Skip to content

When Jesus Calls

January 27, 2014

Greetings,

“As Jesus was walking beside the Sea of Galilee, He saw two brothers, Simon called Peter and his brother Andrew.  They were casting a net into the lake, for they were fishermen.  ”Come, follow me,” Jesus said, “and I will make you fishers of men.”  At once they left their nets and followed Him.  Going on from there, He saw two other brothers, James son of Zebedee and his brother John.  They were in a boat with their father Zebedee, preparing their nets.  Jesus called them, and immediately they left the boat and their father and followed Him.”  Matthew 4: 18-22

Just a short and simple blog today.  What I see in this passage is that when Jesus calls our response needs to be “immediate” and “at once”.  It doesn’t matter what we are doing at the time or who is with us.  When Jesus speaks to us we need to drop everything else we are doing and respond to Him in that very moment.

I have to admit that I am not always good at responding exactly when He calls.  Sometimes I am far to involved in what I am doing and I choose to put Jesus on hold.  Not a smart thing to do, but I am willing to admit it and work on changing my ways.

 I really should know better because there have been many times when I did respond in the moment that He called to me.  Then later the circumstances confirmed that I made the right choice.  There have been several times that while driving I heard Jesus tell me to “Turn right now” or to “take another route”, only later to find out that there had been a terrible accident on the road I was taking before He spoke.  It may sound too simple or spooky Spiritual, but this is really the way He works in our lives at times.

I have learned through experience to respond immediately to His voice, even though what He says may seem insignificant in that moment.  I have told this story before, but I think it really fits here right now too.  While I was in college after a Resurrection Band concert I had promoted that night I made a food run for the guys who helped haul equipment.  I was in the Burger King drive thru waiting to order 5 whopper meals when Jesus spoke to me and said order a 6th meal.  It was only four bucks more so I did so and was obedient, not knowing why The Lord wanted me to change the order.  When I got back to the dorm I set the 6th meal up on top of the bunk bed while the five of us ate ours.  Five minutes later a guy named Tim stuck his head in the room and jokingly asked where his meal was and I was able to point to the top bunk and say, “it’s right up there.”  He ended up eating with us and when the conversation turned to the Lord, 20 minutes later Tim asked Jesus to be his Lord and Savior.  That’s right, because I was obedient to His voice at the BK drive thru somebody got saved.

It is very important that we are faithful in the small and seemingly insignificant things.  Because ” We know that in ALL things God works for the good of those who love Him.” ( Romans 8)  EVERYTHING MATTERS!  We need to practice and learn to hear His voice because He doesn’t always shout or put it up on a billboard.  Responding to His voice in a timely manner could mean the difference between life and death.  ”His sheep hear His voice and obey.”  We need to always be open and available to Him whenever He calls.

Love and ….

Kirk Out !

P.s. I guess it turned out not so short or simple

 

 

 

 

 
From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Ramma permalink

    This is so true. It seems like many times things like this happen when we kind of feel a little distant from God or haven’t heard too much from Him in a while. I love how He “wows” His children with I’ve been here all the time! And He puts such a warm love in our hearts. that “knowing” it was our Savior. Our last experience was at Thanksgiving this past year. We had invited our children and several others. The others that we had invited, one by one canceled out. The children came, but not all at once. First it was my son who had called and ask if he could bring a co-worker, his brother and a cousin who was visiting from Utah. We said sure…..and the Lord “wowed” us. Our daughter-in-law is ex-Mormon with a chip on her shoulder, ( God kept her occupied that she couldn’t get to our house until after these boys had went home). The co-worker and his brother are attending a Muslim church with their parents and their cousin is about to step into the Mormon religion. They were open and asking many questions, and we asked as well. There was such a love in the room and we knew God was up to something. They have asked to come back and talk with us again. We had not planned it, God gave us the words and love in our hearts for them and them for us. I believe something good will come of it someday. But God wanted us to be instantly available to the leading of the Holy Spirit. Thank you for the uplifting messages.

  2. "BK" permalink

    Both of these posts are wonderful! Reminds me of when it tells of the Spirit telling Philip to join himself to the eunuch (book of Acts) and it says “Philip ran….”. So touched me. And it meant enough to God that it is a story told for centuries afterward. Yes, thank you for the uplifting
    messageS. “BK”

Leave a Reply

