Skip to content

News Flash! Captain Kirk Attends A Lutheran “Church” Service?

December 22, 2013

Greetings,

“Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace to men on whom His favor rests.”  Luke 2: 14

It’s true!  This morning I went to a Lutheran “Church” building to see my friend Doug Oxford give a Christmas concert.  I went to Spring Arbor College with Doug and we have been good friends for over 25 years.  Doug is divinely gifted as a vocalist and guitarist and I drove all the way to Toledo to support him today.  Doug lives in Augusta Georgia so we don’t get to see each other that often.  Great news is that there was no sermon today.  However, before Doug played they followed a very traditional liturgy stocked full of tradition and other things I can hardly stand.

Preferences aside I have to admit that Jesus was present during the entire service, and even more so when Doug shared.  Finding Jesus there did not surprise me, for I know regardless of style HE is always where 2 or more gather in His Name.  What did surprise me was how The Lord touched me and brought me to tears during a responsive reading.  The utter truth and sincerity of the following prayer nearly brought me to my knees……..

Advent is a time to bind up the brokenhearted.

Come Lord, and make all things new.

For past wrongs that prevent us from moving forward.

Come Lord, and make all things new.

For any bitterness that scratches our soul.

Come Lord, and make all things new.

For relationships left in decay and neglect.

Come Lord, and make all things new.

For any action that has wounded us or by which we have wounded others.

Grant that we might have the peace of Christ as we wait, the love of Christ as we act, and the grace of Christ as we speak.

Very true and powerful words.  Words that felt good leaving my heart and lips.  Because I fight bitterness towards those who abused and raped me, and certain aspects of my divorce have left a bitter taste in my mouth.  I am tired of my soul being scratched by those events and I know that my heart needs more healing.  Plus everyone who knows me knows that relationships are what I value most in life.  However, at the end of my marriage there was certainly decay and neglect due to 12 years of PTSD hell.  PTSD consumed our lives.  I know that my marriage will not be fully restored, but I hope that I will be allowed to make amends as a friend to my ex-wife someday.

Peace, Love and Grace for our waiting, actions and words.  I want these excellent things at the forefront of my life.  Today God used a traditional Lutheran Liturgy to touch my heart anew.  Proof that The Lord can use anything at any time to reach us.  I still wholeheartedly believe that totally free and open, Spirit led, organic fellowship is the Lord’s desire for us all.  Traditions, Clergy, liturgies and programs all get in the way of true fellowship with God and one another.  These things cripple the Body of Christ and ultimately deny the Priesthood of every believer.  But then again, everything in the Lord’s time and season.  Today I went to a “church” building to support a friend and was pleasantly surprised.  Did I mention that Doug’s songs and sharing were anointed and excellent?  Once again the Lord showed me that interaction with believers of all stripes can be a great blessing.  Don’t be afraid to seek God outside of your personal comfort zones.  If I, of all people, can lend himself to visit those with different practices and beliefs I am certain that anyone else can too.  Follow Jesus and the leading of The Spirit wherever He may take you.

Love and …..

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. Chris for everyone, has their own story of what has gone on in their life and reasons for belief and not, as you do, I do and all,
    I want to say thanks for taking the time to listen, that makes a difference

  2. Gary Graham permalink

    Most liturgy has been pulled from the Psalms or other scriptures. Martin Luther’s intent was to move the church from spectators to participants.Regretfully ignorance over the centuries have rendered tradition as sacred in some congregations.

  3. Jayne Otterson permalink

    Yes…it is amazing where God leads us and how he will feed our souls. I am glad that HE showed up for you but I am not surprised….HE is sooooo good!!! Keep on keeping on and healing will continue to over-take your life….He is the master at making beauty out of ashes.

  4. Ramma permalink

    God is so wonderful to us. We should always expect him to be there, if we have Him abiding in us. We are the ones taking Him…(so to speak) and anyone else who follows him is also taking Him. He comes in His children. 🙂

  5. FREEDOM!!! Thanks for sharing God’s great work that is going on in you, my brother.

  6. “Don’t be afraid to seek (and expect!) God outside your personal comfort zones.” God never ceases to surprise me and amaze me! We just can’t put him in a box. Great write, Chris.

  7. John Contabile permalink

    If it wasn’t a Missouri Synod Lutheran church, well, then…

    lol…

    Blessings, brother!

    “Come Lord, and make all things new.”

    Indeed…

  8. For those who are inwardly free from the bondage of religion, inspiration can be found anywhere, yes, occasionally even in a church. Blessed are the pure in heart for they shall see God….everywhere!

Leave a Reply

