Skip to content

The Commandment Is Simply To Love

August 22, 2013

Greetings,

“One of them, an expert in the law, tested Him with this question: ‘Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?’  Jesus replied: ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’  This is the first and greatest commandment.  And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’  All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”                    Matthew 22: 35-40

There it is!  Anyway you slice it, it is all about love.  If this is true, then why do we struggle so much where it comes to love?  Many wrestle with this all important concept.  Saying they have difficulty “feeling” God’s love for them.  

I have several friends who have continual problems feeling loved and accepted by God or anyone else.  To be totally honest at times I experience periods of feeling unloved too.  For some reason many judge themselves as being unworthy of love and they have great difficulty accepting that God’s love is totally unconditional.  My struggles with love seem to be rooted in childhood issues.  Having been seriously abused by my natural father has caused me to feel totally rejected by just about everyone at some point in my life.  I thank God that He has relentlessly pursued me with His love in spite of my attempts to run and hide from Him all these years.

Feelings of rejection can hinder loves power and effect in our lives.  I have dear friends who have experienced rejection from various “churches” over the years and the judgment they felt inflicted upon them impacted their ability to receive and perceive love from God for many years.  When God’s supposed “instrument” of love turns on you, it is nearly impossible to escape feeling unloved by God to a certain degree.

We love God because He first loved us and while we were still sinners He entered into relationship with us and He will never leave or forsake us now.  Loving Him is certainly easier than loving our neighbors, yet God asks us to love our neighbors as we love ourselves.  Right there is a huge sticking point for many of us who love God. How does one effectively love their neighbor when they find great difficulty in first loving themselves?  There are no easy answers that is for sure.  However, for me it all starts and ends with the Love of Christ.  When I endeavor and surrender to spending time in the Spirit with Him…His love is magnified greatly and I am able to allow myself to be filled with a greater understanding of His affection and care for me.  And when I feel His love in and for me I have a greater potential of loving myself and serving and loving others.  It all begins and ends with love.  Love is the answer!  Feeling unworthy of love?  None of us deserve it.  It is a gift!  It is unconditional and given freely to us all by His grace and great mercy.

Love and….

Kirk Out !

 

 

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Well said Kirk! All hate, all fear, all the divisions we see in religion and our own prejudices that remain… are all rooted in a lack of revelation of Christ’s love for us, when He died for us on our worst day. I just, as of minutes ago, posted something on the Song of Solomon, struck with how this is a Bride that no longer has any doubts or fears. She knows what she wants… HIS kisses. Even when she reminisces about her past (why she is dark skinned)…she still says she is beautiful. 🙂
    Thanks Kirk, for your refreshing beautiful voice in your blog. Be blessed!

  2. "BK" permalink

    Well said, Chris. I was just thinking as I sat down to breakfast this morning, “Love never fails….”. Signed on and read your post. It blessed me. It is my testimony. Love, “BK”

  3. Perfect Love casts out (from within us) all that is of fear, leaving us to Love perfectly ‘in’ Him

  4. Shelby Shock Marsh permalink

    For me, the term ‘Father’ didn’t have positive connotations. Also for the record, ‘Love’ was another term that didn’t pan out in my life. The experiences I had growing up made the idea of calling God ‘Father’ a stumbling block for me. So He had to tear-down my idea of Father & love and then build upon a new foundation. A faultless foundation. He also had to show me who I was so that I could love others as I loved who He created when He created me. We were each made in His image & it is important that His image is clear or we love from the wrong tree…we will love based on our knowledge instead of His infinite, perfect Life. I love how He heals us not just so we are healed, but He heals us also so that we bring glory to His name as we share our times of being more than conquerors with those He wants to set free. Thanks for your great insight, Captain!

  5. Shelby, God as a Father did not click with me either, but I have welcomed the Son since I was 4 years old. I didn’t understand God as Father until I was in my late teens. Love is an awesome thing indeed and I am overcome with it almost every single day. Good comments everybody!

  6. CatherineS permalink

    I think it’s when we have difficulty believing we’re loved by God that it’s easy to want a list of do’s and don’ts to live by, because we feel like we’ve found a way to please God, or at least placate Him. And that’s especially true when our view of Him as Father has been tainted by our negative experiences with earthly fathers. Christ came to show us that, above all, God’s heart and thoughts towards us are love. Talk about Christ’s love for us and our love for Him, and someone’s bound to start quoting scriptures about what we should be doing. But it’s ALL about love!

  7. Good blog post, Kirk! It seems that most of us have had less than perfect fathers and as a result dysfunctional families that gave us our definition of what words like father, brother, sister, mother and family mean.
    In 1970 after spending the first 25 years of my life in churches and with an alcoholic father, I had still not seen any sign of a functional family… one that functioned in the love of God for its members. Then God heard my heart’s cry. He put me in touch with some young Jesus people and the gospel for them was all about the love of Jesus for all and they lived it. I soon could not live without being around them and I became a member of their family and ministry. I didn’t know that that kind of love was possible and that Jesus had anything like that for me! After all, I never saw it working in the churches, neither Protestant or Catholic. You filed in on Sunday, got lectured by the “father figure” and then were shown the door. You were “loved” as long as you didn’t ask any hard questions or make any waves.
    All that said, I have been thinking a lot along this line, lately. If the saints of God can not show what it means to be ONE in Christ and love one another as the family of God, whose fault is it that people can not feel the love of God? Is it the fault of the broken and unloved in this world? Are we not Christ’s body here on earth? Are we not His face and hands in who live His heart?
    Just before He was crucified Jesus prayed,

    “And the glory which you gave me I have given them; that they may be one, even as we are one: I in them, and you in me, that they may be made perfect in one; and THAT THE WORLD MAY KNOW THAT YOU HAVE SENT ME, AND HAVE LOVED THEM, AS YOU HAVE LOVED ME.” (Joh 17:22-23 KJ2000).

Leave a Reply

