Skip to content

Another Trip To Babylon

January 21, 2014

This blog post is about a year old, but it felt right to post it here again today.

******************************************************************

Greetings,

“……to open eyes that are blind, to free captives from prison and to release from the dungeon those who sit in darkness.”  Isaiah 42:7

Sunday morning I visited Babylon again.  The woman I have been dating for over a month wanted me to meet some of her friends.  She came to home fellowship here last week.  So it was only fair that I went with her this week.

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.  It was a non-denominational “Bible” “Church” of about 200 members.  Turns out that one of their associate pastors was a professor at the “Christian” college I graduated from 24 years ago.  We attended the 9 am service and the adult Sunday School class at 10:30 am.  True to their name they handled the bible very well and I could not find any errors in the sermon or the class.

The Pastor shared about Jesus walking on the water and calming the storm.  His main point was that we all must face storms in our lives, but the storms serve the purpose of drawing us closer to the Lord if we choose to endure.  The Sunday school teacher shared about different kings in the book of Isaiah.  Sunday school was somewhat interactive, allowing for comments and questions.  The sermon was a typical monologue, but was casually delivered with a touch of humor.

So overall I had a pleasant time there and the people were extremely friendly and welcoming.  However, it still wasn’t right and I left there feeling sorry for all who attend there regularly.  Like I said it was pleasant, but it still was not freedom in Christ.  Even with all the positive attributes it was still a prison and HIS people were being held in captivity. 

Sure it was a low security prison with free designer coffee and comfortable cushioned seats, but it was still a prison none the less.  The people there were not free to use their priesthood and God-given gifts to bless the whole congregation.  It was still a one man show, even though the man was gifted, friendly and entertaining.  The Lord showed me that this “church” was like a zoo.  All the animals there were well fed and cared for, but at what cost?  They were still being denied their best habitat because they were not allowed to be totally free and open.  There were no locks on the doors, but this place was still a cage.

People have told me in the past to be happy for those who are happy in their current “church” situation.  However, I am not happy…in fact I wept and was filled with sorrow when I got back home.  Even though they had a nice and gifted Clergyman, the Clergy/Laity division was still solidly in place.  There was no true freedom in worship there.  The gifts of the many were held down while the gift of the one was given total preeminence.  Some will still say to me …look at how happy the animals are?  I say blindman it’s a cage!

Love and…….

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

 

 
From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. The problem is “nice”. I did a search for ‘nice’ in the topical index at biblegateway.com. Here is the result:

    No results found for search term “nice”.

    I think that sums things up nicely. 🙂

  2. Skylla Moon permalink

    Come out of her my people ….. I think this means stay out, jus sayin 🙂

Leave a Reply

