Skip to content

Even Paul Needed Correction And Accountability

December 20, 2013

Greetings,

“After this, Paul left Athens and went to Corinth.  There he met a Jew named Aquila, a native of Pontus, who had recently come from Italy with his wife Priscilla, because Claudius had ordered all the Jews to leave Rome.  Paul went to see them, and because he was a tentmaker as they were, he stayed and worked with them.  Every Sabbath he reasoned in the synagogue, trying to persuade Jews and Greeks.  When Silas and Timothy came from Macedonia, Paul devoted himself exclusively to preaching, testifying to the Jews that Jesus was the Christ.  But when the Jews opposed Paul and became abusive, he shook out his clothes in protest and said to them,”Your blood be on your own heads!  I am clear of my responsibility.  From now on I will go to the Gentiles.”  Then Paul left the synagogue and went next door to the house of Titius Justus, a worshiper of God.  Crispus, the synagogue ruler, and his entire household believed in the Lord; and many of the Corinthians who heard him believed and were baptized.  Acts 18:1-8

I believe I see something in this passage.  Something that can be easily missed in everyday reading, but I still see it now.  What I see is the body of Christ reaching out and giving accountability and encouragement to Paul.

Before Silas and Timothy arrived in Corinth Paul was going to the synagogue and REASONING with the Jews and Greeks trying to PERSUADE them and it seems like he was not getting very good results.  However, as soon as Silas and Timothy show up Paul completely changes his message and method away from human reasoning and persuasion to EXCLUSIVELY PREACHING and TESTIFYING that Jesus was the Christ.  I contend that it is quite possible that Silas and Timothy corrected Paul and brought about this change in his ministry in Corinth.

I know I may be reaching here, but when I have shared this with others in the body over the years it has been for the most part well received.  One thing for sure is that something changed when Silas and Timothy came to Corinth.  I also know that human reasoning and persuasion never bring the type of results that preaching and testifying in The Spirit do.  Here we see Paul changing his message and method and right away he gets a response.  Sure the initial response is opposition and abuse, but shortly thereafter Paul moves his ministry to a home and then many Corinthians believed and were baptized.

There is a huge difference between using our heads and using our hearts.  Knowledge puffs up and can often stand in the way of real Spirit led sharing.  I know this because I have been there and I have gladly received correction from the body many times.  Paul was human just as we are and he made mistakes just like we do.  When we gather with other believers for free & open fellowship perhaps the main question we ask ourselves when we are about to share is…..Is it me, or is it God?  Quite frankly the only way to find out is to go ahead and share and allow the body to judge our offerings.  Many are afraid to share because they might be wrong, but in our fear there is so much pride and in our pride so much fear.  The only way to work through this with one another is to be honest and allow those we have come to love and trust to judge our sharing.  So I say when you think you have something to share… GO FOR IT!  Because we can all share in turn and allow the Spirit to work among and in us.  It takes the whole body functioning as it should to determine what His message is on any given day.  Me?  I want encouragement and accountability.  When we all share, the message is beautiful and bears fruit.  So please share away and allow the body to determine what is excellent and of The Spirit.

Love and ….

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 
From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. bill permalink

    Could it be possible with Timothy and Silas arriving, it freed Paul up from making tents, so he could devote himself completely to the word and testifying that Jesus was the Christ?

    And who’s to say that Paul’s reasoning and persuading were mere human effort and not in the Spirit?

    So, I shared brother as you asked. Sorry I don’t agree.

    I do want you to know though, that I truly appreciate your zeal for the Lord’s House, made up of living stones. And I don’t think you’ll find sleep for your eyes, or slumber for your eyelids until His dwelling place is complete with every stone in it’s proper place.

    I love you brother,

    Bill

    • Bill thanks for sharing your truth in what you have received, and are growing in his grace as well as the rest that do believe consciously, Thank you.
      I do believe Paul who was Saul knew truth better than anyone else as he was taught directly from God in the Arabian desert for two years at least, found in Galatians book
      It was as like as if there was a chalk board behind him as he faced Christ in the desert, and Christ said to him see that board behind you with that eraser and chalk. Paul says yes and sees all of Saul’s life written on that board from birth on.
      God says take that eraser and erase all that life, you are now dead to it.
      He does and God has him pick up that chalk and write truth, so Paul brings truth to all Jew and Gentile to receive by Faith in the Finished work of Christ and Christ alone unto Father is where new life is found, not by works ever of self.

  2. Good post, yes something changed, He was done with talking to the legalistic. He had been one and even killed those that were turning to Christ. He knew in his heart, what was wrong and tried hard to get it across.
    Remembering he was missing for years after his conversion in the Arabian desert, This is where he as I see was being taught anew. He had to relearn everything he learned from birth on to that day in the desert where he was taught by God. He was an apostle born out of due time.
    Anyway, we all I think go through that process of learning to one extent or another. I do not necessarily think it was Silas and Timothy that changed his way of going about it as I am sure they were helpful to see what was going on, and is where Paul realized to not put any confidence in flesh at all ever.
    So he wrote this in Phil 3:3, Romans 6, 7 , and 8. In Galatians he wrote to not trust flesh and that flesh is what is in our way, to count that dead daily with Christ at the death of Christ and be alive daily with God at the resurrected Christ.
    unredeemed flesh and the Spirit of God is what is at battle to this very day, Gal. 4:29

    So after seeing this truth written all through the epistles, one might re-read what he told the disciples before this new covenant of Faith came into play that now is, yet was the same before by Faith

    Matthew 10:16-20 note: verse 20, I think is for all those that believe today, and one can rest when God does the work through you. Just some meat to chew and swallow well, if one sees this.

