Skip to content

HUGE Grace

January 23, 2014

Greetings,

“When you were dead in your sins and in the uncircumcision of your sinful nature, God made you alive with Christ.  He forgave us all our sins, having canceled the written code, with its regulations, that was against us and that stood opposed to us; He took it away, nailing it to the cross.  And having disarmed the powers and authorities, He made a public spectacle of them, triumphing over them by the cross.”  Colossians 2: 13-15

Wow, very heavy words!  What struck me when reading this passage is that God made us alive with Christ even before we repented and believed in Him.  That just opens a huge can of theological worms, doesn’t it?  I mean while we were dead in our sins and all about our sinful nature, that is when He made us alive and saved us.  All of this occurred before we ever confessed and asked Him into our lives.  According to this passage the cross was triumphant in our lives even before we ever acknowledged Jesus as our Lord and savior.

Can it be that we were actually saved long before we ever knew it?  How does this passage fit in with Romans 10: 9 &10?  There it says that IF we confess and believe we will be saved.  However, God is not restricted by time, so maybe the order in which we confess doesn’t really matter.  I still feel that we need to acknowledge Him and the work that He did on the cross, but it seems that God had us firmly in the palm of His hand way before we did anything on our own accord to receive Him.

It seems to me that grace was given and applied before we ever had a clue as to who He really was.  His providence was in effect even before our cooperation was ever considered.  Don’t get me wrong I still feel we need to cooperate and work out our salvation with fear and trembling, but I will also say that the Grace of our Lord is immensely deeper and wider than almost any church has presented it in history.  My current beliefs fall a little short of fully endorsing the idea of Universal Reconciliation, but theologically, and socially my beliefs lean further left than they ever have.  I value relationship over doctrine any day.  Is that just because I am getting old, or is it yet another renewal of my heart and mind?  Either way I still say that Grace is HUGE and we are small.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

 
From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Gary Graham permalink

    The gift is there, the work is God’s. He made us alive, He makes us able to receive His gift! His Spirit allows us to declare my Lord & my God! Huge & Amazing indeed!

  2. I have come to believe that a lot of the “working out our salvation with fear and trembling” is coming to terms with how little it has/had to do with me.

  3. Bobt Demers permalink

    How is it humanly possible to love God or anyone with fear and trembling? What virtue is there in obeying God out of fear? To do so seems to be rather self-serving. Or could this be a matter of misunderstanding rather than conflict?

  4. Bobt, a better translation would be “awe” instead of fear as in being afraid. For HE is AWEsome in all ways.

  5. I see their is a Spiritual Fear and a worldly, flesh fear, that steals, kills and destroys, where as Christ came to give live more abundantly, life in the Spirit of God, via the resurrection
    So as I found I could not work out my own salvation, and in 100% need for Christ the redeemer alone, for no works of my own could ever save me
    1 John 4:19
    We love because he first loved us.

    Thank you all for you all’s insight
    Praying what is written helps as well to each of us, seeing clearer and clearer to it is all God and none of us, no matter how well it appears we do or not do.
    Nothing can ever change God’s Mercy to us all,
    Thanks

  6. It is all Faith in Christ’s finished work for us and to believe He did it all for us all here todaybefore any of us here were ever born
    I know, I can’t improve on the below scripture can anyone else?
    Colossians 1:21-23

    Living Bible (TLB)

    21 This includes you who were once so far away from God. You were his enemies and hated him and were separated from him by your evil thoughts and actions, yet now he has brought you back as his friends. 22 He has done this through the death on the cross of his own human body, and now as a result Christ has brought you into the very presence of God, and you are standing there before him with nothing left against you—nothing left that he could even chide you for; 23 the only condition is that you fully believe the Truth, standing in it steadfast and firm, strong in the Lord, convinced of the Good News that Jesus died for you, and never shifting from trusting him to save you. This is the wonderful news that came to each of you and is now spreading all over the world. And I, Paul, have the joy of telling it to others.

    I know and have tried to improve on perfection and can’t so I waived my white flag and gave up to just trust God at God’s word and by this am free to be as led, the same as Christ showed us to depend on Father alone, while he was here on earth, He did or said nothing without Father’s lead. I wonder is this the sending of the same Spirit to us starting at Pentecost for us to be led as Christ was and so by Faith we walk as he walked?

  7. "BK" permalink

    “How does this passage fit in with Romans 10: 9 &10? There it says that IF we confess and believe we will be saved.” Christianity has attached baggage to that word ‘saved’, giving it an eternal ‘either/or’ connotation. I studied it out once (again just now) and it doesn’t mean anything like that. It means healed from a disease or delivered from danger. So, if we would plug in “If we confess and believe we will be delivered”….from any situation or battle or danger or sickness at any given time I find it more of a reality of how the walk of salvation works in this life. Yes, I DO believe salvation of my soul (the eternal kind) happened without my permission, consent….He didn’t ask me what I thought. How I come through life’s trials now, each one of them, depends on my coming to Him or not. I always say I didn’t ask for Adam to fall; nor was I consulted when Jesus redeemed me and connected me back to the Father at Calvary. HOW I get there, my journey, is determined by my choices (and often His intervention) along the way. Does that make any sense? “BK”

    • That passage does not say to to confess and believe to others, It is talking this about one to God and you personally. For God is the one that knows who do believe and those that just say they do for their own gain, And is why God chooses whom to have Mercy on, knowing ones motives. Even though he died for all, salvation is not death. No life in death.
      Death’s purpose: to cleanse the deck and then install new life in the Spirit from Father by the resurrected Christ, (Heb. 9:15-17)
      But the death of Christ had to cleanse us perfect first unto Father who can see no sin thanks to Christ, so we can have new life right here right now, not in the flesh any longer, now in the Spirit of God
      Romans 5:5
      and hope maketh not ashamed; because the love of God is shed abroad in our hearts by the Holy Ghost which is given unto us.
      Colossians 1:22

      Authorized (King James) Version (AKJV)

      22 in the body of his flesh through death, to present you holy and unblameable and unreproveable in his sight:

      God did this waiting for us to accept and be born again in the Spirit, where today is the only way God is worshiped John 4:23-24
      John 4:23
      But the hour cometh, and now is, when the true worshippers shall worship the Father in spirit and in truth: for the Father seeketh such to worship him.
      John 4:24
      God is a Spirit: and they that worship him must worship him in spirit and in truth.

    • His intervention is to cause us to stand as in Romans 14:4 and verse 10 and 1 Cor. 3 where it is God that gives the increase not me, you or anyone else, God takes whatever we hear and say and corrects us wherever we are wrong, and causes us to stand. Read all of Rom. 14, seeing deeper than just as if it was only about food, for it is much deeper. Food was just the trouble at that time
      Love you and your post

Leave a Reply

