Skip to content

Set Free

July 24, 2013

Greetings,

“It is for freedom that Christ has set us free………..”  Galatians 5: 1

Wow, it has been 12 days since I’ve posted a new blog.  I have been deep in prayer seeking HIS face and HIS will for my life.  My big question for God was, what do I do about my divorce and how do YOU want me to move forward now?  Because even though I have been legally divorced for a year and a half and separated for 28 months…I still did not feel free from my wife or my marriage vows.

Then last Friday I felt the Lord give me full release and freedom from my marriage of over 30 years.  Earlier that week I had been in communication with my wife about possible reconciliation, but she would have no part of it.  She has moved on and considers our marriage completely over.  Up until that final attempt at reconciliation I did not feel free and I felt that the Spirit wanted me to give our relationship that one last chance.  Now I know and fully believe that what we had is now gone and well past its time.  I have mourned this loss extensively.  Right now, in this very moment, I am totally set free and I am looking forward to whatever the future holds for me.

Then on Saturday I met face to face, for the very first time, with a wonderful woman who loves and serves Jesus.  I had been on a few dates with 2 other women in the past year, but it never felt right in my spirit and when on these dates I always felt like I was cheating on my wife.  On Saturday those feelings were gone and I felt at peace and totally in the moment with this new woman.  To be able to let my hair down and be comfortable with this woman was amazing.  It took a great deal of time and much pain, but now I know and fully accept that Jesus has turned the page in my life and has begun a brand new chapter.

“God hates divorce.”  I know this is true.  He hates that people have to go through that type of trauma and uprooting.  However, there is life after divorce and I know that Jesus loves divorced people.  Starting over again is never easy, but with the help of the Lord it does happen.  Today for the first time in over two years I feel whole and complete again.  I am no longer unsettled concerning my marriage or future.  Right now in my most inner being I am content, but also excited about my future.  

Love and…..

Kirk Out !

p.s. I have a second date on Friday.  I thank Jesus for this freedom!

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. "BK" permalink

    I can so relate with your post and the process of really being freed from a relationship of so many years. I always say ‘it’s supposed to hurt. If it doesn’t hurt it means you didn’t have anything!” On the God hates divorce, and I agree He hates the pain that accompanies it. But for those who struggle with the shame that accompanies divorce I would like to share something Earl T about divorce. The term most often used (including by Jesus) is ‘putting away’ and when researched it is dealing with a custom of old where men would put away, ‘send away’, their wives without giving them a ‘writ of divorcement’; causing them to be separated but not free to marry, thereby causing the woman to fornicate to have a lasting relationship. They were to include the writ of divorcement to free the woman to marry again. I don’t argue it is for hardness of heart He made that available; I don’t deny working things out is always best; I don’t deny the pain involved…..but I do deny the fact divorce is put up almost equal to the ‘unforgivable sin’ and that divorced people are second class in the kingdom. I am thankful you and Lori both can move on and I know God will bless you both as you attempt to continue following Him. I rejoice with you, Chris, and love you so much, “BK”

  2. Martin permalink

    It’s ok to divorce, Chris. No harm is letting the past go, living in the present, and looking forward to the future. I think people make too much of it. Sure, commit to someone, by all means, and stay loyal to them, but if it doesn’t work, don’t wast your life draging yourself over the coals,.. move on.

  3. Jesus said do not worry about tomorrow….and just as sure He says today, let go of yesterday. Our religious training has us bound up in what is not today. Galatians 5:1 is the Good News.

  4. JeanneS permalink

    So good to hear that you are free to move on!

  5. Ann Tjoelker permalink

    Praise God for his love for us

    Date: Thu, 25 Jul 2013 02:31:57 +0000 To: atjoelker113@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