    Authorized (King James) Version (AKJV)

    16 Behold, I send you forth as sheep in the midst of wolves: be ye therefore wise as serpents, and harmless as doves. 17 But beware of men: for they will deliver you up to the councils, and they will scourge you in their synagogues; 18 and ye shall be brought before governors and kings for my sake, for a testimony against them and the Gentiles. 19 But when they deliver you up, take no thought how or what ye shall speak: for it shall be given you in that same hour what ye shall speak. 20 For it is not ye that speak, but the Spirit of your Father which speaketh in you.

    Thanks Chris for all your insight you are learning

  3. Bill and all, I do not believe that Paul stopped making tents when the brothers arrived. Paul speaks many times about how he worked hard among the people and how he thought working, instead of just preaching, was the example he wanted to set for all. It even says he did not eat anyone’s food without paying for it. In Corinth he refused pay for ministry saying that taking pay would discredit the Gospel. However, I appreciate your comment because it is good to discuss various possibilities of what the passage may be saying. Paul made tents in Corinth, Ephesus and Thessalonica, this is clear in the scriptures. Paul was not a Clergyman who needed or wanted support from others. He paid his own way wherever he went and was never a burden upon others for support.

    • That is a fact, he never wanted to harm the Gospel as in ever taking anything for it as pay ever, even though he had the right to
      39.1 Corinthians 9:12
      If others be partakers of this power over you, are not we rather? Nevertheless we have not used this power; but suffer all things, lest we should hinder the gospel of Christ.

  4. bill permalink

    dear brother Chris and others……..I want to make it clear that I don’t by any means adhere to a clergy system of church. But I will bring forth some scriptures to show that Paul DID receive help.

    Let’s go to 2Cor11 starting at verse 7- “Or did I commit a sin by humbling myself so that you might be exalted, because I preached the gospel of God to you free of charge? 8 I robbed other churches by taking pay from them to minister to you. 9 When I was present with you and in need, I did not burden anyone, for the brothers who came from Macedonia supplied my needs.”

    Brothers who came from Macedonia…….could this be Silas and Timothy?

    and Paul goes on to explain why he will continue to not burden the Corinithians in verse 12-“And I’m not changing my position on this. I’d die before taking your money. I’m giving nobody grounds for lumping me in with those money-grubbing “preachers,” vaunting themselves as something special.” (this is from the Message Bible. I thought it quite applicable)

    And what about Philipians 4:15&16- “And you Philippians know that in the early days of the gospel, when I left Macedonia, no church shared with me in the matter of giving and receiving except you alone. For even in Thessalonica you sent gifts for my need several times.”

    And then we have Phil 2:25-30…But I considered it necessary to send you Epaphroditus—my brother, coworker, and fellow soldier, as well as your messenger and minister to my need— since he has been longing for all of you and was distressed because you heard that he was sick. Indeed, he was so sick that he nearly died. However, God had mercy on him, and not only on him but also on me, so that I would not have one grief on top of another. For this reason, I am very eager to send him so that you may rejoice when you see him again and I may be less anxious. Therefore, welcome him in the Lord with all joy and hold men like him in honor, because he came close to death for the work of Christ, risking his life to make up what was lacking in your ministry to me.”

    So there are some instances where Paul has his needs met by others.

    Chris, I know you have a bone of contention with the clergy system and the whole system of organized religious Christianity. And so do I. God is being robbed of fully mature sons, because that system keeps the kids, kids.

    Perhaps I should share with y’all a situation that changed my view on receiving.

    It was the summer of ’07 and I was working in Grand Teton Nat’l Park at a resort area. A fellow employee there and sister in the Spirit named Melody asked me if I could give her a ride to Jackson(about 30mi. away) in order for her to send a money order to her daughter. She said she’d give me gas money. I replied that that wouldn’t be necessary since I wouldn’t mind going to town anyway.

    So we go to town and I take her to the grocery store so she could send the money order. After she gets the money order I told her I wanted to go the liquor store next door to get some wine. While waiting in line to pay for my wine she sticks a $50 bill in my empty hand. I told her, “I can’t take this.” She looked me dead in the eye and said, “YOU need to learn how to receive.” I heard the Lord through her and it was a rebuke.

    So where do we go from here? I say onward. Let’s press on. There’s a glorious award awaiting us at the finish line.

    May the Father of glory grant us endurance and patience to press on. For the sake of His Holy Name and Glory!!!

    • Receiving, is what is most important, but not money, items, things of this earth. Receive what?, maybe new life first and foremost above all.
      For if you seek God and the kingdom above all, will all your needs be supplied? Is that a promise? Is God a liar. Has man abused and used the system, man created?
      So how do each of us know the difference and when and what to do?
      So maybe be wise as a serpent, yet harmless as a dove. How can we do that? By any of our own works? or by trust as in Matt. 10:16-20. So we know when to give what to give and how much to give, and that does not stop at money, much deeper that that
      Thanks for listening, love hearing all the points

Leave a Reply

