Skip to content

With Help I Can Now Stand

September 7, 2013

Greetings,

“Hear my prayer, O Lord; listen to my cry for mercy.  In the day of my trouble I will call to you, for you will answer me.”           Psalm 86: 6-7

What a wonderful difference getting a little sleep makes?  Since posting about my recent PTSD troubles I have had two consecutive nights of most excellent sleep without any nightmares or flashbacks.  The four days previous were filled with terror, fear and the reliving of childhood sexual trauma.

I can’t thank God enough for all your prayers and words of encouragement.  I cried out for help and the Body of Christ heard and responded in full force.  All of the chats, phone calls and prayers lifted my Spirit and gave me the strength I needed to press forward through the flashbacks and into His grace and mercy.  Today the flashbacks are the farthest thing from my mind and I am resting fully in the peace of the Lord.

I have no idea what caused my recent PTSD woes, but some suggested that it may have been the enemy attacking me due to my recent success at helping others come to Jesus.  It did feel like an attack, but I hate to give satan any credit whatsoever.  However, I must say that during the last seven months I have felt better mentally, emotionally, physically and Spiritually than I have since the flashbacks began 14 years ago.

Now because of the love and support of Jesus and His Body I am able to stand in strength and face whatever life may throw at me.  Seldom in the last seven months have I felt anxiety or depression to the point that it affected my daily walk and overall health.  I guess I say all this to boldly proclaim that prayer and continual communion with the Lord via relationships within the Body works like nothing else can to keep a person healthy and Spiritually productive.  I mean I feel great for the first time in many years.  Perfect love does really cast out all fear!  Darkness may last for a night, but joy comes in the morning.  Whether it be face to face, phone to phone, or computer to computer, please take time to develop relationships with the Body of Christ as Jesus leads and connects you.  The love and support you will find in the Body will carry you when you find you can’t walk on your own anymore.  I need my sisters and brothers to help me to stand and so do you.  I found my Spiritual family outside of that thing some call the traditional “church”.  I don’t have a Pastor over me.  I have only Jesus over me and His Body stands beside me.  There is abundant life outside of the traditional camp.  Seek and you shall find!

Love and …….

Kirk Out !

P.s.  Thanks everyone for allowing me to share my journey here.  Blogging about the PTSD and other things does wonders for my soul.  When I expose my darkness to the LIGHT in this manner it brings me much healing and joy.  After all, “we are only as sick as our secrets.”

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. One of the simplest ways to show the love, and demonstrate the power of Jesus is this, “Pray for one another”. Glad you are experiencing the love and power of Jesus always. : )

  2. "BK" permalink

    I just read this morning, “bear one another’s loads and so fulfull the law of Christ”. Amen and amen! Thrilled for you, Chris, “BK”

Leave a Reply

