Skip to content

Jesus Always Comes Through

July 8, 2013

Greetings,

“And my God will meet all your needs according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus.”    Philippians 4: 19

Today I was reminded of God’s continual provision for me in a very tangible way.  On my drive back home from Tennessee last week my car started making a terrible sound.  It was metal on metal rattling and grinding.  I pulled over and checked under the hood and elsewhere, but I am no mechanic.  The fluid levels all were fine and the belts were all in place. From what I could tell the noise was coming from either the transmission or the exhaust system.  I prayed about what to do and felt peace about driving it another 400 miles home.  The noise continued all the way home, but it did not seem as loud as it was when I first pulled over to check it out.

Because of the 4th of July Holiday I was not able to get my car into the garage until 2 this afternoon.  They gave me a loaner car and told me they would call me when they had the problem diagnosed.  I told John, the shop owner, that I would have to beg, borrow or steal if the repair was going to be expensive.  He told me not to worry because my credit was good there.

 John called me at 4:30 pm and said my car was ready to be picked up.  When I got to the shop he told me that the problem was the heat shield that covered the catalytic converter and exhaust.   Normally that is about a 300 dollar fix, but today John said it was no charge.  I told him no, that I could pay; but he would have no part of it.  He then told me that he owed me a lot more than 300 dollars, because 11 years ago his daughter came to Jesus while I was speaking at my oldest daughter’s baccalaureate service before her high school graduation.

I only shared for about 10 minutes that day in 2002 because I wanted the students to do most, if not all the sharing.  I closed the service that day sharing about “The Matrix” and how each student could choose between the truth of Jesus Christ and the lies of the enemy.  That they could either have a real and vibrant relationship with Jesus or the unreal, fantasy world of most “churches” and the world.  That June day John’s daughter, and from self report about a half dozen others, chose Jesus and denied the world system.  It was an awesome day!

I closed with this quote from the movie “The Matrix” and these few words that day:

“Do you want to know what IT is?  THE MATRIX is everywhere.  It is all around us, even now in this very room.  You can see it when you look out your window or when you turn on your television.  You can feel it when you go to work, when you go to Church, when you pay your taxes.  THE MATRIX is the world that has been pulled over your eyes to blind you from THE TRUTH.”

DENY THE WORLD SYSTEM !

FOLLOW JESUS !

My daughter Amanda’s friends still talk about that day and always thank me for helping to put it together.  I just tell them I was only being faithful.  I do not serve Jesus to receive blessings like the one John gave me today.  I serve Him because He is True and real.  He has always provided for my needs even when I was on my own at 14 years old in the big city eating out of dumpsters.  Today I have a thankful heart because once again Jesus was looking out for me.  I trust Him with my very life.  It is the only way I know to live.

Love and……

Kirk Out !

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Dear Chris, What a wonderful story. You are unique in the way God made you, a jewel among God’s jewels, How glad I am to know you.

  2. "BK" permalink

    I remember when you spoke at that baccalaureate. That was before the days of GatheringUn2Him, HcRaw was still going pretty strong then. I remember the prayer you desired that it would be Jesus Who spoke. Wow, sounds like He did. We often don’t know the repercussions of an opportunity He uses like that. What a blessing to hear it from the girl’s father. Brings tears to my eyes as I type. Thanking Him with you, “BK”

  3. Jeanne S. permalink

    How wonderful! Your voice is important, even 11 years later, keep it up!

Leave a Reply

