Skip to content

My Trip Northwest

August 8, 2013
Greetings,

“The churches in the province of Asia send you greetings.  Aquila and Priscilla greet you warmly in the Lord, and so does the church that meets at their house.  All the brothers here send you greetings.  Greet one another with a holy kiss.  1 Corinthians 16: 19-20

As most of you know I spent last week in the state of Washington.  I was sent to visit dear friends and several home fellowships there.  It was my hope to be encouraged by them and to be able to encourage them also.  It has been over a year since I spent time with the couple who are like Aquila and Priscilla to me.  They are an older couple who flow in The Spirit extremely well.  The Lord has used them greatly in my life.  They usually travel to where I am, but this time for the second straight year I was honored to go to visit them in their current location.

The whole week was filled with wonderful fellowship opportunities.  Whether it was on a Jet plane, in a filled living room, sitting outside together, or sharing a meal; The Spirit of Christ was evident to all and flowed freely through every member of the Body.  During the trip I encountered new believers, seasoned saints, those fresh out of prison, and a few followers of religions outside of Christ that took their very first steps towards Jesus.  We had wonderful conversations seasoned with grace and love, and we also shared in Word and song.  

Relational fellowship is my call and passion and I am humbled that The Lord allows me close relationship with many housechurches.  Believe me, I am just a deeply flawed, regular guy who loves Jesus and all I want to do is follow and serve Him all my days.  I draw close to others as a friend and I desire no special place or recognition.  It is my privilege and joy to just hang out and share with others along the way.

From beginning to end this trip was a tremendous blessing.  I was welcomed everywhere I went with open arms and hearts.  Many prayers were answered on this journey.  I feel like I was able to strengthen and encourage the faith of many, and I know that my sisters and brothers all encouraged me.  I love being able to tell folks in relational fellowships that they are not alone and that there are many others out there gathering in non-traditional, simple, relationship focused ways.  Jesus was very good to us all on this trip.  Now I am looking forward to next weekends gathering,  just outside of Chicago with my Searching Together friends.

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

 

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. "BK" permalink

    Romans 1:11 “For I long to see you, that I may impart unto you some spiritual gift, to the end ye may be established; ” I studied that word ‘impart’ once and found it is a TWO WAY, relational word, flowing to and from. For sure that was what happened with your trip West. We were excited and pleased to have you, even if only for a week. Thank you for the sacrifice it takes to make such a long trip. Perhaps next year we will be visiting you again! You are still missed, “BK”

  2. Pam Smith permalink

    Awesome! And what BK said!

Leave a Reply

