Skip to content

My Shitty, But Amazing Day

October 7, 2013

Greetings,

Jesus said:

“Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock.  The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against the house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock.  But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand.  The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash.”  Matthew 7: 24-27

Today has been one of those storm filled days.  First I hardly slept at all last night due to severe PTSD flashbacks.  Then I woke up to discover that my computer had crashed last night while downloading Windows updates.  I dropped it off at the computer shop right at 9 am and they were going to run diagnostics while I drove 40 miles to see my counselor. Well I never made it to counseling session because I had a flat tire on the way there.  It took me about 30 minutes to dig the temporary “doughnut” tire out of my hatchback and to change it as the rain poured down on me.

From there I drove straight to the tire store, hoping that they would have a good used tire for me.  No such luck today, so I gave them 70 bucks to have a new tire put on.  After that I went back to the computer shop and they confirmed my worst fear…. the hard drive was shot and no files were retrievable.  I lost photos, some songs I had written, and the beginnings of a potential book I was working on, but nothing much else that was really valuable to me.  So basically no harm , no foul; except it was going to cost me 175 more bucks to replace the hard drive with a bigger and better one. Good news was they were going to fix it for me today with no extra charge for the expedited service.

 However, having to lay out 245 dollars just to get through the day really hit my finances hard.  I live on a small fixed income from my disability plus whatever I receive from my small private counseling practice.  Most of my clients I see pro bono, but a few can pay me about 15 dollars a session and I just love being able to help those who can’t afford to go to a bigger, much more expensive, counseling agency.  Many who are court ordered into substance abuse counseling have to end up going to jail because of the lack of affordable counseling in our area.  I have always trusted the Lord to provide for me and He has never let me down since I have been on my own since age 14.  HE has never given me a reason not to trust Him and I have no reason to doubt Him now.  So I am certain it will all work out this time too.  

So at noon I went back to my apartment and tried to take a nap, but the flashbacks were too intense for sleep.  So I prayed and read for over an hour, fighting through the flashbacks along the way.  I then decided to go early to park in front of Lydia’s school and wait for her release at 2:30 pm.  However, when I went out to get into my car I discovered that the brand new tire was flat.  So I called Firestone and the owner said he would be right over with a new tire.  When he arrived we had a discussion as he changed the tire and very soon I was sharing with Him the riches of Christ.  Ten minutes later, right outside my apartment, Bill asked Jesus to invade and take charge of his life.  Unbelievable!  Out of my severe lack today Christ arose and overflowed from my stinking life.  Jesus is totally amazing in spite of my affliction, pain and loss.  Somehow my shitty day ended up blessing someone else.  For awhile there I thought the storm was going to win today and destroy my foundation, but Jesus thought differently because He knows I love and trust Him like no other.  “On Christ the Solid Rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand.”

Love and….

Kirk Out !

p.s. Bill tore up my check and gave me the new tire for free.  I refused him, but he said he felt that God wanted him to do it.  What a wild, crazy and wonderful day?  Plus no flashbacks since praying with Bill.

 

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. "BK" permalink

    Awesome! Thanks for sharing…..made my heart sing. Also the previous post about your growing relationship with Laura. When a relationship is allowed to blossom, it is like a watching a beautiful flower as it opens. Continuing in prayer with you on those flash backs! Love, “BK”

  2. Wow Chris, isn’t Jesus amazing! I had a similar day, I drove a load of cabbage to town for a neighbor this morning and my head gasket blew. This in and of itself is not really a big deal, if you have the $$$ and the time to be without any vehicle while you do the repairs. We are however hosting a medical brigade in November and have a FULL list of things to do each day between now and when they arrive, so having the truck out of service for a week just now was NOT part of the plan.
    AS it happened my truck broke down right in front of a friends house, so we ended up sitting around and visiting for several hours as we waited for a neighbor to come help with a tow. At first I could feel myself getting all uptight and bent out of shape, but as we visited our friend I began to give thanks for having this opportunity to see him and talk at length. (Something we had not been able to do all year.) As I made the decision to be thankful for where I was, and the opportunities it presented, all my anxieties quickly faded! There is really something about just living in the moment and being thankful through whatever is happening at the moment that really brings a great peace and comfort. It seems I have to learn this simple lesson over and over again each day with each problem I face. Thank God for Jesus, and him being wrapped in flesh and being tempted like we are in EVERY way, so He knows how to comfort us no matter what we face, cause he has gone through it too!

    Thanks Chris for your honesty, sharing about your shitty day really glorifies Jesus, and was a great encouragement to me! You go bro!

    • "BK" permalink

      “There is really something about just living in the moment and being thankful…” I was asking the Lord about ‘eternity’ once and He spoke so clearly to my heart, “Eternity is forever now. When you abide in Me, you abide in eternity and live each moment in life & fulness.” Pretty cool 🙂 “BK”

Leave a Reply

