Skip to content

Unbelievable

August 6, 2013

Greetings,

“Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through Me.”  John 14: 6

I can’t hardly believe it myself, but it happened again for the second time in eight days.  This time I was in Seattle waiting at my gate for my flight home to board.  This time an older lady sitting next to me struck up a conversation.

 Wanda and her traveling companion Wilma were heading home to Harrisburg Pennsylvania after a wonderful ten day cruise to Alaska.  She asked me what brought me to Washington.  I told her I was visiting some dear friends and several home fellowships there.  She then asked if I was a minister and I laughed saying yes, but not in the conventional or traditional sense.  I said that in the fellowships I relate to that everyone is a minister.  Then I told her that on my flight out there I had shared Jesus with a follower of Buddha and a follower of Islam.  Wanda then replied that she would “Love” to hear more about this Jesus of which I speak.

Right then they started boarding our plane.  It took several conversations with the crew and several other passengers, but I finally arranged it so I could sit next to Wanda and Wilma during our flight to Chicago.  

We shared an excellent conversation on our 3.5 hour flight.  I had given my bible away on last weeks flight, so I just shared whatever the Spirit put on my heart.  Wilma was raised Catholic, but had not practiced her faith in over 30 years.  She said she was taught a lot about Mary, the fear of hell and the ten commandments; but very little about Jesus or the love of God.  Wanda had basically been unchurched her entire life and said that the few times she had attended “church” the focus had been on money and the offering.  This had left a very bad taste in her mouth.

When I shared I focused on the love of God and how relationships with Jesus and one another were the most important things in life.  They loved the idea of simple relational fellowship instead of traditional religion.  I told them that in the true church everyone got to share and contribute and that the Spirit has gifted everyone; and not just a select few in the Body of Christ.

When we got near to Chicago they asked me to pray for them and that they wanted a relationship with the Lord Jesus I spoke of.  I said we could all pray together and ask Jesus to take the lead in our lives from this day forward.  By the time we were finished none of the three of us had a dry eye.  Once off the plane we exchanged some powerful hugs before we needed to find the gates for our next flights.

I am just a very simple guy with a very simple message, but in the last ten days the Holy Spirit has been bursting forth from my heart like almost never before.  I feel the total freedom that Christ gives all that seriously seek Him.  In the last 8 days He has used simple me to make a eternal impression on four very different lives.  I was simply available to have life changing conversations with others yet to know Him in His fullness.  Jesus wants to set the captives free.  Next time it could be you who has the key.  Step up and allow Him to use you.  When you do AMAZING things can happen.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Jeanne S. permalink

    Wow again! What an awesome story!

  2. Chris, For most of us, organic or real Spirit life is what you describing. The path you are walking is designed for all of us “ministers”. We need no “minister” badges or special parking spaces, just Spirit inside. Thank you for sharing your encouraging words.

  3. John Contabile permalink

    Now this is a harvest ripe for the picking! Sounds like a great pattern is forming here! Bless you as you hear Him and respond, bro!

  4. "BK" permalink

    May His people come to that understanding…”we are all ministers”….a whole kingdom of ’em! 🙂
    Reminds me of Philip joining himself to the Ethiopian eunuch and sharing Jesus so clearly they stopped along the way so the eunuch could get baptized. Then Philip went on; and the eunuch went home…..with a very real Jesus to guide him. And they say the book of Acts “isn’t happening today”….I beg to differ. Thanks for sharing, Chris and for coming out West. It was awesome, “BK”

  5. This is awesome, Chris! So happy to see you thriving and having a great adventure with our Papa. May He continue to lead you on to others who are thirsty for the living water!

Leave a Reply

