cause your brother to fall.” I knew it was in there! 🙂

  4. "BK" permalink

    “….that I might make known the mystery of the good news….” ….yes! The mystery is it is SO simple, just as you very well said it here, Chris. Reminds me of a life changing experience I had once. I was worshipping the Lord, hands raised, eyes closed. I felt someone take me by both wrists and begin to lift me upward. Higher & higher I went, peace increasing until it is beyond words to describe its depth. On the way up I was asking question after question, the Lord answering each one and I remember exclaiming over & over “It’s so SIMPLE! It’s so SIMPLE.” The thought crossed my mind, “This must be what Paul experienced when he was caught up to the third heaven and heard things unlawful to utter.” The Lord spoke back, “Yes. Not that it was against the law to utter them, but it is so simple it is pointless because no one will believe it!” Then I was back ‘on the ground’. I don’t remember one question or answer from that experience, but what stuck with me is the SIMPLICITY of it all. This was quite amazing for me, one who could quote huge portions of scripture, tying together verses throughout in order to ‘prove’ whatever lesson I was teaching, etc. I am still thankful for what verses I know, but I don’t use the ‘prove it from Genesis to Revelation’ method anymore. I do as Chris said, asking God to keep my eyes open so I don’t miss when He leads me to a hungry one (or leads me to someone who is to impart to me); and to prepare the hearts of those to whom He sends me. I keep things simple now, a little here, a little there; letting the Spirit open what He wills to any one person; letting them ask if they want to know something else and keeping my answer to the question….not my ‘vast knowledge’ of a subject. The simplicity of the good news is powerful….thanks for reminding us of that, Chris. Love you, brother, “BK”

Leave a Reply

